We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming with beautiful sea views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Botany Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Botany Bay Hotel to your Saves list
The Botany Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive, Kingsgate CT10 3LG, England (Formerly The Fayreness Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming with beautiful sea views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed here in July 2012 and was very impressed with the hotel, service and room. I am very fussy when it comes to hotels and usually stay in very nice hotels. When I saw the reviews of this hotel, I had low expectations but as we booked late I figured it would do. The reason I gave it a 5/5 is that the value for money is exceptional. Our room was definitely not modern, but had character and overlooked the sea. The staff were incredible friendly and accommodating, showing us our room and even giving us the room for an additional night at the same discounted price when we decided to stay on an extra night. It was the opening night of the Olympics and the manager on duty came and turned up all the volume on all the teles and checked with us if it was loud enough (as we were obviously watching the game).

We spent both evenings in the hotel room watching the Olympics on our large tele, which was fantastic. There are little touches in the room that are really appreciated - a lovely selection of teas, hot chocolates, and shortbreads - even a bowl of mints. (not a big deal, but it makes it nicer).

The bathroom was modern (seemingly recently re-done recently) and had a skylight in it. It was so inviting that I had a bath in it (which I usually do not have).

The only slight (and I say very slight) disappointment was the breakfast. The continental breakfast was a little lacking, and I certainly wouldn't order it again. I also had the vegetarian full english, which I thought was nicer. They have a buffet to accompany your cooked breakfast, but it is very sparse with only a few items.

Overall a fantastic value for money. The location is romantic, overlooking the cliffs and each day we took the one hour walk into either margate or broadstairs on the cliffs. You can catch the bus back to the hotel (drops off at the top of the road) and is very inexpensive - only £1.30.

Highly recommend for views, value, and hospitality.

Room Tip: The suites are really nice - highly recommended!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    83
    31
    14
    5
See reviews for
48
116
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We wanted to stay in Broadstairs but this hotel turned out to be quite a walk outside of it. Walk in parts is on the road and is dangerous to walk when dark. Not only from traffic but pavements covered in dog dirt!
It was good value for money though and the breakfasts were lovely. The waiting staff were nice but other staff did not go out of their way to be friendly.
Rooms are dated but clean, bit disappointed that bedding wasn't changed during visit as the weather was very hot.
Beautiful sea views.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed here in March 2012 which my partner for the weekend, It was a very nice place right by the sea, and friendly bar and reception staff. Also the breakfast was faultless.
Simply a A++ place to stay

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I am particularly fussy when staying in hotels and have absolutely NO complaints. We only booked for two nights and had to chop and change our booking for family reasons but the staff were extremely helpful and did everything they could to accomodate our needs.

Dogs are NOT everywhere as another reviewed has stated. We took two chihuahuas with us and they are NOT allowed in the restaurant and nor should they be allowed in. The dogs were only allowed in the bar areas and outside which is normal in a lot of pubs. If you don't like dogs then go to a hotel that doesn't allow them - there are plenty around.

Food good, our room was clean, large and comfortable. The staff are amiable and friendly, prices good too. Like I said; NO complaints and we will return. Very relaxing, enjoyable and worth every penny.

We took our 12 year old grand-daughter with us who was more than happy, excellent beach and nice walks close by, lots of quaint shops a short car drive away. Other good pubs in walking distance too. The room we were in (205) overlooked the car park but so what, we weren't planning on sitting in the room all day and this was our own fault anyway because we kept changing our minds on how many rooms we needed.

Gulls were a bit noisy and they like to make their prescence known on BMW's and Audi's but suppose I can't blame the hotel for that either. But it was quite nice watching the parent gulls feeding the fledglings albeit I would rather they had done that on someone else's car!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 205 which had a king size bed and a single bed - overlooked the car park - clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Rooms well appointed, although it isnt a Best Western it is identical. Although a bit off the main roads it is a nice location over the cliffs and beach walks. Superb sea views. Friendly and efficient staff, good well cooked breakfast with fresh fruit choices as well. Restaurant included, good menu and well cooked. They have a good chef, not a chip pan type!! Lashings of hot water and good showers, plenty of parking on site.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Thurrock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was our first ever stay at the fayreness hotel so we booked a double executive room with sea view for one night at the cost of £121 thought that was quite expensive at the time but as we dont get away very often we thought we should go for the best room.
On arrival we had to pay for the room before your stay which i thought was strange as you do not usually pay till checkout in other hotels .
Was shown to the room by a helpful member of staff .
The room was spacious but very tired dated decor there was lots wrong with the room
VERY creaky wooden bed not suitable for a night of passion :) bits hanging of walls and doors ripped curtains ,apart from the lovely view of the sea we had a lovely view of a DEAD bird on the balcony which you could see had been there a while and worst of all the meldew /mould round the tiles in the shower & brown slime round the edge of bath which hadnt been cleaned in a long time .I did not want to ruin the weekend by complaining as soon as we got there so gave the place a chance
We had dinner at the bar as the menu had our taste of food proper pub food which was very nice and good value but did not expect to be dining with DOGS They were everywhere !

The next room decided to return about 11ish just as i was drifting off to sleep and it felt like they were in the same room with us. Our bed and floor was rattling as they were walking round their room as the floors are obviously joined could hear every word that was said and every bowel movement from the toilet ! the walls are so thin did not manage to get back to sleep until they went to bed so was I absolutly knackered in the morning .
BREAKFAST well We arranged a full english breakfast for 9.00am to be delivered by room service cost £3.00 for that .Breakfast turned up at 9.10 am sausages were missing from the breakfast the toast was stone cold and stale were it had been cooked a long time before it was served ,the bacon was just a piece of cooked rubber and you could suck the oil with a straw from the fried bread not nice
By this time i had had enough and had to complain so on checkout my husband showed a member of staff the problems that we had in the room & breakfast we was given a partial refund which we were happy to accept but these problems shouldnt of been there in the first place . We was told that the room we stayed in was one of their best! wouldnt like to see what the worst looked like .
This hotel is very overpriced for what you get would not have minded the problems if the room was alot cheaper .NO luxury not relaxing or quiet at all ideal if you just need somewhere to come back to late at night to sleep and then leave early but book a cheaper room .
Only positive things about this place was the beach right outside its beautiful and the food
wont be returning .

Room Tip: book a cheap one and only go into it when you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in a double with a sea view & it was worth the extra cost as it was lovely to wake up and look out to a great view. Spacious room, with all the facilities you need. A bit chintzy, but very clean.

Room Tip: Go for the exec' room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Botany Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Botany Bay Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Kingsgate CT10 3LG, England (Formerly The Fayreness Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Kingsgate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Botany Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the beautiful cliff top at Kingsgate Bay, The Botany Bay Hotel in Broadstairs promises a tranquil and peaceful getaway - whether it's for a long weekend, a wedding, birthday celebration or just a lunch hour.Stay in one of 30 en-suite bedrooms, enjoy a pint of real ale in the lounge bar or sample fantastic food (with a view of the sea) in one of the best restaurants in Broadstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Botany Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayreness Hotel Kingsgate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Botany Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.