We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest View Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Forest View Guest House to your Saves list
Forest View Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would definitely return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in February and had room #2. The views were beautiful and it was lovely to sit in the window looking over the river. The owners were very helpful and were more than happy to answer our questions about the area.
As for breakfast, on the second morning I had requested something different that wasn't on the menu. However they were more than happy to make it for me even though they'd never heard of it before. It was delicious!!
The mattress was so comfortable so there were no problems with getting a good nights sleep!
I would recommend this guest house to friends and family, and would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    38
    15
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
124
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here at the end of March and although the guest house was full it was quiet and peaceful. Our room was spotless and the bed very comfy, and we had a lovely view of the river. The grounds of the guest house are lovely and there is free parking which is a bonus. Only very slight negative was that although the breakfast was cooked perfectly, we got the impression the quality of the meat was perhaps not the best. Would definitely recommend this place if you want a relaxing getaway. Location is perfect!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed one night. Forest View is in an interesting location with good views. We received a pleasant welcome and parking was easy. There is a nice little bar and very pleasant dining room. We were pleasantly surprised to find that evening meal was available and apparently this was because they were not busy. The dinner and breakfast were delicious. I had booked a luxury en-suite double room with a super king bed. The room was very clean and tidy with nice furnishings and tea making facilities, and a great view of the river. Unfortunately we both had a very poor night's sleep because of the mattresses on the bed. They seemed to be on a slope with a large ridge down the centre. They need to be thrown away.

Room Tip: If you book room 4 make sure they have bought some new mattresses!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill H, Owner at Forest View Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your very positive response. We do appreciate it. Regarding the bed, this room is our most popular booking and this is the first comment about the mattress and the problem of a ridge down the middle!!!
In fact if reviewers look back at our most popular room then rooms 4 and 5 come out way in front.
I notice you booked this room for £55 including two breakfasts and VAT, this room is normally £95 and still no complaints.
I have personally checked the comfort of the bed, unfortunately your review relates to a booking at the beginning of the month the ridge now seems to have vanished. Perhaps it was yer wallet.
Thank you. We appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Forest View Guest House, Symonds Yat, Herefordshire.

Pros :
Location - ideal if you are wanting a base to go off for an explore or kayaking on the river Wye and it was so quiet we were awoken each morning by the pheasants squawking.
Good size rooms.
The views from all rooms except the one with the forest view.
Nice breakfast with a wide selection to choose from and freshly ground coffee.
Jill and John were extremely welcoming.

Cons if I'm nitpicking (which I hate to do) :
Our room #7 would benefit with a bigger television on the wall. The 19" LCD was a tad too small for the distance from the end of the bed.
The bed mattress was far too soft. I found myself having to sleep on my front to avoid neck ache.

But please don't allow my cons to put you off. It was a lovely stay and we are already planning on returning later in the year :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill H, Owner at Forest View Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
I am so sorry you found the TV to be two small in your room. We do have two 42" Plasma Tvs in our lounge and dining room.
Regarding your unpleasant nights sleep we can nly apologise that we are unable to satisfy every body. Room seven gets the second most good reviews about the bed and new mattress.
I have taken note of your feelings and will bear thios in mind if ever you want to return.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

we had a lovely weekend staying at this guest house. It was a birthday treat from my wife for taking photos as it was my birthday (thank you ). we arrived and met gill who made us feel at home. We booked into our room and also booked an evening meal which was very nice. Later we met John and he has a very dry sense of humor i found we got on great. We certainly aim to stay here again in the future and would recommend it to anyone.

John & Jackie from Dorset

Room Tip: room No 12 is with a great view and is a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramsgate
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We arrived during heavy rain floods and high winds to a warm welcome from both Gill and John shown to our 1st class room with amazing views.
John kept us informed regarding the weather and because we had come for the Forest Rally offered us an early breakfast we had an excellent cooked meal, he had earlier that morning already been out to check the road and informed us trees had fallen blocking any way out but he had contacted the forestry commission and they would attend asap. as soon as he heard clearance had been achieved he notified us(full marks John).
No sign of grumpy just great hosts
We would recommend a stay here and will return.

Room Tip: double aspect room no5
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill H, Owner at Forest View Guest House, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your very positive response. We do appreciate it. Regarding the bed, this room is our most popular booking and this is the first comment about the mattress and the problem of a ridge down the middle!!!
In fact if reviewers look back at our most popular room then rooms 4 and 5 come out way in front.
I notice you booked this room for £55 including two breakfasts and VAT, this room is normally £95 and still no complaints.
I have personally checked the comfort of the bed, unfortunately your review relates to a booking at the beginning of the month the ridge now seems to have vanished. Perhaps it was yer wallet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I booked the Forest View to stay for a fishing break this week. Unfortunately the mighty River Wye was in flood and not fishable but our disappointment was very much lifted upon checking into our accommodation. We were allocated a room with the best possible river views in Symmonds Yat, the Forest View's location is simply outstanding! We have previously stayed at Garth Cottage and the Royal Lodge Hotel and both of these are also of a good standard but after staying here we can vouch for views along with the cleanliness and comfort of the room and food quality - we had an evening meal and breakfast and both were excellent and delicious. Gill and John were very welcoming hosts, eager to please their patrons. One last thing to mention is the delightful view of birds feeding from the dining room - blue tits, great tits, long tailed tits, chaffinches and even a woodpecker - a wonderful thing to observe at breakfast time! The Forest View gets our fullest recommendation, we can't wait to come back!..

Room Tip: If available, request a room with a river view. (We stayed in Room 5)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest View Guest House

Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our four star guest-house. Visitors will be treated to a breakfast of their choice; much needed after the multitude of outdoor activities available on the doorstep. From short breaks to long stays, Gill and John do their best to cater for individual needs to make each stay unforgettable double and twin rooms offer panoramic river views, so for those who haven't managed the cycling, kayaking, hiking, fishing or climbing, they can still appreciate the famous Three Countries View (Gloucestershire, Herefordshire and Monmouthshire) from the comfort of their room. Stunning bed and breakfast accommodation with panoramic views of the River Wye. Set in over an acre of beautiful gardens with lawns, shrubs and ornamental fish-pond. Total of eleven double bedrooms, all with en-suites. Licensed Bar,Free Wi-Fi Internet available. Conveniently located for Cheltenham, Chepstow, Gloucester, Hereford, Monmouth and Ross-on-Wye. Excellent road links to Cardiff and South Wales.Private parking. Pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance. Check-in time from 2.30pm, Check-out time is no later than 10.30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Forest View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest View Guest House Hotel Symonds Yat
Forest View Guest House Symonds Yat, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.