We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pilgrims delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comillas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comillas Hotel to your Saves list
Comillas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Solatorre 1, 39520 Comillas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Comillas
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Pilgrims delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel is located on the Northern Camino Walk the west side of town, an excellent location to tour the city from and also prepare for the next days walk. Clean, staff is excellent, the price is more than appropriate. I would highly recommend this hotel for play or business.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

my wife and I have a pleasant stay at this hotel it looks expensive an impressive as approach .
the rooms were clean tidy and plenty of room for a over night stay.found the down stays dinning room some what lacking in character . but a short walk down into the town many restaurants to choose from.....

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is really well located on the beach at Comillas.
Our room was in the basement of the hotel, at the end of a very dark hallway. While there was beautiful views of the sea there was no getting away from the damp smell in the room. The arm-chairs in the room were stained, and the wifi only worked in the hallway and not in the room itself. We knew there was no point in complaining as we had booked the last available room online.
Breakfast was good, as was lunch in the hotel.The restaurant appeared popular with tourists and locals alike which I consider a good sign.
In my opinion this hotel is over-priced relative to the quality of accommodation. Would sacrifice location in favour of a nicer hotel next time.

Room Tip: Avoid lower basement/end of hallway bedrooms if you still plan on staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

From the weather to the smell of spaghetti with spanish flavours bursting out of it, everything was amazing. Hotel Comillas was divine everything was clean and well organised! The staff were very friendly and easy to communitcate with! The atmosphere was great and very enjoyable! I dont normally enjoy sleeping on any other matress but mine , but i had no problems what so ever the room space was perfect and so was the bathroom ! I always ate my breakfast from the hotel and evern the food was spectacular and well presented ! the hotel was placed in the perfect destination as it was walking distance to the local town. I would walk everyday through them beige gulleys and see in the distance colourful senoritas dancing and entertianing the public ! You had everything you wanted close by there were fruit shops , clothing stores , food stores and many more others... The beach was also close by to which was really ideal as you wouldnt want to travel to far ... the beach was clean and friendly it was amazing to take a was in the evenings before the sun went down ... I also visited the mueseum that had an amazing art gallery there ! all in all my experience was wonderful and i would insist anybody should vist there especially if your a big fan of spain and its culture .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for Easter and we had an amazing time over there, the staff was really nice and helpful. The hotel has an classic and elegant style full of cute and classy details which make the difference with other hotels we've been in the past in this area. The location was perfect just in front of an old university and the beautiful Marquis palace.for sure we will come back

Room Tip: Our double room was a beautiful detailed and quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We happened to drive into town when there was a festival going on and all, I mean all, the rooms were booked up. We walked in here and got their last room, which reception described as "tiny" and it was. I suspect it was in fact a sigle room, but we stayed two people in it. We had a bit of difficulty putting our bags anywhere they would not be in the way (did not work). However, it was nice to have a room at last and we did not worry. Oddly, the bathroom was almost as large as the room itself and beautifully decorated, seemed new. Breakfast was included as I recall and quite ok, they made eggs for you hot from the kitchen. Too bad the breakfast room was in the basement, very boring area. There was a restaurant open if you pre-booked, but we did not use it so don't know if this area was nicer. Seemed they could have done more with the facilities as the ground were indeed very nice. It was also free to leave your car in the parking lot, much needed as the town was flooded with festival goers
Comillas actually has lots of sights and is an interesting little town, we much enjoyed it and the sourroundings as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I agree with the previous reviewer, the impressive front of the hotel belies the fact that the rooms are out the back, dark and have views of the adjacent hedge! Hardly four-star.
However, the rooms are nicely done in an old-fashioned sort of way.
There was a bit of noise in the morning from the corridor and adjacent rooms, but not too bad, and the hotel is an easy and pleasant walk to the old town.
Easy parking is a big plus point, and the breakfast was pretty good too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comillas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comillas Hotel

Address: Paseo de Solatorre 1, 39520 Comillas, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Comillas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Comillas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Comillas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comillas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comillas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.