We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the hotel , but hated resort.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Club

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luna Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Luna Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Cristobal Colon 12, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Malgrat de Mar
east yorks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“loved the hotel , but hated resort.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

just returned from 4 night all inclusive stay in 4* part of hotel, loved the hotel, food was good (repetitive, but was ok for 4 nights ), service was good every one was helpful, rooms comfortable and very clean,pool area always clean and plenty of beds , also loved the indoor "spa " pool and jacuzzi, the wotsu class a definite highlight .We took the train to Barcelona and found it easy and cheap as mentioned by other reviewers. Now the downside the resort had a very run down feel, we walked the full length of malgret / santa susanna and could not find one place to have a nice drink/ authentic spanish meal, in fact the resorts didn't feel Spanish at all just burger/ pizza places with cheap plastic garden chairs .Will not be returning which is a shame as hotel was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    59
    24
    20
    14
See reviews for
38
66
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just back from a weeks All Inclusive stay at the Luna Club and have to say was extremely disappointed with the holiday. Booked the 4* A/I package with last minute.com, travel was with Monarch from Gatwick to Barcelona.
Flight to Barcelona was fine, from landing to hotel the transfer took over 3 hours, arrived at hotel at 10.20pm to be told there was no food available as "restaurant" was closed at 10pm, but we could always go down the road and find a bar !!! We were allocated what was probably the worst room in the 4* part of the hotel, on the 3rd floor, overlooking the bins and garden and right next to the road that ran past the hotel. Didn't ask for a change as we didn't intent spending much time in the room (bad decision as you can read later). Room safe was 10 euros deposit, and don't lose your receipt or you dont get it back ! Towels from reception for the pool were available but again 10 euros each deposit.

Breakfast next morning was in the "restaurant" in the 3* part of the hotel. As one would expect it was a buffet style, help yourself breakfast. Fresh fried eggs or pancakes or omlettes always available, as were cereals, yogurts, bacon, etc, etc. No service at all, you had to queue up and fetch your own tea or coffee or fruit juice. Found there was no sugar at all only sweetners, the tea and coffee from the machines were un drinkable.

Lunch was in the same room, this cannot be described as a "restaurant", it was no better than a roadside cafe, again queue up for a drink, help yourself to cutlery, and food and the food was not of a very good quality, any vegetables on offer were always the frozen over cooked variety usually with a non descript sauce over them. Found the meat to be tasteless too. What amazed me the most was that people were having to clear their own plates away! There was usually only two girls "clearing away", or mainly folding napkins for the evening, letting the customers do their work for them with the plates.

Evening meal was even worse, people started queing up for dinner at 7.30pm and the "restaurant" didn't open till 7.45pm. You had to wait and be seated, at least the tables had napkins and cutlery on them, however, the salt & pepper pots were having to be shared between tables!. Once allocated a table, it was the usual thing to queue up for a drink then join the queue for the buffet. There was never any butter in the evenings for the bread rolls either. Now I am not a fussy eater, the only thing I dont like is pasta, I found it really difficult to find food that I liked apart from the salads. The childrens corner was always either Hamburger and chips or hotdog and chips.

The pool area was fine, always sun beds available however towels were being put out from 7.30am for the best spots, there was a charge of 1 euro per mattress per day for the sunbeds if you chose to have one.
The bar was ok too, staff were friendly enough. Entertainment was not brilliant in the evenings, however the general age of the evening customers averaged about 70 I think, most of the youngsters were out partying.

Back to our room..... Over the road there was an apartment block, on the 4th floor out on the balcony was a large dog (rottweiller I think). he was out there every day, lunchtime and all evening, barking at everything and everyone who went past, needless to say this was very annoying when we were in our room trying to relax either at lunchtime or early evening before dinner.

Friday & Saturday evenings were an absolute nightmare. We were in bed about 11pm, and could quite clearly hear the music and screams from party goes in the nightclub at the bottom of the road. From Midnight till gone 6am on both nights there were streams of youngsters, fuelled by booze walking past our hotel and just under our room screaming, shouting and generally making as much noise as they possibly could. There were cars being driven at speed down the road with drivers doing handbrake turns and music blaring out of open windows.
Fortunately we came home on the Sunday as I could not have possibly stood another night like this.

Pick up was about 5 hours before our flight was actually due to leave, and I was glad to be going home.

