We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned Welcome.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garth Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Symonds Yat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garth Cottage
Save
You added Garth Cottage to your Saves list
Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Welcome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Had a lovely stay here. It won't suit everyone...decor is dated and quirky and the room very small. BUT it was spotlessly clean, comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent served at a table with the most beautiful views.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Husbands Bosworth, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Visited Garth Cottage on the back of all the good comments and wasn't disappointed. We were welcomed by Mark and our stay was brilliant (which is more than I can say about the weather!) Mark had prepared us a fabulous meal on our first night and breakfast choice was fantastic - truly set us up for a days walking! Bedroom was comfortable with spectacular views. Would not hesitate in staying again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visited Garth Cottage again on my birthday this year and it was as friendly, clean and comfortable as it was last year when we visited.

The hospitality afforded by Mark, Val and Bertie is 1st Class and once again the freshly cooked food was excellent, eating breakfast and evening meal here twice, visiting a local pub on the remaining evening, which was nice but nowhere near as gorgeous as the food prepared by Mark at Garths Cottage, a must if you stay
here.

Hope to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Rereading the reviews having now stayed here we can see what people have been on about. Without doubt the welcome couldn't be better. Mark was most helpful with our stuff. The cottage is very homely and is all spotlessly clean. It's position right by the river is really good. The food (we only had breakfasts) was fine. We felt some of the decor was a little old fashioned and the room was a touch on the small side but honestly we didn't spend enough time in the room to really worry about this and in any event the wonderful outlook up the valley more than made up for it. On the whole Garth Cottage is really good value for money and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We think the rooms look out over the river anyway but do ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Reviewing Garth Cottage is rather difficult because, as they say, style is easy to spot but difficult to define. If you like comfy slippers and are looking for warm hospitality and a very, very homely B and B, then you will love Garth Cottage. If you are a fashionista and are seeking chrome, glitz and modern facilities, you’ll probably hate it. We had a wonderful stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We came with another couple who, like ourselves, were really impressed by both the location and the hospitality shown by the owners. From the private car park and lovely views to those amazing breakfasts, one could ask for nothing more.
We walked up to the Rock where the views are breath-taking and spent quite a lot of time exploring the tracks of the forests around and about.
Mark, Val and Bertie are most obliging and nothing is too much trouble. Mark’s collection of model cars provoked lengthy discussions over the odd drink from the bar!

Room Tip: Room 2 has dual aspect for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Yes we came to Garth cottage last year, 2012. Enjoyed it so much we just had to come back. This time we took our 23yr old daughter with us and she fell in love with it all. Tucked away in the Forested of Dean offering Walking,Climbing. Canoeing and kayaking.
Garth cottage is right on the riverbank Mark, Val and Bertie worked endlessly to make our stay a relaxing one. Form just having a parking space ready for us right out side, a cup of tea and slice of cake before we were taken to our room. The rooms were very nice and clean and we had a room with seats and a table but we liked sitting on the verander watching the the world go by. Mark cooked an evening meal for us the night we arriver (Roast pork) I just gave him 24hours notice and my daughter said it was the best pork EVER. We had a afternoon out on the river Wye Canoeing now that's really good fun if you can stop the girls screaming..... lol
As we were leaving make told me he has FISHING LICENCES so next time I'm taking some sort of fishing rod. Very very enjotable few day rest we'll be back rod in hand.

Room Tip: All room face the river we enjoyed roon 4 last year but room 2 is the better room if you want to sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garth Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garth Cottage

Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Garth Cottage Symonds Yat, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garth Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.