We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcome & great weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garth Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Symonds Yat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garth Cottage
- | Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome & great weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had a wonderful experience from the moment we arrived to a really warm welcome to the moment we left. The room had the most spectacular view, the location is perfect & the hosts are amazing. Highly recommended! Thank you all for a lovely weekend

Room Tip: We had a room with dual aspect windows. It was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Very little to add to the other reviews about Garth Cottage other than to say we agree with all the positive comments. We spent a weekend here and were lucky enough to be in Room 2, which has a dual aspect of the River Wye (awesome views) and was very clean and comfortable. Mark and family were very friendly and welcoming for the duration, adding up to a very relaxing time. The whole experience had a charm and uniqueness which, as a family-run business, is simply impossible to emulate in a larger property. The breakfasts are also worth mentioning, we tried smoked haddock and full english, and both were superb!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Mark, Val and Bert made mum and I feel very welcome for our 2 night stay at the end of September. The accomodation was spotless and very comfortable. Free parking was a welcome bonus.
From our window we watched kingfishers having their breakfasts and mute swans winging their way up river - idyllic. Very peaceful, yet plenty to do during the day.
The breakfasts were delicious local products, well cooked by Mark.
I will being going back for a longer stay next year, as it is a superb place to unwind.

Louise

Room Tip: Ask for room 2 as it has a duel aspect overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

stayed here with a friend in march, returned first week october for four days, symonds yat east is amazing, so much to see and do, garth cottage is definetly the only place to stay, faultless, food perfect thanks to mark, room spotless, view stunning, hosts well brilliant, keep up the fantastic service.

Room Tip: choose the twin room with double windows to each side, you get the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

This was our second visit to Symonds Yat and our first stay at Garth Cottage. We took friends with us so I was hoping that we had made a good choice of accomodation.
Well it certainly surpassed all expectaions. Beautiful spot on the river, wonderful hosts and accomodation and a fabulous breakfast courtesy of Mark.
The Edens are a delightful family and couldn't do enough for us even taking us into Monmouth on the Saturday morning to collect our vehicle wisely left there after a few beers on the Friday night.
We love Symonds Yat and will definitely be returning to Garth Cottage

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and were happy to find free and spacious parking immediately on arrival. If you have not been to Symonds Yat - parking is at a premium and this B&B had more than enough space which was great.
Teh Eden family were very welcoming and the accommodation was of a high standard. Breakfasts were fab with a great choice - even for vegetarians! Nothing was too much trouble - and you're made to feel like part of the family.
Theres even a small cosy bar for residents who fancy a night cap - which is far more reasonably priced than the local pub.
Gorgeous views of the river in the day and beautiful stary skies at night - would definately stay again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This is a really super B&B in a very pretty and peaceful hamlet on the banks of the river Wye. The views of the river & surrounding landscape from the room, breakfast room and terrace are wonderful. The Eden family are very welcoming and the breakfasts were delicious with a wide choice. Parking is right outside the cottage and there's also a good pub almost next door which serves great food for lunch/dinner (although it isn't noisy at night - we slept really well!). Will definitely be recommending Garth Cottage to family & friends.

Room Tip: Ask if the corner room (No. 2) is available (dual aspect windows looking onto the river).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garth Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garth Cottage

Address: - | Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Garth Cottage Symonds Yat, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garth Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Garth Cottage to your Saves list