We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good-and desk staff speak English” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Ciutat de Mataro

Save Saved
You added NH Ciutat de Mataro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NH Ciutat de Mataro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cami Ral, 648, 08302 Mataro, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Mataro
Goult, France
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Really good-and desk staff speak English”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I would say that this hotel was the equivalent of a Sheraton or Hilton, nice, friendly, predictable, no surprises. The other reviews give details, and my one criticism is that the hotel bed squeeked! Not good for honeymooners, but I am sure it was just that one bed! Breakfast was copious and good value: one could order cooked eggs if wanted. The buffet had all the good things from yoghurts to fresh (and dried) fruits, toast (good white bread). The hotel restaurant was not in operation during our stay, and the nice bar was empty that weekend.
The hotel is completely handicap friendly (of course if in a wheelchair one would want to request a special accomodation for showers. We chose this hotel for it's 15 min. walk to the RR station that has frequent service into Barcelona. The RR track runs between the main street and the beach, so access to the beach is limited to spread out access tunnels (I didn't walk to the beach). There was a TA restaurant a block away and we also ate along the beach at MARINA restaurant which had excellent and inexpensive fresh fish dinners that were wonderful.
We parked in the garage, which had two gate systems: once we learned the drill it was quite easy. The fee was about 11 EU a day, worth it for the security, but I never felt that Mataro was unsafe in any way: it is a quiet town.
The hotel is one kilometer of the speed road into Barcelona (we ended up driving and parked underground at Playa Catalunya, no trouble at all.
Wobbly walkers: no cobblestone sidewalks, good ramps at the curb in the town. Easy access to hotel with portail covered parking area for unloading at reception. Little fridge in room. Showers large, glassed in with hand held adjustable shower heads. Nice amenities kit. I would recommend this hotel and esp. the helpful staff. Very good value.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing rooms would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    47
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
40
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for eight nights-- Mataro is a wonderful beach town and the hotel appears to be one of the best in town. Friendly staff and we loved the breakfast and complementary internet. The room quality and spa were more than I expected from other reviews. There were a few small hiccups with the timing of breakfast as the opening times changed without telling guests the week we were there. However this is the only thing I could note as a problem. Staff are welcoming and helpful. The hotel is only a short walk to the beach and about a 10 minute walk to the old part of town. We'll will be back next summer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This Hotel is very cheap and the quality of the service pretty good. Unfortunately the restaurant is closed in august but the breakfast is good (8 euro at day). There's also a small but nice SPA at only 6 euro/day.
5 min of walk and you can reach the beach and the rail station that connect to Barcellona (35/40 min).
Free wify in the lobby and in the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Was a last gasp booking as hotels nearer to Barcelona full. Was a quiet refuge after the working day and numerous restaurants within a 10 to15 minute walk. Rooms kept clean and tidy by staff. Front desk staff helpful and friendly. NH always have a good standard and this hotel lived up to that. If you dont want to endure the hustle and bustle of central Barcelona and are travelling with a car I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

friendly staff, nice hotel room, very good beds, private parking garage, very good breakfastbuffet, near the centre, near the railway station,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stayed at the hotel several times during the last 4 years, for work reasons. It is located some 40 from Barcelona, by car. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the rooms are a good size. Good buffet breakfast, but limited evening meals in the bar. Even so they were individually well cooked. Staff is friendly and don´t worry about parking your car because there is places available on the streets nearby. Avoid, during the summer, the duplex rooms on the fourth floor, they are too hot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for three nights in October 2011. It is located some 10 mins from the train station with regular trains into the centre of Barcelona. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the rooms are a good size. Good buffet breakfast, but limited evening meals in the bar. Even so they were individually well cooked.
Staff were very friendly and helpful with ideas for our two days in Barcelona and when we reported a problem with the battery for the safe it was changed whilst we ate our breakfast. In house garage at a reasonable cost with free street parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Ciutat de Mataro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Ciutat de Mataro

Address: Cami Ral, 648, 08302 Mataro, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Mataro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Mataro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Ciutat de Mataro 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El hotel NH Ciutat de Mataro, situado en Mataro, es el punto de partida ideal para descubrir todos los encantos de Cataluna. El encantador centro de la ciudad se encuentra a solo 10 minutos a pie, y la playa y el puerto deportivo, a solo 5 minutos. La proximidad de la estacion de tren y de dos autopistas importantes (NII y C32) te permite recorrer toda la provincia y llegar al centro de Barcelona en solo 20 minutos. El NH Ciutat de Mataro cuenta con estacionamiento, lo que lo convierte en un destino ideal para los huespedes que llegan en automovil. Con 106 habitaciones y 17 apartamentos, el hotel NH Ciutat de Mataro ofrece una visita inolvidable para estadias breves y prolongadas. Tanto las habitaciones para fumadores como las que son para no fumadores cuentan con ropa de cama de lujo, una decoracion acogedora y una amplia variedad de practicas comodidades. Pero ademas, el hotel NH Ciutat de Mataro es mucho mas que un lugar para dormir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your NH Ciutat de Mataro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Ciutat De Mataro Hotel Mataro
Nh Hotels Barcelona
NH Ciutat De Mataro Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Ciutat de Mataro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.