We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Rose Villa

White Rose Villa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riccall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Rose Villa
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   33 York Rd | Riccall, Riccall, Selby YO19 6QG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Riccall B&B and Inns
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ideal B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed for 1 night in July and found the place clean, quiet, nice big room (we stayed in Lavender) and really good breakfast. Its an ideal location in a quiet village that has great pubs and is good for visiting York without having to stay in a city centre. Owners are very knowledgeable about the local places to visit and very friendly from the time we arrived until we left. Will definitely look to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for Lavender room, its huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camano Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

My son and I stayed here for nine days while we visited nearby family. We both had very nice rooms and the typical English breakfast was great. Steve fixed vegetarian for me and gluten free food for my son. Not many places will go to that lenght to guarantee a nice stay. Both Viv and Steve are wonderful hosts. The accomodations are extremely clean and the downstairs reading room was comfortable and included movies, books and games. When you stay at the White Rose Villa check out the book in the reading rooms about Ricall during WW11 very interesting. There are two pubs in town and an exceptionally good Indian restaurant. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We have just got back from our 2nd stay at White Rose Villa. Viv and Steve are welcoming hosts and the B&B is an ideal base for exploring the York and Selby area. Last year we had the Honeysuckle room at the front of the house, this time we were in the Lavender room which overlooks the back garden and open countryside. Both rooms are comfortable and warm with an ensuite bathroom (if a bath rather than a shower is important to you then ask for the Lavender room). All the rooms are spotlessly clean and come with facilites to make tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc, there is even a packet of biscuits for those "Munchies" moments. There is also a radio alarm and a flat screen tv with freeview. Steve and Viv serve a delicious breakfast- the "full english" is really good but others in our group had simpler fare (scrambled eggs on toast, etc) , all were prepared fresh and were equally delicious. There is good easy on site parking and if you don't feel like driving the bus stop is less than fifty yards from the B&B - you can get to York, Selby or the designer outlet retail park quickly and cheaply. The busses run every 20 minutes. We certainly found it to be a good option Riccall itself has two very good pubs which both do excellent food , also an Italian restaurant by the church and a really good indian restaurant about 5 minutes walk away - we have used them all and can say all are good quality and very fairly priced. All in all, for superb value in a comfortable and friendly B&B in the York area we think White Rose Villa would tale a lot of beating!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We were looking for a place to stay to visit the city of York and also the races. We received a warm welcome from Viv and Steve who couldn't do enough for us. There was a regular bus service to York which was really handy. It was also not too far from the racecourse. After a good night's sleep in a very comfortable bed in the spacious family room (my children aged 7 and 3 also slept really well!) we woke up to a lovely breakfast with home made jams and local sausages. The guest house was really clean and we would definitely stay here again the next time we decide to take a visit to York!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

Last Saturday night/ Sunday morning, my partner and I had the pleasure of staying at the White Rose Villa in Riccall, North Yorkshire.

Situated 10 miles south of York, its location cannot be faulted for a relaxing short break, whether you’re arriving by car or public transport. Regular bus service 415 stops 100m from the door and will take you through to York’s Piccadilly in a little over 20 mins. It runs every 15 mins during Monday to Saturday daytimes, every 30 mins on Sundays, and hourly during the late evening. The adult single fare costs only £2.80 single.

For car travellers, ample off-street parking is provided at the guesthouse, and because it’s also just over 100m from the A19 it’s also very easy to find. Satnav not required!

As we approached the front of the guesthouse we had a lovely homely feeling, with its nicely presented front garden, and ivy covered facade. This encouraging first impression was solidified in the guesthouse’s bright, clean and cosy hallway, as Steve, the proprietor, welcomed us.

Steve is as welcoming and as helpful a host as you could ever hope to have. As part of our evening’s entertainment, we were heading over to a party in Cawood, a village about 3 mile to the west. Now we didn’t know beforehand that there wasn’t a bus linking across to there in the evening, and Steve quickly advised that prior booking with the local taxi companies is essential as there’s only a few in the area. But before we even had a chance to ring around, Steve very kindly offered to drive us over to the party; we gladly accepted.

Our room (the Honeysuckle Room) was well proportioned, boasting a relaxing view of the peaceful village and surrounding countryside. Although on the front “main road” side of the guesthouse, you couldn’t hear a pin drop, and the bed was soooo comfy! The room had its own ensuite toilet, pressure shower, tv and tea/coffee facilities.

Next morning, as well as being awoken by a fine assortment of cereals in the tastefully decorated dining room, we were welcomed by Viv’s superbly prepared full English Breakfast - Just the trick for the day ahead!

All in all, a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. We would recommend this guesthouse to anyone passing through the York area, and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemel hempstead
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

We stumbled upon this place on this site when we tried to find somewhere to stay in york for a concert. We eventually decided to try the surrounding areas of york, and found this charming little place.
There was ample off road parking, which is a bonus, and the front of the property is welcoming and has lovely landscaped front gardens (i am a landscaper myself, and i was impressed!)
as soon as we entered we were warmly greeted and were shown the breakfast room wich has individual tables for two in a very nicely decorated room.
This B and B boasts a guests lounge at the front , where you can watch tv, play board games, and place a pin in map to show you where you have come from!
There are three guest rooms all on the first floor, and ours was very nice, with tv, dvd, ensuite, tea an coffee making facilities, and all the usual refinements.
A folder is provided which gives information on local facilities, and restraunts.
Whilst we were at thr front of the property, and facing the road, we did not notice the traffic, and slept very soundly the whole night.
Breakfast served at 8.30 or 9, and was a full english, with toast. tea and coffee, cereal, fresh fruit and juices all provided. The cooked breakfast was cooked to perfection, and was not greasy at all like some i have had in the past.
The owvner was kind enough to advise us to use the park and ride in york, as it saves a fortune on car parking!
All in all, a great stay and we would come back again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

We stayed in the Lavender room (family room) for 3 nights. The room had a double bed, a single bed and a pull out bed. The room was large with an ensuite bathroom and was very comfortable. The room had a television/dvd combi (no freeview/satellite) and tea/coffee making facilities. The downstairs lounge had television and freeview. The hosts Steve and Viv were friendly and welcoming and I would readily recommend this establishment to anyone who asked - we will definitely stay there in the future. Oh - the breakfast was very good too!

  • Liked — The room was large enough for 4 people!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Rose Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rose Villa

Address: 33 York Rd | Riccall, Riccall, Selby YO19 6QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby > Riccall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Riccall
Hotel Class:4 star — White Rose Villa 4*
Also Known As:
White Rose Villa Riccall, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Rose Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added White Rose Villa to your Saves list