My husband and I have had many A/I holidays in various parts of the world and this has to be among one of the worst we have encountered, both in terms of "service" or lack of it, and the noise. For youngsters it may be fine who want to party all night long, but for us, never again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms or rooms overlooking the garden in the 4* are extremely noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malgrat de Mar hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My partner and I and our 1 year old daughter stayed here last week. The hotel room was of a very high standard and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed all inclusive and although there was always something to eat there wasn't much variety. We would definitely stay again but maybe on a bed and breakfast basis instead. One thing that we didn't like was that we were charged 6 euros a night for a baby cot, which i thought would have been included in the price of the holiday. All in all we had a lovely time and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I recently returned from one week all inclusive in the 4* section of Luna Club. On arrival there was a swift check in with a very helpful receptionist. Our room overlooked the pool on the 2nd floor. Sadly the only negative comment is that the beds were twin...I had specifically asked for a double but the receptionist said there were only doubles on the first floor. A maid came immediately to the room and pushed the beds together but didnt make them up as a double. The room was extremely clean with air conditioning and our balcony overlooked the pool. The pool was clean but the sunbed issue is a problem, although there is a sign in reception saying you cannot claim sunbeds in the evening it was very difficult to get one. The food was well prepared and hot not quite enough choice of the meat dishes but I did find myself leaning towars the vegitarian section/kids section. Lots of good trips available to book we took a tour of Gaudi's architecture around Barcelona and also a medieval castle with dinner and a show which was good but very hot!. All in all we had a great holiday. There are some fantastic beach bars including MAUI and youre less than 5 minutes walk from lots of bars/shops/restaurants and the beach which is never crowded. The only let down was the evening entertainment music most nights and one flamenco night. Hardly enough seats to sit down as theyre usually all taken so we just went out straight after dinner.

Room Tip: Book the Luna Club much nicer (4*) section. Apparently 1st floor have double beds although im not su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We booked this hotel after such good reviews from guest.Never again the food was very poor not much choice but if you like fish you are sorted. We stayed in the 4star and read that there was hot snacks through out the day this wasnt the case at all. When booking this i never thought that we would be eating in the 3 star part of the hotel. We had to pay 50 euros to upgrade as our room was over looking the bins and it wasnt a plesant smell. The air condition didnt work for 3 days and in Aug belive me you need it. The room was clean there was soap and shower gel all in the bath. The lighting in the bathroom was so poor i have to shave my legs at the sink area. The staff at the bar were very rude and just left you standing there.The 4 star as a indoor pool that is just full of kids and no control when leaving the pool dripping wet through up the stairs so you can trip. If you want to eat at 7.30pm when the dinning area opened then you need to get down there at 7pm to join the que, or wait till 9pm then there isnt any fresh food left. We eat there the 1st night then after that we eat out.So the holiday in total cost us twice as much as we thought.The only part of the holiday i can say was the best is that we meet the only other british couple in the hotel and got on so well and spent our evenings with them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

nice hotel, friendly stuff.. weakness: no place in the pool. we had to wake up at 7 am to save a spot, as in the reception there is a sign says:"do not save a place in the pool with your towels"- but everyone does that- so you have to wake up and put a towel on your seat if you ever plan to have place in the pool ...
A/C is very low and almost not working...
anyways: we liked that hotel and the experience was excellent..

Room Tip: the upper floor (7) has private and large balcony where you can tan topless or naked without anyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I cannot believe what value for money we had in this hotel. The only downside is the long transfer time from Barcelona Airport. Pick up from the hotel is 5 hours before your flight as it takes 2 hours plus for the transfer. Book the Luna club as opposed to the Luna Park as much more up to date although all meals are in the Luna Park, the 2 hotels are connected by an undercover walkway with reception in the centre. It's the quickest check in I have ever had but it was so through everything was covered and no questions to ask. We spent most of our time by the Salt Water pool in Luna Club , there is a saltwater pool, a large freshwater pool and an indoor swimming pool. There is a bar in the Luna Club serving snacks and drinks all day. Gonzalez the barman was very nice and extremely helpful. The entertainment in the hotel was pretty good too. The hotel is a short walk from the main road running through Malgrat once at the main road if you turn right you are in Santa Susanna and if you turn left you're in Malgrat de Mar, lots of little shops and bars. The hotel was reasonably full in June but there were ample sun beds and no queues for drinks or in the restaurant although some of the foreign visitors were fighting for cakes and getting all their course in one go so as not to miss out on anything. We didn't feel the need to go to the beach as everything was there in the hotel. Sun Beds were free but if you wanted a mattress on it was 1 euro per mattress per day , well worth the money for comfort. Fresh meat was cooked in the restaurant while you waited although one of the men who was cooking the meat was very Anti English people and made his feelings known, I did put in a complaint when leaving the hotel this was the only thing that actually spoiled the holiday a little bit for me.

Room Tip: Go to Luna Club as opposed to Luna Park hotel, the walk between the 2 hotels is minimal and it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Luna Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Club

Address: Avda Cristobal Colon 12, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place to relax and soak up the sun. You can also swim in the blue waters of our pools, chat, sip one of our delicious natural fruit juices, sign up for daily classes of Tai chi or Yoga or simply let your thoughts drift away.The Lunas are a small complex with plenty of style, decorated by some of the Bondia Team: Elisabeth, Ana and Mireya. The hotel has all the facilities and comfort for the perfect holidays, a mix of relaxation, health and beach life. Situated close to the commercial centre and just around the corner from the extremely long and delightfully uncrowded beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Luna Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luna Club Malgrat De Mar, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.