We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a great setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Saracens Head Inn

The Saracens Head Inn
Symonds Yat | Ross on Wye, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
+44 1600 890435
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food in a great setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

A welcoming pub with good food and views over the river. If visiting in the summer it is very busy, park at the view point at the top of the hill. The walk back up means you can have a dessert.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    139
    32
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Symonds Yat Rock Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The location is beautiful. The pub was large with plenty of seating and real fires which made for very cosy eating if you got there early enough to get a table by one of the fires. The food was absolutely delicious and they were very good portions, definitely worth the money. Not your bog standard pub grub. Not sure how accessible it is during the summer months and it is down an almost single track road but definitely worth a visit if you are in the area. We went two nights in a row.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely riverside pub - excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

A most enjoyable lunch watching the ducks go past. The log fire keeps the whole bar warm.
The Welsh burger was superb, as was the steak sandwich. The Devonshire crab and scallops a little disappointing as the crab was overwhelmed by the scallops.
The range of real ales is impressive and having tasted Sharp's Doom Bar, Otley 01 and Butty Bach (not on the same day I hasten to add).
Definitely worth a return trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A pub that epitomizes the word Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Called up at 8:45pm on Sunday and ordered food over the phone after we'd heard the menu and arranged to be picked up by hand ferry..
The hand ferry captain told us he was just informed by his superior that the river was too high to run the ferry after unseasonal snowfall but that he would drive round to pick us up! So 7 minutes later he arrived and took us to a beautiful old English pub. Needless to say the service was incredible and staff very friendly. I had locally reared Beef steak (3 big slices) and the biggest yorkshire pud I've ever seen along with gravy and a side bowl full of all the trimmings. Whilst the Wife enjoyed Chicken and Dauphinoise potatoes which she agreed were better than her own cooking. We didn't finish everything as the portions were huge so everything leftover was kindly wrapped up for a delicous lunch the next day. What a pub!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Whilst away for the weekend we had a meal at The Saracens Head Inn.
Lovely old pub and nice atmosphere.
It was a Saturday night and was pretty busy though they found us a table even though we hadntj booked. Staff were extremely friendly.
Fairly upmarket food/pretty for a pub I thought. My husband had a 10oz steak which he said was delicious. I had a starter for my main course, scallop and crab gratin, not bad but wouldnt choose it again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saracens Head Inn also viewed

Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
 
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Saracens Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saracens Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.