We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel papi great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Papi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Papi to your Saves list
Hotel Papi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Barcelona/Paisos Catalans s/n | Maritim 30, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Elba Island, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“hotel papi great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

just got back from a family holiday here 12 of us very clean and friendly the staff are very helpfull our rooms were a mixture of newley refurbished and waiting to to be all very clean and comfortable .there was a good selection of food catering for every one all meals were buffet .the swimming pool is excellent for adults and children with plenty of sun beds and outdoor seating there is also a small jacuzzi iof you want a good nights sleep avoid room 338 and any on that side as they over look aa main street of bars and are very noisey until about 3 in the morning there was entertainment every night for kids and adults will be going to stay again

Room Tip: dont get rooms over the street of bars very noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    64
    31
    8
    13
See reviews for
72
33
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

loverly from first day till end all staff from cleaners to head waiter treat you like one of family
bar staff remember you from day one even drink you order and food is best in erea bar none.
you are all part ofbig family that changes daily

Room Tip: ask for roooms over pool area looking at rock mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Great food great staff from cleaners to chefs , best value on costa brava its a family run hotel and they make you feel part of that family from the moment you walk in there doors , the hotel is a stones throw from beautifull beaches and lively bars also 2 min walk from train station if you fancy a trip into barcelona .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just returned from a family holiday at Hotel Papi in Mal Grat,the Hotel is very clean and the pool side staff are very entertaining and helpful.The restaurant staff are a different bunch entirely and were not as welcoming or friendly,I understand they are extremely busy,but a smile costs nothing,even when all the holiday makers clean away all their plates etc the staff dont seem to acknowledge this help,they are just shutting off tables and getting them ready for the next sitting.Therefore we didnt use the restaurant in the evening,we like a lazy evening meal not a rushed crowded noisy free for all.The maids who clean the rooms are excellent at their work,we returned to fresh towels,and clean sheets everyday.The rooms are small but you dont go on holiday to spend hours in your room hey!
We left in the early hours of sunday morning and the nightclub (Opera underneath the Hotel) was in full swing LOUD AND FULL OF NOISY PEOPLE spilling out onto the streets,we witnessed several tired people coming into reception complaining about the noise!The reception guy was full of apologies and stated the night club only opened on a Saturday evening till 5am!This same guy offered us coffee and a plate of biscuits whilst we waited for our transfer coach,a welcome treat at 3 in the morning.
On the whole Hotel Papi is clean and friendly,just dont get a room over that nightclub,oh and the pool is lovely but freezing,it could have done with being a bit warmer even for my hardcore waterbabe!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool,so your not overlooking the street or nightclub,unless you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We chose the Papi after reading the reviews on trip advisor, the hotel is really clean the development which has taken place on the lower level of the hotel has modernised the whole feel. The restaurant was always clean with great staff always willing to help especially the make and female serving from the drink trolled, there was plenty of variety on the the buffet with different styles on offer every day. The pool area is brilliant but at the same time this is where my only complaint is as there were not enough sun beds on offer. Overall great hotel for the money you pay. I was part of a large party and everybody enjoyed, will Definately be going back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from a lovely week in Malgrat de Mar where we stayed in hotel Papi. We wanted a budget hotel, somewhere clean, close to the beach and value for money. Papi is all of those things.

The downstairs/lobby area is newly renovated and impressive you would think it was 4/5*, the pool area is nice and private in comparison to some of the other hotels where you could see the pool from the street. There are plenty of places to sit both inside and outside although it's easy to see in high summer how it might be difficult to get a sunbed.

Everyday around the pool there were various activities to take part in from games to aqua gym and all the staff all friendly and helpful and speak a variety of languages, mainly english. In the evening there was always some entertainment on and drinks were reasonably priced compared to other places in the area.

The rooms are 3* rooms small little dated but suit the purpose, the bathroom has a bath which is a nice touch and the rooms were cleaned including the beds being made and fresh towels everyday. Only compliant was that there seemed to be a lot of what looked like burn marks and little holes in the bedding.

The restaurant was less pleasant. We went half board and I would only recommend this or bed and breakfast. The hotel is mainly used by the Germans and Dutch who were ignorant and impatient when it came to food. We chose to eat breakfast and lunch there and then dinner out. The food was varied but more German than Spanish and the whole experience felt a bit like being back in a school dinner hall, noisy cramped and average food.

We went out into the local area most evenings and Malgrat is like any other seaside resort full of touristy gift shops and plenty of places to enjoy a nice meal in particular we loved one restaurant called 'bei pepi' think that's how you spell it!

Another place we fell in love with was the Robin hood an English pub right next to the hotel, never laughed so much at karaoke and bingo, the boys who run it have something special and If you go in once you will be back in every other night!

The beach was nice and long do could easily get a spot however it is stony and not sandy so make sure you have something on your feet otherwise it hurts to walk. The sea was warmer than the pool so that was nice! The advantage of the stones was that they didn't stick to you like Sand which can only be a good thing.

I would recommend both the hotel and area for a short budget break as it was enjoyable and a holiday to remember.

Hope you find this useful :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

If you have stayed in hotels on any of the Spanish Costas you will pretty much know what these kind of places offer. We found that Papi was better than most but also at a room rate that was very reasonable.

Food - Very good. We stayed full board as the hotel was offering a rate that was cheaper than others were charging for B&B but didn't get bored. Quality was good and we liked the theme nights which included an Indonesian night! The restaurant is a busy buffet so don't expect a romantic slow meal for 2. The tables are very close together, the drinks are on a drinks trolley, you are expected to clean your own plates and the staff have an annoying habit of setting up for the next meal - closing off tables to set places and bringing out the breakfast cereal while you're enjoying your dinner at 8pm. Breakfast can be a bit of a battle so it's elbows at the ready :-)

Hotel & pool - The downstairs of the hotel is very stylish and is a pleasure to walk in to. This stretches from reception through the very nice bar out to a great seating area by the pool. The pool itself has a great design with a kind of fake mountain at one side which has a jacuzzi on top. The pool and pool area are perhaps a little small for the number of guests though and can be busy. There were plenty of sun loungers but they were fairly packed into the space.

Bar - We enjoyed sitting out by the pool at night and the waiter service at your seat was excellent with friendly staff and quick service. Unfortunately a lot of the drinks were terrible and we had some disappointing cocktails and the weirdest Irish Coffee I've ever had (massive measure of hot whisky basically). They can't mess up a beer though(!) and also did great tea (try Relaxana).

The room - The rooms don't match the standard of the downstairs unfortunately. We went up in the lift and found that the stylish designs of the reception area had been replaced by old style bright pink corridors and we feared the worst. The room was basic but absolutely fine though especially given the amount we had paid. It was big enough, we didn't hear much from other rooms, the balcony was nice and the room was very clean.

Kids club - was a real disappointment unfortunately. I know these guys have a very repetitive job and it was towards the end of the season but they seemed to have gone beyond bored and the whole team seemed really depressed and also not to like kids very much! The exception was the mini theatre day they did which was brilliant. More of that and less moping around and reading magazines / looking on the internet when you have children in your club would be great.

Overall we had a fun holiday and despite a few flaws were mostly happy at the Papi.

Room Tip: Some rooms would probably be noisy - those above the nightclub and facing the row of bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papi

Address: Avda. Barcelona/Paisos Catalans s/n | Maritim 30, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Papi 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papi Hotel Malgrat De Mar
Hotel Papi Malgrat De Mar, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Papi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.