We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro to your Saves list
Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig Maritim 324, 08302 Mataro, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mataro
Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just arrived back after spending three nights at this hotel visiting relatives living in Mataro. Very good hotel with lovely rooms with sea views and pleasant staff. Easy to get from airport using the train from the airport to Sants and then from Sants to Mataro (Blanes train). Station really close to the hotel so ideal for getting train into Barcelona. Substantial breakfast. We did not eat in the evening at the hotel but wish we had as on our last day we met people who had eaten several times there and they were full of praise. Would definitely recommend this hotel for visiting Barcelona and other coastal regions in that area. We used the lounge bar for a nightcap. Nice staff.................lovely Sangria!! Just wish the background music had been a little different but that's my opinion. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,
we hope to receive you again to be able to thank you for your kind words.
Best regards,
Marta Marimon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    80
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
51
77
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mataro, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is really new and fresh with spacious, clean areas and friendly staff (most of them speak very good english). Hotel's location is ideal in Matarο, near the train station and city center (15' minutes walking).
The room was great with very nice view at the marina and the sea. I am still wondering why the fridge/mini bar was so small but it wasn't really a problem for me.
Only disadvantage of the hotel from my point of view is the really slow WiFi. I was on a business trip and it was sometimes impossible for me to work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for you kind words about our hotel. We will verify our WIFI immediately so that we can offer our guests our best service.
yours sincerely,
Marta Marimón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel doesn't look much from the outside but once you get inside its very modern, lovely designed, spacious and spotlessly clean.
Reception: Very friendly & helpful reception staff, always willing to help and give advise
Bar area (internal): Modern bar area with quiet area with newspapers
Bar area (outside): Modern bar area, relaxed atmosphere and nice lighting at night
Restaurant: Good choice of food at breakfast (continental) & excellent menu offered at night with lots of fish dishes.We went H/B basis and this was excellent value for money!
Pool area: Very quiet and pieceful, not many people around - relaxed!
Bedrooms: We had a side view room which looked out up the coast and over the marina area. we didn't bother asking to change rooms as the view was just as good from the side. Bedrooms spotlessly clean, very modern, comfy beds, lolvey bathrooms.
Spa: Spa area quite small but not complaining as i had it all to myself for 1.5hrs (6 euro charge to use spa if you don't book hotel direct).

Location: This is a great hotel from a business perspective with easy commute into central Barcelona by train & car in 30 mins. Train station is a 5min walk from the hotel. We were on a leisure break and made day trips into Barcelona for just under 8 euro per day (return). Trains run between Mataro & Barcelona from 5-6am until 11pm at night.

Beach: Lovely quiet beach located within 5min walk of hotel, great marina with walkway for walkers/runners and local bars/restarants offering some good food.

We'll definately return to this hotel and would recommend to friends as a good base for travelling to central Barcelona but also north towards Costa Brava.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,
Your kind words help us to improve day by day. We hope to receive you again on your next visit to Mataró.
Marta Marimon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel is beautifully designed, with a spacious reception, pool and decked sun lounger area. The rooms are spacious enough, clean, modern with small balconies overlooking the port area - the bathrooms are modern, with walk in showers, black tile decor with a boutiquey feel. Breakfast is fantastic with a large choice of patisseries, fruit, eggs, meats, cheeses and a choice of breads. Its well placed with a 5 min walk to the nearby town centre. The gym is small but useable, and theres a spa massage area. This is a predominantly business hotel, that sits weirdly at times with the bikini wearing sun worshippers, theres sadly no pool side service. I like this hotel the staff where helpful, but somehow the bar areas are a little cold and stark and needed staffing better.

Room Tip: Choice a port side room and book on Travel Republic for the best deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your words. They will help us to go on trying to improve day by day a little more.
Best regards,
Marta Marimón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veghel
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Nice clean hotel, but only for business, with some very negative points.
Rooms are nice, bed is perfect, bathroom is nice ,
BUT walls between rooms are made from carton I guess, so extremely noisy which is very bad. No potable water in your room, we had a double room in the fridge was 1 small bottle of 300 ML, we asked the reception but we are still waiting.
Hotel in general is full equiped, a few things which we dont like, for example bycicle available but for 2 people you will pay 50 euro for one day, CRAZY

Room Tip: If you like to stay there, be sure that you don't have neighbors as the rooms dont have "wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice new hotel, within driving distance from Barcelona (about 25-30mins away). Very serene area and with a good beach walking distance.
Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
As the hotel is new, the room were in very good condition. both pool and spa were also nice (small but nice).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the marina have a nice sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to receiving you on your next visit to Mataró.
Marta Marimón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto de la Duquesa, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel can truly be called a Hotel. It is very clear that the traditions of a real hotel are all there.
The staff from reception to direction have the time and the intention of listening, answering, and helping with any questions or problems.
How fine it is to have dinner served by profoundly friendly and excellent waiters, with a good knowledge of the different dishes, and menus that are on the card.
If there is nothing on the card that you can eat or like, then they are ready to have the master chef put it together as you would like.
To some up this new hotel it is superb in all ways, and although there are modifications and changes that need to be made, the staff are tremendous in dealing with your requests.
Excellent food, fare prices, a Hotel with a future.

Room Tip: Choose a room to suit the size you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. We look forward to receiving you soon.
Best regards,
Marta Marimón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro

Address: Passeig Maritim 324, 08302 Mataro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Mataro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mataro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.