We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look beyond the room, great views and very kind staff-you'll want to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Josein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Josein to your Saves list
Josein
Cl Manuel Noriega 27, 39520 Comillas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Comillas
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Look beyond the room, great views and very kind staff-you'll want to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We loved this place. You can't dwell on the room, though. It is spotless, just a bit old looking. Bathroom is excellent and sound of waves and terrace can't be beat. The man at the desk made an exceptional effort to give us an itinerary to Covadonga for which we are completely appreciative.
Only complaint-the maid threw out our ice and cheese which we had in a bucket/trash can moved onto the terrace with a towel over the top. Now if one is covering ice with a towel, in my book that means they want to keep it cold and for a while. We were able to get the cheese back and no harm done. Clearly we fools didn't realize Spaniards don't even refrigerate Cabrales cheese, so joke was on us to try to purchase ice to keep cold. Which we will always laugh about and don't fault the maid at all! She was very sweet and ran a tight ship.
Hotel well worth what they charge to stay. Also recommend the Aldea restaurant in town and one out on the point to the west-starts with an L.

Room Tip: Try for one with a terraza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    29
    8
    0
    4
See reviews for
20
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I was a little reluctant because the street side of this hotel doesn't look like much, but it ended up being my favorite hotel of our trip! The price was very reasonable and our room overlooked the ocean. We watched the sunrise from bed! What a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

A family owned hotel, it has the best location and the best restaurant in Comillas. Service if friendly and very good. Quality of food unbeatable!! Views from the rooms are incredible, it is as you were swimming...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Approaching on the narrow, curvy road into the village of Comillas, one easily could dismiss the Hotel Josein as a concrete bunker. You don’t realize that the hotel is hanging over the lovely beach until you look through the small lobby, which has windows opening to a splendid view of the rugged Cantabrian coast. Contemplate the privileged location overlooking the beach and wonder about how the building appears to hang from the cliff that protects the sand below.

The Josein is a two star hotel, as it does not offer many amenities of higher rated lodgings. There is no doorman, the receptionist doubles as bartender in the attached restaurant, and the rooms are basic: twin beds, minimal furnishings and decorations, no in-room safe, basic bathroom, and towels. Nonetheless, it is a lovely place to stay. The hotel does offer complementary wi-fi, with decent network speed. The rooms and common areas are absolutely clean, and you’ll sleep to the sound of the surf crashing against the beach. When the skies clear (not an every day ocurrance on Spain’s northern coast), you’ll walk right down the hotel steps to the sand.

We found the staff members to be courteous and generally efficient. Our check in and check out were accomplished quickly, and the breakfast servers managed a smile to wish us good morning. We also enjoyed a nice lunch at the restaurant, which was a good value in spite of being slightly more expensive that other places in the village. The homemade desserts may be worth the expense. The clear advantage here is the location and the view. The center of Comillas, with numerous cafés, bars, and restaurants, is a ten-minute walk over the hill, on a pedestrian path that will be clear of traffic once you cross the road. You’ll enjoy wonderful views of the coast both coming and going.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night as we were driving along the Northern coast of Spain from West to East. This is an older hotel but its location is unbeatable. Its right on the waters edge at the end of a long golden sandy beach. The views are outstanding. Our room was on the sea side and had views to die for, a conservatory that was completley glass and you can see the waves on the rocks below you. The linens and towels were immaculate, clean great hotel alebit older style. Still had modern TV etc. Great breakfast inclued in the price and again the best view over the sea from the restaurant. Easy parking. Enjoy a glass of wine as you watch the sunset, peaceful, relaxed....perfect spot for a night. The village \ town is about 5mins by car and has a village square, restaurants etc. Very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the sea side. Make sure you have breakfast, its lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Very affordable. Clean. Friendly. Nice management. The rooms on the beach offer gorgeous views, Good parking. The Comillas attractions (aside from the beach) are a drive but being so close to the sea is worth it.

Room Tip: spring for the seaside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, Devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This is an unprepossessing hotel in a very good location. The room has a great view over the beach but the decor is dated and it had no coffee making facilities. The staff are courteous but the breakfast was very disappointing with limited choice and you are given a cup of coffee rather than a pot. At around €100 per room per night it was not good value €80 would be more appropriate.
Comillas itself is a lovely location, beautiful bay and delightful town. We will return to Comillas but not to Josein.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Josein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Josein

Address: Cl Manuel Noriega 27, 39520 Comillas, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Comillas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Comillas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Josein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Josein Hotel Comillas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Josein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.