We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Old Ferrie Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ye Old Ferrie Inn to your Saves list
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Ferrie Lane | Symonds Yat West, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6BL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night to break up my journey from the north-east down to Cornwall. I had stayed here 10 years prior and the thought it would be an ideal place to stay as opposed to a travelodge on a motorway!

Despite being later than expected, Jamie and some of his punters gave us a lovely welcome. The room itself was huge and overlooked the beautiful river Wye. I had a great nights sleep followed by a lovely breakfast the following morning.

Jamie kindly provided us with a leaflet showing walking routes. We had a short walk up the river and it's stunning! Symonds Yat is a hidden gem and YOFI is a fantastic place to stay.

Thank you!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    61
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
111
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We loved our 3 night stay at this hotel. The view from our bedroom window was worth the stay by itself. The river Wye is beautiful, the building is charming, and there is plenty to do within either walking or easy driving distance. Rooms are simple but comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast and dinner were enjoyable and it was good to eat at the hotel after a busy day's sight- seeing without having to find a restaurant or drive anywhere. All the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. The manager carried our suitcases for us up and down the narrow, winding stairway, eliminating the only thing that could have been a problem. A more peaceful, comfortable and picturesque place to stay would be hard to find.

Room Tip: I think all rooms overlook the river, but make sure yours does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Fantastic location and very friendly, attentive staff.
Great choice of breakfast menu and good range of food in general. Very relaxing and quiet, with views onto the river. would definitely recommend if you want to escape your cares

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We visited this oldie worlde inn on a day out while staying in the Forest of Dean. The manager couldn't have been more friendly. We had our trusty little furry friend Sally the westie with us and she was made most welcome as well. We opted for the Burger meal for our lunch which was really tasty (could have done with a little more salad garnish) but the meat was flavoursome and well cooked. The manager was a friendly knowledgeable fella and very chatty which put us at our ease.
They have a huge verity of local ciders and Beers and are Camera approved.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful setting which will benefit from some better weather than we had. Still recovering from a damp winter. Could benefit from a little investment and the chef will add a thing or two. Would love to return in the warmer months.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Was really delighted with the area and specifically the quieter, less commercial west side of the river. Such a treat to be in a place where you can start a lovely, varied walk from the front doorstep of your lodgings. Views from the dining tables and both the bedroom and bathroom windows were idyllic so full marks for location. However, have to be more reserved with praise for the room itself and the general standard of décor; there is an air of tiredness throughout the property. Not a lack of cleanliness or comfort but more woodchip wallpaper, minimal, weary-looking furniture and poorly-hung curtains than the cost of our stay had led us to expect. Good service from friendly staff and, with the exception of an inedible hot curry on one of two nights we ate supper in the pub, it was above average for food and hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river but may be worth asking which rooms are directly above the kitchen. Forrest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

just stayed in the bunk house next to the pub for the weekend. The accomodation was basic with only one shower between 12 but the landlord and staff were SO friendly, helpful and accomodating that it more than made up for it. They even let us hose down our bikes on the slip while they were serving Sunday lunch. Fantastic location too and really nice pub with two roaring fires and great views. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ye Old Ferrie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Old Ferrie Inn

Address: Ferrie Lane | Symonds Yat West, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful riverside pub has been standing on the banks of the River Wye since the 15th Century. With charming traditional features, warming open fires and stunning views across the valley. Ye Old Ferrie Inn is the ideal place place to enjoy a pint or two....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ye Old Ferrie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Old Ferrie Hotel Symonds Yat
Ye Old Ferrie Inn Symonds Yat, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Old Ferrie Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.