We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal de La Gavina

Save Saved
You added Hostal de La Gavina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal de La Gavina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pza Rosaleda s/n, 17248 S'Agaro, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in S'Agaro
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here; we ate lunch at the pool restaurant which was excellent and had a romantic dinner in the courtyard at night. The room was on the small side but was excellently equipped. My complaint which is small regards the lack of outdoor shaded space for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    18
    14
    5
    11
See reviews for
27
56
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place is located North Barcelona not far the French Border. It is an small coast town where views are nice and relax is guarranteed. Place has a very nice pool where you can relax. Other actvities are posible but I just went there to relax and doing nothing and mission was acomplished. Very good place to charge batteries if you are having a busy life.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had read so many wonderful things about this grand hotel, that we could not wait to vacate Barcelona and arrive at the Costa Brava. We learned rather quickly that you want to avoid summer weekends. The hotel is surrounded by lovely seaside mansions - some of which are inhabited by raucous teenage parties throughout the weekend. Our beautiful (best room in the house) room with amazing balcony overlooking the water was ruined by non-stop, head banging music and screaming. We tried other rooms but could not avoid the noise. We eventually opted for a cheaper room (with no balcony) overlooking the parking lot. Lousy view but at least quiet. We were told by the front desk "yes - there is nothing we can do about the noise - it will get much worse". Great news for people who just travelled across the ocean and were anticipating a relaxing vacation by the sea. The food was just average but extremely pricey and the pool was nice but had only one attendant and no one came by to ask if you wanted a drink. You had to go up to the bar and get it yourself. The coastal walk was the one saving grace but you don't have to stay at this pricey hotel to enjoy it. If you visit this area - find another hotel off the strip and close to the coastal walk.

Room Tip: Try to find a room that is not adjacent to the private homes along with sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We enjoy staying here! Amazing view and friendly stuff, really perfect place for couples!! Quite and romantic, best opportunity to relax during your holiday!! It was very unexpected trip for us, that is why we like it even more;) Highly recommend to visit restaurant La tarerna del mar, only 5 min for hotel and definitely worth visiting!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have stayed at La Gavina many times. It is a truly wonderful hotel in a fantastic location. The service is superb, and the whoe place oozes splendour. The restaurant is magic. In the summer the tblaes in the courtyard a re great. The pool is uperb hand has a view to die for. It is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was surprised to find very big open sea water swimming pool with perfect views.
One and ten minutes walk to absolutely different beaches .
The food prices was absolutely the same , not higher ,than in good city restaurants along the beach. May be too firm bed ,but tastes differ.

Room Tip: I had a suite sea -oriented ,it was rather quiete, i think do not get parking side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

James and I stayed at La Gavina for ten nights at the beginning of July and had a really fabulous experience. I would recommend this beautiful hotel to couples and families and would not hesitate to return. I hope it will be very soon! The hotel is traditional in it's design and is like stepping back in time but in a very positive way. We experienced friendly and professional service throughout and we were made to feel very welcome by all management and staff?.
The location is exclusive and has lots of lovely coastal walks and beaches just a stones through away from the hotel.
Pere who manages the Front of House is superb and nothing was too much trouble. He even had my necklace repaired within the first half an hour of our arrival (a birthday gift - which was so appreciated).
The General Manager, Manuel is charming and is obviously dedicated to managing and delivering the very best with his team to their guests.

Room Tip: The majority of rooms has a sea view which I would recommend for the wonderful views go the coastlin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal de La Gavina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal de La Gavina

Address: Pza Rosaleda s/n, 17248 S'Agaro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > S'Agaro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in S'Agaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hostal de La Gavina 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal de la Gavina is a luxurious resort on a private estate. The setting between two lovely beaches on a small peninsula is exquisite. It is elegant in the European, grand-hotel tradition, with splendidly decorated rooms and antiques. Each guest room has direct-dial telephone, electronic safe, mini-bar, hair dryer, and satellite color television. It is the only Five-Star Grand Luxe resort hotel in Catalonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hostal de La Gavina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal De La Gavina Hotel
Hostal De La Gavina Spain/Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal de La Gavina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.