We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately gone down!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Botany Bay Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Botany Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Botany Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive, Kingsgate CT10 3LG, England (Formerly The Fayreness Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kingsgate
Hertford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Definately gone down!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have been coming to this hotel for over 16 years on long weekend breaks and have always enjoyed our stay.... but not this time!! We booked for an evening meal as It was a special occasion and was looking forward to having our evening meal in the al a carte restaurant, as we have always loved the ambience, service and food which was always well presented and enjoyable. On Saturday evening we were told the restaurant was not open anymore for evening meals, even though there was lots of people dining, so we had to have our meals on a small wobbly table just off the bar area. The staff as always were efficient and friendly but when our meal arrived it was just 'pie and chips', I enquired where was the usual terrine of vegetables, to be told they have to be ordered separately and are now extra! Although the pie was good, our meal looked typical bar food and spoilt what was supposed to be a special evening. We had the Superior Suite which was clean with lovely views but decor needed upgrading, it was well overpriced ! We came away disappointed as in past have always enjoyed our stay and have recommended lots of family and friends, but I would not now, standards have gone down!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    75
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
40
103
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Needed somewhere to stay for the night and could not of done better than this hotel, Staff really freindly and helpful, room clean, great veiws over looking the sea and a great breakfast, Even posted items that the wife had left behind. thankyou for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Having had an enjoyable stay at the fayreness a few weeks ago. we decided to go back for a two night stay. The rooms are faultless warm,comfortable with spacious bathrooms. big flatscreen tv. Nice towels with plenty of mini toiletries that they provide. The bar was a nice place to have a relaxing drink. breakfast was adequate with excellent service. Unfortunately the weather during the weekend of our stay was terrible with gusty winds, rain and hail due to the appalling weather the aerial blew away which affected all the tv's in the rooms. This obviously isn't a fault with the hotel, but i would have thought that staff or management would have apologised and offered a reduction in the room rate. so on check out we mentioned that we didnt have a tv in working order the reply was 'its not our fault its the weather' well! no its not the fault of the hotel, but they are suppose to be providing a service which is advertised. If for any reason they cannot provide a service i'm sure it would go a long way to explain and apologise to their paying customers who expect to get what is advertised. We did in the end get a £10 reduction on the room rate, but felt disappointed that the hotel did not go that extra mile with their customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I were travelling to Broadstairs area with her elderly father who almost blind. We had reviewed the hotel on Trip Advisor and booked it through Late Rooms. It has an enviable position being situated on the cliff top to the north of Broadstairs. From the dining rooms and from some bedrooms there is an uninterupted view out to sea. There is ample car parking. We received a friendly greeting and when the receptionist realised my wife's father's disabilities she reassigned our rooms so that we were virtually next door. The downside of this was that we had a room at the back of the Hotel overlooking the car park. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well-furnished. Access to the rooms could be a problem for people with impaired mobility since there did not seem to be a lift available and the stairs were a little difficult to negotiate. The restaurant is in one of the two conservatories to the front of the Hotel. Even though this was low season the restaurant was surprisingly full although this did include two groups who were not resident in the Hotel. The choice, preparation and presentation of the food were extremely good and the wine list was very acceptable. The waitress was friendly and attentive and there appeared to be an adequate servers at table to deal with the number of diners. Breakfast was served in the other conservatory. On a weekday breakfast is only served until 9.30. Once again the choice of food was excellent and the service was friendly. My one grouse would be the WiFi. This does not have good reception in parts of the hotel - we could not obtain a WiFi signal in our bedroom although reception in the area of the bar and resturants was very good.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the Hotel for seaviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have spent four nights and days here in three different rooms to suit us at the time.
All very pleasant, comfortable and well appointed. The position is great with sea views with cliffs and seagulls but otherwise very quiet. Within easy reach of Broadstaires and Margate and not too far from London Heathrow. The staff are all exceptional and helpful. the Restaurants cozy and the food excellent. No lift. ideal for any stay. Thank you Fayreness hotel for the care you gave us.

Room Tip: If a view is the most important part specify a room with a view . No lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

One night stay. Quick check in, clean room, very comfortable if a lot of peach in the colour scheme! Bathroom is well appointed and large. Hotel is right on the seafront and quiet. Only a 10 min or so taxi ride to central broad stairs. Cabs themselves are very cheap. Price includes breakfast.

Would stay again!

Room Tip: Sea view if possible, otherwise you face people's houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a lovely sea view from our executive room 505, with plenty of room and a juliet balcony. The breakfast was really good and all the staff were very friendly. Very clean and comfortable stay.Leave plenty of time for a taxi if you need one as they seem to take ages to come.

There was a fair amount of noise to be heard through our door but I guess you can always get noisy neighbours wherever you stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Botany Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Botany Bay Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Kingsgate CT10 3LG, England (Formerly The Fayreness Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Kingsgate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kingsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Botany Bay Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the beautiful cliff top at Kingsgate Bay, The Botany Bay Hotel in Broadstairs promises a tranquil and peaceful getaway - whether it's for a long weekend, a wedding, birthday celebration or just a lunch hour.Stay in one of 30 en-suite bedrooms, enjoy a pint of real ale in the lounge bar or sample fantastic food (with a view of the sea) in one of the best restaurants in Broadstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Botany Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayreness Hotel Kingsgate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Botany Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.