We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balavil Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Balavil Hotel to your Saves list
Balavil Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DL , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Renfrew, United Kingdom
1 review
“Meal with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Whilst visiting friends in Newtonmore, I was recommended to visit The Balavil Hotel for an evening meal. The staff (Liam and Maraks) were exceptionally friendly and attentive. The menu was extensive, however, the pakora (which had been recommended) was not listed which was disappointing. The meal I chose (haddock) was very tasty, as were the home-cooked chips. I found the meal excellent value for money. The Balavil was a nice, friendly old-fashioned Highland hotel and I would certainly recommend a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    53
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
35
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed 4 nights and wasn't all that impressed. Yes it was clean, and although basic, the beds were very comfortable However, 5 coat hangers between 2 people just is not enough and in this day and age I expect a hair-dryer as standard. We were part of a group and had to make our choices for evening meal at breakfast time. I thought that you only did that in hospital. Going out each day you did not know where or what would be available for lunch in the various places we visited and therefore on arriving back at hotel we sometimes did not want what we had ordered in the morning. I was also not terribly impressed by the meals - both choice and cooking were again, basic. Also had to ask for room to be cleaned, someone had been in, they had folded the toilet roll into a point but ignored the bed and tea tray. Just address a few minor points and improve the evening meals (breakfast was fine) and you really could have a decent hotel.

Room Tip: Take a hair dryer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had a lovely weekend once again at this friendly hotel.It is perfectly situated for touring the Highlands. The staff can not be more helpful and have great local knowledge of almost everything being local themselves. Nothing is too much trouble if you have a query or request. The rooms are spotlessly clean and have everything you need in them(if you need anything not there you only have to ask and it will be provided.) .I have been coming here for 11 years now and it is nice to see it back to being 'family ran' again. See you in October hopefully .

Room Tip: All rooms are good some only have showers but if you need a room with a bath you only have to ask it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEATHERSTONE ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and enjoyed the hospitality and friendly staff, the rooms were clean and comfortable while the pool and sauna are nice extras and the location is good for many surrounding places to visit.
Fraser,Eddie and the other staff will be happy to help with information about the area and make your stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had a golfing party of 16 staying for 3 nights and all enjoyed their stay. The staff were excellent and looked after us superbly. Great golfing location with stunning courses both locally and within easy driving reach. The hotel also boasts a large indoor swimming pool and sauna.

Room Tip: Rooms above the public bar can be a bit noisy for early bedders, especially at weekends if there ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is slap bang in the middle of Scotland. In fifty miles in all directions you can visit the main area's of Scotland. Ben Nevis, distilleries and great drives. The food is good. The staff very pleasant. The bars are OK. The beds are very comfy. The breakfast was very filling. The only complaint is that the shower i had was small and cramped. Its not the same in all the rooms. Some rooms have larger showers. If you are large, like myself, then it might be worthwhile to ask for a room with a large shower area. Very good hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a large person ask for room with larger shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Balavil in May 2013. The rooms, although basic were clean and comfortable. The food was very good and considering we were a large group of 20+ they did a fantastic job of getting us all fed at the same time although we all chose different things from the menu. They even managed to source vegetarian sausages for one of our group on request. There is a pool in the hotel and a sauna, which are both nice, especially after a long day walking. There are several areas for walking in the area with different gradings depending on what you're looking for. But one I would particularly recommend is The Wildcat Trail. Quite a low level walk about 10k and especially nice for kids due to the variety of brightly coloured 'wildcats' that can be found along the way. There are lots of other things to do in the local area too, with a very nice looking golf course right on the doorstep. I myself do not golf but was informed by the friendly golfers who were staying at the hotel that it was a good one. The whole atmosphere of the hotel is a friendly one, from the guests to the staff, who are all very helpful, even though at times very busy, given the size of the hotel, which is quite large. I would definitely stay at The Balavil again and would happily recommend them to anyone who's not looking for luxury but for good cooking and good old highland hospitality.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Balavil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balavil Hotel

Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DL , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balavil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Balavil Sport Inverness
Balavil Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balavil Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.