We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Town ?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Tragamar de Calella

El Tragamar de Calella
Platja de Canadell S/N | Calella de Palafrugell, 17210 Palafrugell, Spain
+34 972 61 43 36
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 111 Restaurants in Palafrugell
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Town ?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We recently stayed in the town and ate a couple of times at the Tragamar.
Both occasions were excellent in terms of both food and service. My wife really enjoyed the locally caught fish and I similarly enjoyed the local rice speciality
You wont be disappointed by your visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    48
    13
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Tragamar is not cheap but it is worth the price. The restaurant is set beside a peaceful little bay out of the wind close to LLaFranc. We always
try to sit outside but it is popular to do so. Thus it is advisable to book
in advance. The food is local, it is cooked with some variations from traditional recipes but we have found it to be outstanding over a period of ten years. The mussels, tuna with guacamole and tarte tatin are excellent
but also do not miss out on the hamburger, the monk fish and the squid.

Do not be put off by the waiters. They are local Catalans and their English
is often not very good. If at first they seem to be rude/surly, do not be put off. They are friendly and all will be well!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We visit Callella de Palafrugell most years and on every visit we have at least one lunch at Tragamar.It isnt for everyone, yes it is expensive and mainly fish but its worth splashing out at least once because to sit in the sun on the beach with a perfect view eating sardines and drinking a glass of chilled white wine is my idea of paradise., what mor could you wish for

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location, poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Location of restaurant is great, right on the beach and in the evening is very pleasent with the waves crashing in. Poor menu selection and for the price very expensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having called in for coffee and brandy one evening, and being made very welcome by the staff, we returned the folowing evening for a meal. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted, being remembered from the previous evening. When asked if we had reserved a table, it was a Friday in August after all, we replied no. They said they were full, but then hurriedly found a table for us, and we enjoyed an excellent meal. THe food served is relatively simple, but excellent, and the service very good.I had the steak hachee (Hamburger!) and my partner had sardines. I do recommend you move to the bar for a coffee and brandy, if you are so inclined. Watching the brandy being poured is something else, and the barman is extremely friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tragamar de Calella also viewed

Palafrugell, Costa Brava
Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell
 
Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell
Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell
 

Been to El Tragamar de Calella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tragamar de Calella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.