We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so noisy place!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cartago Nova

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cartago Nova to your Saves list
Hotel Cartago Nova
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig Maritim 92 | Malgrat de Mar, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“so noisy place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

One week in this hotel was hell - any night filled of sleep... Noise from disco in basement is every night (worse 1-5 am), worsed was friday night (for us). Rooms are equiped by older furniture, doors are with slots around. You pay more if you want to have "safe" in room and for Wifi (which is only in 1st floor) as well... Personal is ok, food is ok.

Room Tip: If you really want to stay in this hotel (dont!), choose rooms with opposite view than to sea (so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    21
    9
    15
See reviews for
21
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Cleaned rooms every day, fresh towels every day as well. Yes bathrooms quite old but not that bad. The water was very salty or something so when I took shower I could feel that horrible taste on my lips. Overall very nice, clean place, somewhere to put your head down. Close to the beach. Didn't have any problems.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We flew into Barcelona and took the coastal train to Malgrat,just a steady stroll from the train station to the hotel. We stayed for 3 nights full board, We found the food to be very good and plenty of it ,The hot plates being constantly topped up. The only thing we could fault if anything was the waiting for an available table for your evening meal. However they turned them round very quickly. We stayed in room 412 looking down on the pool and out to sea.We were also the only brits in the place but that had no bearing on our enjoyment what so ever. The beach is ok but its a rip off for the sun beds, 9 euros for 2, plus 5 euros for the parasol , No wonder people everywhere were sitting n the sand . For the short time we were there we could not fault the facilities. We would go back. For all you brits that think this place is bad, obviously you are looking for 5 star luxury for a 3 star price,I am afraid them days are now long gone. £100 for 3 nights full board can't be that bad. Go to any English resort and expect to pay double.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

we have just returned from the holiday from hell at the caragonova, we had a week there b & b,we where the only brits there and they didnt cater for us at all, breakfast was poor no fresh fruit, horrible tasting cornflakes, only the spanish bacon was worth eating,the rooms are small, the beds are like sleeping on solid rock and if you do manage to get to sleep it wont be for long as you will be awaken by the disco that goes on to the early hours of the morning, we found glass in the pool on two occations and around the terrace, the life floats were missing from around the pool as well, all the staff seemed to be very rude, and didnt want to help.The resort of malgrat de mar has very little to offer in way of british bars if that is what you are looking for, it caters more for the germans. PLEASE AVIOD THE CARTAGO NOVA

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Hello to everyone. We came here on the break of July and August 2011 (please disregard the month I have used in profile) just to spent our holiday, in fact, just to have overnight somewhere. The main thing is sea, isn´t it. We did not mind used furniture etc.
The only we were really disappointed by, was waiting for the meal - breakfast and dinner. Their restaurant was, I would say pretty large, but people had to wait for maybe 20 minutes queueing themselves to get inside.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgrat de Mar, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This hotel is a desaster! Very unfriendly people working there, dirty and old rooms, bad food, it looked the same 20 years ago, Not a good place to stay at all!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I was very dissapointed about our stay here. Barcelona is very nice but the conditions from this hotel don't deserve any star at all.
In our walks in Malgrat de Mar we saw very beautiful hotels and people having fun so i'm sure you will find a better location.
- really bad food, i'm not picky but i could not eat anything even if we had breakfast and dinner included
- the hotel staff doesn't speak english so it's very hard to get some info
- the rooms are really poor, with no carpet and the bathroom old and not very clean
- the pool is ok but small for the hotel's volume. In the morning people leave their towels on the sun beds so you are lucky to find a place after 9.00.
- it's easy to get to the sea
- in the evening hotels in the area prepare concerts and special flamingo shows and it's not a problem to participate
- if you are interested to visit Barecelona more, Malgat de Mar is 1 hour away by train and it's not so confortable to travel like this 2 times/day
- Barcelona is very beautiful and has many places that you can visit

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cartago Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartago Nova

Address: Passeig Maritim 92 | Malgrat de Mar, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartago Nova 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Cartago Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartago Nova Hotel
Hotel Cartago Nova Malgrat De Mar, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cartago Nova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.