We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is exactly as it looks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of THORPE SHARK Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chertsey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
THORPE SHARK Hotel
Save
You added THORPE SHARK Hotel to your Saves list
Staines Road, Chertsey KT16 8PN, England (Formerly The Crash Pad at THORPE PARK)   |  
Hotel amenities
Cross Hands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It is exactly as it looks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just returned home from a two night stay - two nights with park entry for two adults and two teenagers £350 not cheap but a good £150 less than Alton Towers. Having read previous reviews I was a little apprehensive but have to say we all really enjoyed. Yes the rooms are small, yes the toilets are noisy and yes the toilet door is frosted glass BUT the rooms are comfy, clean an in a perfect location. The novelty of sleeping in a container unit was great, the rooms were sold out but not noisy at all (ignoring the toilet noise but any flush at night is noisy). We ate the first night on site and had lovely food and excellent service from a new member of staff (Rolland) breakfast was just toast, croissants, cereal and yoghurt - this was rather disappointing in my opinion, a bit of ham and cheese or some muffins wouldn't really be much extra work - for that money I would expect better. Being in the park you get extra time before the crowds - perfect but in reality it was only 15 minutes again rather disappointing after paying that money.
We would go back and would recommend it but come on Thorpe Park, for what your charging you could provide better breakfast and longer park entry for guests (or even some fast passes included with the hotel booking). Loved the rooms, staff very helpful but not the most cheerful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Andrea,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay at the Crash Pad. We appreciate your feedback and are always looking for ways to improve the Crash Pad and the Park as a whole.

We look forward to your next visit,

Kind Regards

Jake
Guest Relations
THORPE PARK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    77
    34
    20
    18
See reviews for
78
57
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed at the Crash Pad Hotel with my two teenage kids for two nights over the summer holidays. It was exactly what we were expecting from reading the other reviews and made a great change from a 'normal' hotel.

What we didn't realise is that the place is actually IN the park which was much better than the hotels at Alton Towers and really added to the overall experience.

Only real gripe was the lack of information about getting the most out of the early entry to the park and just about every other question we asked of the staff! Some sort of 'crash pad survival guide' would be great (maybe they need a new marketing manager - happy to oblige!). I guess most of the staff are temporary and/or short term, and it showed,

Yes, would recommend and will return when I've recovered!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake, on a nice evening when the sun sets you could be anywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on the Crash Pad following your stay. We are constantly trying to improve and without constructive feedback we wouldn't be able to.

I am glad to hear that the location made a real difference to your stay, it is such a great added bonus to have the Crash Pad on site.

We look forward to your next visit and stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Jake
Guest Relations
THORPE PARK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We expected it to be small but this was ridiculous! We could not all stand at the same time!
It is basically a shipment container and although I appreciate it is a good idea it would only be worth staying at half the price. Its equivalents at Chessington and alton towers are similar in price but this does not compare at all. we rrecently stayed at a luxury hotel in gatwick airport for less money.
The shower/toilet has a see through screen so everyone can see you which was highly embarrassing as I was with my ex....we're on good terms but not THAT good! There are no windows or air and both the plumbing and air conditioning made lots of noise.
My double bed was quite comfortable but the two in bunk beds were limited in space and were uncomfortable for adults.
We ended up leaving and doing the 2 hour drive home at midnight rather than stay in this box. So we did not get to have our second day in the park or have breakfast.
There was also very limited entertainment in the evening. Tricky if you cant spend time in your room due to space.
My main issue is the amount I paid....for £60-£70 I may have been happier but £135 for room only (and this was with a discount as we're merlin card holders) takes it into a luxury market of which it is not in.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about THORPE PARK. We appreciate all feedback as we are continually striving to improve the experience we offer to our guests.


I'm sorry that your expectations were not exceeded during your visit to THORPE PARK. It is our aim to give guests a truly memorable and thrilling experience so it's disappointing to hear that was not the case.

