We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the keepers kitchen

the keepers kitchen
main street, Newtonmore, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 12 Restaurants in Newtonmore
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Newtonmore, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

It's got everything I need. Good coffee at reasonable prices, very nice cakes (when my diet allows), even nicer food, and a wonderful waitress. Apart from that, it's just a lovely place to sit.
Ian's pictures are worth stopping to see regardless.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    0
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“June break in the highlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

It was our first visit to the area for a short break in June. We visited this delightful tearoom 4 days running it was so good! The owners went out of their way to serve us & make sure we enjoyed our excellent homemade cakes & wonderful coffee. They were extremely friendly, welcoming & knowledgeable of the local wildlife which we had gone to see. During our visits we saw many customers enjoying their hospitality. We sat & watched the beautiful birds feeding, which the owners encourage into their garden by providing a feeding station. We would highly recommend The Keepers Kitchen, a real gem to refresh & relax after visiting this wonderful part of Scotland. They sell beautiful good quality & unusual gifts in the shop too......well done Keepers Kitchen, we will see you again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A little Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

A super place for lunch with a lovely garden ,off the conservatory The staff are always very helpful and friendly Food excellent nice fresh homebakes Great soup!
Amazing photography adorns the walls from Ian Kenny
If you are driving through Newtonmore make sure you pop in a warm welcome awaits!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasonedTrave11er
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a treat - worth stopping in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Pulled off the A9 feeling very weary and tired hoping to stumble across a traditional tea room to enjoy a late lunch. We were so glad we did, this little place is relatively new but well worth a visit. They've got a cafe area to the back and a lovely wee gift shop to the front. The cafe is in a conservatory and has beautiful views in to the garden, with some outside seating.

We opted for a soup and panini lunch - mushroom soup we delicious with the tastiest and freshest panini I've ever had! All finished with a home made scone. Can't forget to mention the hot chocolate, just what you need on a cold day, make sure you indulge!

Disappointed to see the review below suggesting a lack of friendliness - we saw it in abundance when we visited. And there were at least three mums in with their kids when we visited, all enjoying themselves and being warmly welcomed - you'll see the kid's scooter in the picture.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonmore, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stopped for lunch. Good choice, reasonable prices. Nice conservatory and garden full of birds around the small pond. They were busy and having read the previous comment have to say, there were 3 tables with children, one of which occupied the high chair. Watching the staffs charming way they looked after their customers, of all ages, almost made me think I was in a different establishment! There again the customers at lunch seemed to know how to controle there children in a public place! It is a fact that you can't please everyone and there can be occasions where things may not go quite as well as you may like but a fair minded person would certainly not post such a nasty review. I don't believe this is helpful and certainly was not what we found this afternoon. We shall certainly return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the keepers kitchen also viewed

Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to the keepers kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the keepers kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.