We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal de La Gavina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal de La Gavina to your Saves list
Hostal de La Gavina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pza Rosaleda s/n, 17248 S'Agaro, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in S'Agaro
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have traveled to over 30 countries for business and for pleasure. I brought my family to La Gavina because I had stayed there with my parents almost 40 years ago as a child. The hotel is superb. The service outstanding. Excellent all around.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    22
    17
    5
    12
See reviews for
34
63
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Hook, Brooklyn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

It is the most elegant hotel in Europe set on the world's most breathtaking cliff-walk above the ocean. The pool is all glamour and decadence, the village below is old world by the sea and the entire property has you feeling as if you are Marlon Brando in the early summer of 1964, arriving to your big budget European production that is set to begin shooting on-location in two days’ time, and all you have to do until then is relax and enjoy fame. *Also, Pere, who runs the hotel, is the finest and most gentlemanly of all hotel orchestrators across the continent.

Room Tip: A balcony is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krasnodar, Russia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Yes, the place is not cheap (as you should expect from a member of Leading Hotels of the Word) but well worth it. The best part fo experience in this hotel is the quality of service. Entirely everyone in the hotel was welcoming, friendly and provided a truly personal service, creating an overall impression that we were extremely important guests. This, combied with a limited number of guests at this time of the year, created a perception of a royal treatment and led to truly relaxing holidays. Fantastic breakfast, fantastic outside pool wth sea water. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would like to come back

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room - floors are ceramic so could be a bit noinsy from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here, staff were lovely, our room was excellent with a beautiful sea view balcony. Old style, absolutely charming!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

An utterly unique experience and does not resemble any hotel I have ever stayed in. Service beggars belief, rooms are very comfortable, location is excellent ( do have a walk around the coastal path). I would say that the restaurant is expensive and very good. (the crepe prepared at table is a masterclass). I don,t know how to phrase this so here goes. . . .the service levels and style may intimidate if its your first time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Me, my wife and my parents stayed @ La Gavina on Oct/11. We stayed here in two different dates, at the beggining and in the middle of oct/11 during a car trip across France and Andorra. As a member of The leading hotels of the world we could not expect nothing different from the staff, even knowing that they were a few days from the winter close. The service was perfect, from the carry until the barman that served us some cold akadanm beer at the garden in a sunny afternoon. The room was great, we stayed in large suites with separate bed and seating area, bathroom with separate shower and bath and large balcony, offering 2 sunbeds and a nice sea view. Me and my wife are planning to get back, now during the summer to enjoy the great beach that is just a few steps from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Good Hotel. It is charming and beautifully decorated with an outstanding selection of antiques surrounded by old world charm. The staff were not good, I am leading member, I not receive any information abouth my previlegius. I receive my complimentary breakfast, present, but at time I dont no I receive or not a room upgrade. The room was very good with balcony and ocean view.
The spa was terrible!!!! The restaurant food is very good. The employes of the hotel is very friendly.
Without the Spa, everething is good.

Room Tip: Suite with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal de La Gavina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal de La Gavina

Address: Pza Rosaleda s/n, 17248 S'Agaro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > S'Agaro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in S'Agaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hostal de La Gavina 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal de la Gavina is a luxurious resort on a private estate. The setting between two lovely beaches on a small peninsula is exquisite. It is elegant in the European, grand-hotel tradition, with splendidly decorated rooms and antiques. Each guest room has direct-dial telephone, electronic safe, mini-bar, hair dryer, and satellite color television. It is the only Five-Star Grand Luxe resort hotel in Catalonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Escapio and Despegar.com so you can book your Hostal de La Gavina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal De La Gavina Hotel
Hostal De La Gavina Spain/Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal de La Gavina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.