We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable beachfront hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Josein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Josein to your Saves list
Josein
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cl Manuel Noriega 27, 39520 Comillas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Comillas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Putnam Valley, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Affordable beachfront hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

The hotels in Santillana were booked so we tried nearby Comillas. From afar, we were skeptical about this hotel and as we saw it was on the main road, we didn't know what to expect. We entered our room to discover a magnificent view. The enclosed deck hung over the beach with 270 degree views. There was no A/C but the ocean breeze kept us comfortable. Everything was clean, albeit simple. The location is great for beach or boardwalk access. Breakfast consisted of lots of packaged foods, but there was yogurt and cereal too. We were glad to be able to take a beer to the room to enjoy as we relaxed on the deck. Overall, a nice surprise that I would recommend .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalkey Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The rooms overhang a beautiful sandy beach (with direct access via steps from the hotel). The fabulous sea views and the lapping of the waves beneath the window made me feel as if I were on board a luxurious ship. The room was spacious, light, airy, comfortable and impeccably clean. The bathroom was a good size, well-equipped and spotless. Hotel staff were all welcoming, friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was fairly basic but good quality; I had a couple of meals in the restaurant and they were excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms, as far as I could tell, overlook the beach, so are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited here fresh off the beach and while not the cheapest places to eat by the beach, it's quality was excellent! Daily menus changed and were substantial and great quality food - our children especially enjoyed the albondigas! The homemade croquettes were superb and the near mooing steak my husband had one day melted in the mouth. Great food, lovely service and excellent clean facilities (not a norm just off any beach). Finished by a drink on the house! Well worth a visit for a lovely relaxing lunch!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel was our first stop on a two centre holiday booked through Brittany Ferries. About 45mins from Santander in a medium sized fishing (active) and tourist resort. The hotel is located on rocks overlooking the beach just a short walk to the town and port. To reiterate previous reviews don't be put off by the first impression as you park at the back of the hotel, it's clean and comfortable inside with good sized clean rooms. The big plus is the view from the hotel overlooking the bay, harbour and the feeling of being on the beach.
Food in the restaraunt was good, with friendy service but we found better value in the town.
The weather was miserable during our stay so plenty of time to visit the many caves, Gaudi mansion, palace. A real treat was a 2.5 hour guided walking tour of the caves and galleries in the mine at El Soplao.
Overall impression is that we would be more than happy to return to return to Comillas and Hotel Josein in particular. Just wish we had some more Spanish sun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south devon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our first stop on a tour arranged through Brittany ferries. The receptionist was very pleasant, and gave us a map of the town which was very helpful. He also carried my case to the room which had a lovely view over the beach. We wandered into the town and even had time to visit the Gaudi mansion before dinner in the square.
We enjoyed the local cheese, rather than the usual pre-packed sliced which was served at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Such an interesting and pretty town. The hotel is clean, staff are friendly and the ambiance is so relaxing with beautiful views of the beach and the sea. Comillas has much history and a wonderful Gaudi mansion which is well worth a visit. The food at the hotel is good and wholesome.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views and look back to the fishing port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had to find a hotel not far from Santander. We were on the evening ferry from Portsmouth and where keen not to stay in Santander but did not want to ride for hours through the night either, so we settled on the town of Comillas then set about looking for a hotel.

A bit of research later and we settled on this hotel. We were not expecting to much for our money since most beachside stuff can get away with being a bit dodgy since they consider you are paying for the beach view and access

We arrived and were checked in very swiftly, they knew we were on motorbikes so gave us a room that was nearby and reserved a spot with a metal hoop into the ground that we could cable the bikes to. Its not a high crime area so we weren't that phased but it was lovely they had considered this for us.

We had dinner and brekkie there, most probably not the greatest range of food and the town is nearby for the fussier foodie amongst you. We spent a relaxing evening listening to the waves, then a beautiful morning walking along the beach.

We didn't have time to explore the town, but what we saw made us regret not scheduling more time. Well we will just have to go back and explore one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Josein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Josein

Address: Cl Manuel Noriega 27, 39520 Comillas, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Comillas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Comillas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Josein 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Josein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Josein Hotel Comillas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Josein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.