Kind Regards,

Jake
Guest Relations
THORPE PARK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here on the 21st Aug for one night. As two adults and two 13 year olds managed a good night despite expectations. For the location and price we cannot fault it. The 'cabins' were spotlessly clean with plenty of towels, soap, shower gels/shampoo and even 4 complimentary bottles of water which were most welcome after navigating the London car park for 3 hours! Sure there is no room in there to move, but we managed 4 showers and 3 girls makeup in 1 1/2 hours which was impressive. Once in the bed at night we found them comfy, though summer quilts may have been a better idea than the thick ones we had. It was fine for most of us, but the top bunk didn't seem to get the cool air from the aircon sadly. I'm sensitive to noise at night, but never heard a thing. Mind you, we were the end cabin on the top floor. One thing we found out a bit too late is that the reception where you check in, has free tea and coffee. We booked a table at the 360, and went round the park from 4 till 7. We were expecting the queues to die down as tea time approached. Sadly not! Mind you, mid August in the sun etc...We still went on Swarm and Rush. We went down to our table at 8:30, but weren't served out food until 9:30. They were very busy though. I can't help feeling that they are missing a trick at the 360 though. I can't comment on how busy it is normally, but it was packed when we went. The 'entertainment' consisted of two games of music bingo, and that was that. Give us some live entertainment, even Karaoke or a basic disco and the money would have rolled in for them. We were all waiting for a good time. Or at least better than bingo!

All in all it's a fantastic idea. We were very impressed and will return to spend even more money once the entertainment has improved :)

Room Tip: top floor end cabins if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on the Crash Pad following your stay. I am dissapointed to hear that the entertainment didn't exceed your expectations whilst staying with us.

I am glad to hear that the room surprised you all pleasantly and we look forward to your next visit to THORPE PARK.

Kind Regards,

Jake
Guest Relations
THORPE PARK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went here for a birthday treat for my son 14 , with daughter 17 , with me and wife.
its basic but all you need really , and it gets you an extra day in the park free.
We arrived at 3pm on day 1 and managed to get on most rides without too much queuing as a lot of people were going home at around 5pm , the park was still open until 7pm.

We got the ultimate fastrack passes for day 2 which are superb , no queuing all day , we went on everything we wanted .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on the Crash Pad, being new to this season it's great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit,

Kind Regards,

Jake
Guest Relations
THORPE PARK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Well it is perfectly named crash pad. The room was clean and tidy with fresh bed linen and clean towels. A bonus they provide shower toiletries. The rooms are compact but as a family of four we had no problems. Only one downside shower door is rather see through. Bathroom is compact but a lovely powerful shower which was a nice welcome after a day on rides. Continental Breakfast is more than adequate no need to upgrade to full English. One thing they could improve is to allow quests earlier access to rides in morning before rest of public allowed in. I would definitely stay again and fully recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. The feedback you have provided us is a great to help for us improve for future visitiors. We are always looking for ways to improve the Crash Pad and it is great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards,

Jake
Guest Relations
THORPE PARK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

A group of us have just got back from a weekend at the crashpads! There not as small as people make out! Dont get me wrong there not massive either but there is enough room.
Theres plenty of storage in the room. Yeah the bathrooms abit small and yeah u can see through the glass abit but to us that made it funnier! The toilet flushes like an airplane loo so it is a bit loud. Overall the room was excellent could do with a bin in there though!
The entertainment was a bit poor and you dont really get in the park that much earlier as they let the public in at 9 20 so that was the downside. The staff were friendly and u can hire hairdryers for free from them. I would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear J4KK

Thanks for your positive review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at The Crash Pad.

We have looked into your first to ride feedback and have made a few changes for this August. The park is now opening every morning from 9.15am for Crash Pad guests only so they can be the first in the queues for our thrilling rides.
We hope to see you again soon at THORPE PARK

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to THORPE SHARK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THORPE SHARK Hotel

Address: Staines Road, Chertsey KT16 8PN, England (Formerly The Crash Pad at THORPE PARK)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Chertsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THORPE PARK Resort has a new addition to the thrilling line up this year as the Park opens the brand new THORPE SHARK Hotel, adding even more bite to a fun packed visit to the UK’s most thrilling theme park. The new look hotel situated on the ‘THORPE PARK Resort Island’ features 90 shark-tastic rooms in a stunning waterfront location, only a fin away from iconic world class rollercoasters. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
THORPE SHARK Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THORPE SHARK Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.