We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Monarch Hotel & Church Ruin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newtonmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Monarch Hotel & Church Ruin
Save
You added The Monarch Hotel & Church Ruin to your Saves list
Laggan, Newtonmore PH20 1BT, Scotland (Formerly Monadhliath Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This has got to be one of the best places I've ever stayed.

My friend and I were only travelling through and needed a place to sleep for the night. We happened to just drive past and like the look of the place. We fell in love with the place immediately. It was the church ruin in the grounds that did it for us. We loved it and the hotel was lovely.

Food was also incredible. My friend and I enjoyed a main meal in the dining room and then a cheese platter and a port in the lounge room next to a window overlooking the grounds.

Was fantastically happy to find this place. Was the best place we stayed at during our month-long trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Andy and I stopped at the Monarch for lunch on Saturday (the new signage is very effective). Neil came out to greet us and made us feel extremely welcome. Lunch was superb (good quality ingredients and well presented) and the setting of the hotel and church ruin is unique and very peaceful; the garden is very pretty with lots of points of interest. I would not hesitate to recommend the Monarch and we will visit again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were on the isle of Lewis and looking for an overnight stop on our way home to North Yorkshire. We were coming home via Skye so Googled hotels in the vicinity of Newtonmore and came up with this one with 5* reviews. We arrived about 5.30 - 6pm and were delighted when our host Neil came out to greet us and help with our bags. As we entered the hotel our hostess Annie appeared to welcome us, too - it was just like arriving with friends. Neil showed us to our superior room (we booked this to have wi-fi in the room, otherwise wi-fi is in the public areas) which was immaculately clean with lovely white bed-linen and a brand new en-suite shower room. We went down for dinner and were shown to our table by a friendly barmaid/waitress (the staff here all seem to muck in and do what needs doing at the time) and given the menu (one each, please learn, other hotels, it's not rocket science). The menu is not extensive but I think that is usually a good sign - I'd rather eat from a small menu done well than from an extensive menu done badly. And this was done well! I decided on things I'd never eaten before and loved it all. My husband boringly ate the steak but he was enthusiastic about it so we were well pleased. It was still light so we went outside to photograph the church ruins, and then went to sit at the bar for a nightcap. As I looked out of the window I could see hares chasing each other around the beautiful grounds, and when I went to the front door a large hare dashed past within a metre of me! The beds were comfy and we slept well. The breakfast was tasty, lovely bacon and free-range eggs with gorgeous yellow yolks. Annie and Neil gave us a good send-off, too, and it was like leaving friends. We are hoping to visit again in September.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

superb setting with great views.Best steak we have every eaten.
This hotel has only been with it's new owners for 6 months,they must have spent a fortune on it.
Comfortable rooms and beds,nothing too much trouble for Annie and Neil.
If you are in this area it's THE place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed here overnight and found it to be a charming hotel,so peaceful with beatiful surroundings.The rooms were very comfortable and the homemade biscuits were delicious and a lovely personal touch.The food was excellent although if you are a fussy eater it may be difficult for choice.My friend who is a little fussy had no problem as the waitress was more than happy to swap certain things.Breakfast had a great choice and the hot food was delicious.Fresh croissants are to recommended.The owners were always on hand checking everything was okay and it was nice to feel appreciated as guests,felt like valued customers.Would definitely return.

Room Tip: The hotel was fully booked when we stayed so we took what was on offer but superior rooms are availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were traveling a back road in search of a nice lunch stop and just happened onto The Monarch. Neil and Annie were most gratious, the food faulous and the settingsuperb! Try the shaved lamb sandwich and the meat and cheese tray. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stopped for lunch after visiting Dalwhinnie distillery and found this hidden gem. Very quaint and hospitable in a beautiful setting. The food was gourmet at a reasonable price. Both Neil and Annie were warm and gracious. It fact we felt as if we were guest in a friend's home. I highly recommend it for the

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Monarch Hotel & Church Ruin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monarch Hotel & Church Ruin

Address: Laggan, Newtonmore PH20 1BT, Scotland (Formerly Monadhliath Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in three secluded acres of private gardens this lovely Victorian house was originally built as a manse in 1851 and has a magnificent church ruin in its grounds. The Monarch is situated in the welcoming village of Laggan by Newtonmore, close to Aviemore and within the Cairngorms National Park. It’s also in the heart of world-famous "Monarch of the Glen" countryside and is surrounded by the spectacular Monadhliath Mountain Range. Enjoy our modern Scottish homemade cuisine using fresh local seasonal produce by the open fireplace in our restaurant or relax by another open fireplace in the cosy lounge bar. All our rooms have en-suite bathrooms and comfortable new beds and linen. Free WIFI is now available in all public areas of the hotel. A full Scottish breakfast is included in the room rate. A perfect location for exploring this iconic part of the Highlands area, whether you want to come here for a romantic weekend, walking holiday or enjoy a round of golf, fishing, skiing, mountain biking, quad biking, clay pigeon shooting, canoeing, horse-riding, cycling or taking part in one of the many activities that can be found nearby. The hotel has new owners and has just been renovated and rebranded. Neil and Annie Whittle have recently moved from the Sunshine Coast, Australia and are now proud to call the Scottish highlands home. Whatever the reason for your visit, you will be assured of a warm welcome in our comfortable hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Monarch Hotel & Church Ruin Newtonmore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Monarch Hotel & Church Ruin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.