We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place and so Friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Folk Museum

Highland Folk Museum
Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
+44 1540 663551
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover how Highland people lived, worked and played at this award-winning museum. Experience life portrayed from the early 1700s to the mid 1900s. Find the difference between a “cruck” and a “croman”, smell the “reek” of a peat fire, relive early school days and life on the farm, or just enjoy a “blether” and reminisce with our friendly staff. Extensive play area, shops, café, and picnic sites throughout grounds. A great family day out for all ages. Free admissionOpen Easter to end of October – 3 to 6 hour visit recommended
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Place and so Friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

What an amazing place! Our 6 yr old loved it. The staff were extremely friendly and very informative. She loved the interactions and had a brilliant time. It was great seeing the red squirrels running around the woodland 'free range'.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    61
    7
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Absolutely amazing day out for all the family. We spent four hours there and could of quite easily stayed longer. The staff were fantastic and very friendly. We spent a week in Scotland and paid for many attractions and our best day was at this museum and it was free!!!!!!!!!! You can give a donation, which we did because it was worth it for the amazing day we had.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spaced out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

When we arrived we didn't think there was much there, but on looking around there was plenty to see but it was spaced out so you didn't realise how big it was. Lots of volunteers doing their bit for your enjoyment. Not so good if its pouring with rain as you have to walk between the various houses etc.


Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Brill day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

What a wonderful experiance we had at the Highland Folk Museum. There was so much to see and do here. For us the best bit was the school house, where a "teacher" was taking a lesson. We all sat down and praticed our writing (but as you can see, not our spelling). Brought back some memories as had to use a fountian pen and ink well, with a piece of blotting paper. The old 1700's villiage was brill as well. The best thing was the fact that it was FREE, they just ask that you put in a donation. The staff were excellent and very helpful. I'd highly recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were just walking past and popped in. Stayed for a couple of hours and were very impressed. Learnt quite a bit from the very knowledgeable and appropropriately dressed staff. Really pretty setting too. And free!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Folk Museum also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Highland Folk Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Folk Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.