We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great A9 Stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ralia Cafe

Ralia Cafe
A9 at Newtonmoore, Newtonmore, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Newtonmore
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Nairn, Scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great A9 Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Ralia cafe is an excellent stopping off point on any journey north or south on the A9. It's clean, welcoming and serves very good coffee and snacks. There are walks for folks travelling with dogs and kids and good clean toilets.You can charge not only your own battery but that of your mobile phone too...and get free 10 mins internet access which is good to check for road/accidents etc..Highly recommend

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    27
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good stop over on the A9”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Nice place to stop off the A9 heading North, we used to stop in Dalwhinnie, but now stop at Ralia. Can get very busy, but this is an indication of how popular it is. Good choice of food and drink.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A lovely wee drop in cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

In the middle of nowhere it's a little gem with free Internet and freshly made teas coffees and food. Places to charge phones with a nice atmosphere I liked it, although thought it was a little pricey.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quality and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Great little cafe in a beautiful location. This is the only place I actually enjoy eating a sandwich which says a lot. We have been many times and contrary to a recent reviewer I think they are excellent value and quality and we have never found the toilets to be dirty and I pop in regularly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Cafe to expensive

Toilets smelly and not clean

Dog walk needs TLC and the whole area needs some TLC.


Could do much better.

Has slipped a great deal since last visit 2008/ Shame

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ralia Cafe also viewed

Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Ralia Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ralia Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.