We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Newtonmore Riding Centre

Newtonmore Riding Centre
Biallid Farm, Newtonmore PH20 1BP, Scotland
01540-670000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 8 Attractions in Newtonmore
Type: Equestrian Trails, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and ride with the originators of pony trekking and riding holidays in Scotland, we were established in 1952. We have a museum dedicated to Highland Pony Heritage as well as many activities apart from just riding: Carriage Rides, Sleigh Rides, Ski Joring, Wedding Carriages, Birthday Parties, Hen and Stag Do's, Horse Shows, Fun Days, Childrens Rides, Working Holidays, Saddle Club, Barbeques. We have a tuck shop on site and also do teas and coffees etc.Come and stay with us on one of our Working or Learning Holidays. Tell us what you would like to do and where you would like to stay and we will put a package together for you.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“its ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

its nice stuff, but the riding was simple walking, made round on a field and that is all. i thing it is little bit expensive.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruaridh_Ormiston, Owner at Newtonmore Riding Centre, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
I am very sorry you were not entirly satisfied with your visit. I can only assume you were either with us for a Beginner Ride or a Childrens Lead Rein when you were only in the fields. Any ride of more than 1 hour or of ability level of more than Beginner always leave the fields and usually use the hill and woodland above the centre including river crossing. As for price if you make a comparison between our centre and others in the area you will see that we are probably the best value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great welcome at Newtonmore Riding Centre for the 60th Anniversary Celebrations last weekend. Great facilities, knowledgeable team and a wonderful experience altogether. I won't wait till the 70th Anniversary before returning!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruaridh_Ormiston, Owner at Newtonmore Riding Centre, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed all our 60th Anniversary Celebrations as much as we did ourselves and we really look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievably amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Went for a 1.5 hour hack and was out almost 3 hours, so friendly and knowledgeable. We had varied riding experience in our group with all needs being catered for. The more experienced amonst us were allowed a free ride in the fields so we could, trot canter and gallop. The scenery was outstanding and we lved every minute of it. Thanks for making our holiday so special. It was also very good value for money.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruaridh_Ormiston, Owner at Newtonmore Riding Centre, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
So happy you had such a wonderful time :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“disappointed to say the least”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

we booked a hack here in June, I can ride, my partner is a novice rider and his teenage son a beginner so we expected a slow hack - however we booked and paid for a 2 hour ride and were only out for 90 mins if that, my partner was given stirrup leathers too short which i had to ask to be changed, his son was left struggling to reach his stirrups. The ponies were unresponsive to say the least and would snatch the reins out of your hands for grass at any opportunity and we had very young children out with us. A real disappointment as we were looking forward to it very much - would def not return

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruaridh_Ormiston, Owner at Newtonmore Riding Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to NRC. We seldom receive complaints and it would have been much easier to deal with if you had complained at the time and we could have possibly found a resolution then. You will appreciate that we try to sort things ot in the arena before riding out and that we would have changed stirrups etc to suit if there was a problem. It is very difficult getting the balance between ponies that are quiet enough for beginners yet responsive too without being too lively. I am sorry you were not entirely satisfied with your visit but it really would have been much more easily handled at the time and not two months latter - we do have a feedback form and procedure that your Ride Leader would have made you aware of if you had said you were not satsfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our five-year-old enjoyed her pony ride so much we did it again before we left town! The staff were helpful, reassuring, and competent to help this brand new rider enjoy every minute.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruaridh_Ormiston, Owner at Newtonmore Riding Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Glad you had such a great time and look forward to seeing you again.
Thanks Ruaridh Ormiston (Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newtonmore Riding Centre also viewed

Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Newtonmore Riding Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newtonmore Riding Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.