We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location let down by the failities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Symonds Yat East Campsite

Symonds Yat East Campsite
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Symonds Yat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Symonds Yat East Campsite
Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful location let down by the failities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a simply stunning camp site with an amazing location right next to the river between the two hand ferries and pubs. It's just such a shame that facilities let it down. We found the toilets & showers to be a little grubby and not looked after at all well.
The area is beautiful though and the sites location on the path up to Symonds Yat makes it a a great place to stop for a short trip. Plenty to do for active families and those that want lazy days by the river can just dip their toes in the water and let the world go by

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    2
    2
    18
See reviews for
12
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for three nights in the four berth caravan. The caravan is a little old, a bit tired but clean and with a very comfortable bed. The chap showing us round took care to ensure we understood about the gas heater and pointed out the carbon mono and smoke sensors. The one minor problem we had with a collapsing drawer was dealt with immediately. All the staff we met were knowledgeable, friendly and kind, not even lol when I fell out of the canoe onto the steep river-side steps and scrambled ungainly to my feet. The site itself is an adventurers playground and as such has good loos and showers and a flat field on which to camp but not much else in terms of facilities. One camper, looking for a hook-up for his inflatable mattress used one of the caravan sockets. And the shop is great if you like chocolate and fizzy drinks. Bring what you need in terms of food and bedding and enjoy camping as it should be - no street lights, no TV, no hassle; just fresh air, a wide range of outdoor activities and owls calling at night. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Arrive early for the best pitch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed three days in the 6 berth caravan.
Very friendly welcome, and our party was shown everything we needed to know in the caravan itself,right down to how to make the gas safe at night.
The caravan was old but clean.
The site was kept tidy and was safe for the grandchildren to play under our watchful eye.
All the staff I spoke to were eager to please and a credit to the owners of the site.
Great river, pretty walks and we even had the sunshine.
Only one thing but this is nothing to do with the owners but the day trippers were parking outside the caravan trying to make out they were staying so they did not have to pay for parking, maybe an idea to take guests number plates and check. We popped out for a couple of hours but when we got back the caravan was surrounded by cars and their owners on the river.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We've just returned from two nights at Symonds Yat East. It's a small campsite, and we found the facilities to be just fine for a site of that size. Yes the toilet floor was muddy - but what would you expect from being in a field. The toilets were kept clean and had a plentiful supply of loo roll which was a pleasant surprise from other sites that we've stayed at. The only down side was that there were no soap dispensers in the ladies.
The £30 noise deposit worked well - and I think most people were too tired from canoeing anyway so retired early.
The site was very busy by day with lots of day trippers, but quietened down by 6pm. The pub and restaurant near by were good, but we didn't know about the 10% off for campers so paid full price. Oh well.
The staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful, and did a good job turning away the day trippers from using the site toilets/showers.
We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed the Sunday before the late May bank hol Monday through to the following Thursday.
To say that it was busy on the Sunday would be an understatement - it seems that the lovely weather encouraged plenty of people to visit the area. We were able to park (just) in the campsite area, although not allowed to pitch tent until after 3pm. The campsite was very busy, but majority left on the Monday morning and things calmed down in general.
The facilities are definitely basic. Toilets were reasonably clean, but the awful weather we had later in the week meant that they were cold and muddy. Showers were hot. Only one washing up sink - which is outdoors. Pitches are very informal, find a space and pitch where you like. Incredibly beautiful setting, dawn chorus at 5am was loud but stunning, plenty of owls hooting through the night too. Wildlife paradise.
Staff were very polite and helpful, can't fault them. The hotel down the road, The Royal Lodge, owned by same people, will give you a 10% discount on food if you are camping, and we had some nice food there.
We did a canoe trip from Ross-On-Wye back to the campsite - quite hard work as 15 miles in total, but a great experience and our 10 year old boy and 8 year old girl loved it.
Stunning walks from the campsite.

Great campsite, could do with some better facilities, but if you are OK with it basic then this is a place not to miss.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

This site is not a family friendly site. It has some staff that are okay but others that I would not let them look after goldfish. A £30 noise bond is not needed, staff on site should not need to tell adults that it is time to keep the noise down before 11pm! The wash facilities are not very good and the showers seem to be used by non campers that use the river and car park. Campers get the blame for making the mess when others take advantage of their poor facilities. Although the area is beautiful and off the site/mud bath is great the site should be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYECAMPSITE, Manager at Symonds Yat East Campsite, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Whilst we value our customers opinions and feedback this review is not written in the best of spirits.

We are a family friendly site and our noise bond policies do work! It is unfortunate that this customer deemed our policy to be UN-necessary. Whilst we agree that we should not have to tell adults to keep the noise down and respect other site users it is regrettable that on occasions we do have to so that other customers can enjoy there stay.

Our facilities are only for campsite customers and with the horrendous weather we experienced during the summer it is unfortunate that they can become a little muddy. Most of our customers did understand and appreciated our efforts in trying to keep on top of this.

We hope that our previous customer successfully finds a quiet site next to the river in a stunning location like ours that better suits their needs.

Kind Regards
Symonds Yat East Campsite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have just returned from the camp site after staying for the weekend in the 4-6 berth caravan. I cannot recommend this site enough. I have stayed several times in a tent but chose the caravan this time as it was my daughter's 1st Birthday and we had a small party for her based from the van. All the staff I dealt with were extremely helpful and were thorough in explaining where all facilities were. The caravan was exceptionally clean with plenty of toilet paper, kitchen roll supplies and lots of cutlery, plates etc. It is so tranquil both day and night and I love how busy it gets during the day with all the canoe trips but then at night the main bulk of cars disappear and it is even more chilled and tranquil. I was a bit gutted about the £30 noise deposit at first (I didn't have to pay this in the caravan but friends were camping and they did) but when it comes to 11pm and then everything goes quiet it is definitely worth it.

The shower block was clean with nice warm showers and being right on the river this campsite is really something special.

It was the perfect location for a special family birthday and I will be definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYECAMPSITE, Manager at Symonds Yat East Campsite, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Very grateful to our customer for their custom.

We are very pleased to here that our valued customer enjoyed their recent stay with us in one of our static caravans. We aim to provide a basic level of accommodation as an alternative to a tent. It seems that this customer did enjoy their stay and appreciated the stunning riverside location that is Symonds Yat East.

We look forward to welcoming our customer back in the very near future.

Many Thanks
Symonds Yat East Campsite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Symonds Yat East Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symonds Yat East Campsite

Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Symonds Yat
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a quiet family campsite based on the side of the River Wye, in the perfect location at Symonds Yat East in Herefordshire. We have newly refurbished toilets and a brand new shower building. With 3 ladies & 3 gents showers with hot water 24/7 included in the camping cost. Pre-booking is advisable as we do get very busy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Symonds Yat East Campsite England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Symonds Yat East Campsite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Symonds Yat East Campsite to your Saves list