We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect short break!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derby House Bed & Breakfast

Derby House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ticknall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Derby House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Derby House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
124 Main Street, Ticknall DE73 7JZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ticknall B&B and Inns
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect short break!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very welcoming and homely with a lovely breakfast. Room was light and nicely furnished as well as comfortable. Nice to have a 'tea tray' with a good range of drinks and fresh milk! A night here and then a visit to nearby Calke Abbey made for a perfect short break. Whilst I drove to the National Trust property the parkland around it is great so I'd recommend perhaps taking hiking boots and walking in on the local foot paths.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castaway41, Owner at Derby House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you Caroline - so glad you enjoyed your stay and your visit to Calke Abbey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

To start we had an extremely warm welcome by Chris into her beautiful home which sits in very well kept grounds and dates back to the late 1800's.Up the lovely staircase to the top of the house are the two B&B rooms. Very tastefully decorated with all mod cons,lovely teas (and real milk!!),bikkies and water.The bathroom has lovely soaps and shampoos and a cracking power shower....all very tastefully done.However,we were in a rush to get downstairs initially as Chris had made us a pot of tea and cakes ........mmm delicious and a nice touch.
After a wonderfull night's sleep in the very comfy double bed we entered the dining room to be greeted with a roaring log fire and a superb breakfast (best sausage I've had in ages).
We shall return.....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castaway41, Owner at Derby House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Derby House in Ticknall, Derbyshire, was a delightful place to stay. The boutique style room at the top of two floors provided every home comfort from hot water bottles to a range of teas as well as coffee. In fact there was also a big bottle of water from which to fill the kettle, a flask of fresh milk and shortbread biscuits . Additionally, bottles of Evian were provided with glasses.

In the very warm and comfortable shower room there were more extras: hand cream, tissues, cotton wool pads and good quality dispensing bottles of soap, shampoo and shower gel. The Warrens were warm and hospitable and gave the impression that nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent with extra touches such as the freshly made bowl of fruit salad to accompany a choice of cereals, a well cooked English breakfast and the temptation of a basket of pain au chocolate and croissants. The house, a listed building with what appeared to be many original features, stirred the imagination and was very evocative of times gone by. We hope to go back there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castaway41, Owner at Derby House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you Helen for a lovely review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed at Derby House in February and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. Chris was a wonderful host and made us feel at home straight away with a cup of tea and homemade Victoria sponge cake which was delicious! Our en suite room was spotlessly clean, light and airy and the decor was superb. The breakfast was brilliant and plenty of it! It was served in their beautiful dining room with a roaring log fire, nothing was too much trouble for Chris and we will definitely go back

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

We were struggling to find accommodation in Ticknall when we came across Derby House. It proved to be a real treat. It is well situated and within walking distance of some very nice public houses serving food.

Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by Chris with a cup of tea and wedge of home made cake. Derby House has 2 double rooms, both of which are beautifully decorated and comfortable. En-suite bathrooms were spotless and had the added nice touches of toiletries if required. A good selection of tea/coffee/chocolate was available, together with a flast or REAL milk, something we really appreciated.

Breakfast was excellent and really set us up for the day. All in all only one fault - we only got to stay one night.!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Derby House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 124 Main Street, Ticknall DE73 7JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ticknall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ticknall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to unforeseen circumstances Derby House is not taking bookings after 7th September 2014. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derby House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.