We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not terrible, but not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Port Mahon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Port Mahon to your Saves list
Hotel Port Mahon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Port de Mao, s/n, 07701 Mahon, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mahon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NYC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not terrible, but not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Granted my friend and I were traveling at the height of the summer in Menorca, but I would not recommend spending more than 100-110 Euros a night for Hotel Port Mahon. The staff was not helpful AT ALL. We had not previously booked any day activities and asked for help finding a boat to go on for the day and the hotel was completely unhelpful. We ended up calling a bunch of places on our own and when one called back the receptionist barely took a message. He told us one place had called back but didn't know where!! The rug in the room was rather dirty, the beds/bedding were subpar for what's supposed to be a nice hotel. Also, some how the computer with free internet seemed to be "out of service" after the first day of our stay, but conveniently the computer that charged 1 euro for 10 minutes was working the entire time. The breakfast was the only thing that was great about this place. If you go to Menorca definitely rent a car and pre-plan any day activities. It is a beautiful island and worth seeing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    123
    37
    11
    1
See reviews for
34
204
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Situated in a quiet, pretty locality close to the harbour, restaurants and bars. Only 15 mins from the airport (13 Euro by taxi) - yet no aircraft noise at all, as it’s not on the flight path. We had a half board deal and found the buffet dinner varied, well presented and on most nights would score 7 to 8 out of 10 - would recommend dining early as this is when everything is at it's freshest - the house red wine excellent! The staff are attentive and friendly with attention to cleanliness.
The rooms are clean and comfortable (we had a basic room without balcony but nice views towards the port between the pretty neighbourhood residences).
We would probably normally give this hotel 4* but the service of the Director (Paula) and her staff was exemplary in the time of crisis when their air-conditioning failed in the whole of the hotel for a couple of days. After the first night we voiced or discontent to reception and were told the manager would be in the next day. When we came down to see her she had already been informed that we had complained. Her whole response was fist class - she was honest and tried to do everything possible to make us comfortable including the option to move to a group neighbouring hotel in Es Castell - 2 km away (Hotel Agamenon). We took this option and again the service and hotel was as good if not better then the Port Mahon.
To make your holiday enjoyable in either of these location, we would recommend a car for say 3 to 4 days of a one weeks stay. Auto Valls near the port on the harbour front had the best deals when we were there in the first week of July.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Nice, quiet hotel. All internal areas a little dated and tired. Air conditioning in the room not very effective but just about ok. Guests tended to be on the mature side. Beautiful views out over the harbour. Food was of good variety and qaulity. Sunbeds readily available with towels for a 15 euro deposit. Resort very small and very quiet - two bars and a handful of restaurants. Not at all lively.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyrone
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Hotel Port Mahon has everything you could possible need in a relaxing holiday: location about 5 minutes from the airport, by taxi 12-15 Euros. Have breakfast/dinner on the terrace and gaze out at the beautiful harbour; watch the big cruise liners come into the harbour; watch the sun setting on a balmy day in June! So relaxing and peaceful: just the bird-song! Walk down the steps to the beautiful harbour and enjoy the many cafes, restaurants and shops there; take the No 15 or No 11 bus into town for 1.20 Euro and walk back along the harbour wall. Hotel has everything you could possible need: friendly, helpful staff; clean rooms; beautiful pool and sunbed area for relaxing in the sun; towels provided by hotel; and last, but not least; excellent food.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Nice price/value balance. Got upgraded to Suite with wonderful view to the port. Clean, nice and very helpful staff. Sufficient buffet breakfast (... good quality meals. Superb steak for dinner!!). Well located in the city and 10 minutes drive from airport. Maybe had the advantage of travelling off season.... We will come back.
Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

It is indeed hard to define the Port Mahon and after a week there I can appreciate all the comments both positive and negative that are on these reviews. I found the staff friendly and would particularly mention Sabina in the restaurant and Martin the bar. However here is a good example of query 4*. Should a 4* hotel have one bar man no matter how good covering two bar on different floors. I think not. The hotel is clean the room was adequate but not luxurious and the food another dilemma. Is buffet ever the catering format for a 4* hotel. I think not. The food was generally good, particularly the breakfaasts and on one night a delicious very popular choice of Sole., In late September the hotel and for that matter the town lacks atmosphere. Perhaps springtime with the lovely coastal walks and the historic monuments which are everywhere on the island would be better.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

If you want a quiet holiday in late September then you wont go wrong if you choose the Hotel Port Mahon in Mahon Minorca. The weather will still be warm - and sunny (most of the time), the cafes and restaurants will stiil be open, the tourist boats will still be running and the Church of St. Maria will still be holding its weekly organ concerts at 11.30 each morning, where , amidst the splendour of this Catalan Gothic 18th century building you can listen to (some !) of the 3210 pipes, created in 1809 by a Swiss genius and brought to the island safely thanks to a British Admiral.

My wife and I returned yesterday (29 Sept) with definiate thoughts of another visit, though it must be said that you can see the whole island's most interesting aspects in one day if you take advantage of the coach tour offered (£38) - a prehistoric site not quite up there with Stonehenge but mysterious, stare over the whole island from the top of Mt Torro (358m/ 1170 ft (roughly equal to the highest point in the Cotswolds) after viewing the monastery, take in a farm where you can watch them make the cheese with British cows, have lunch in the tiny seaside port of Fornells (maybe rubbing shoulders with King Carlos himself as he tucks into his lobster soup), and finally explore the narrow streets of the islands other capital Ciutadella.

Yes there are other things to see but we never strayed too far from the hotel finding much to see in Mao (Mahon) itself once you have mastered the correct roads into town, as the hotel is at the far end of the main port. If you are energetic you can try the 104 steps down to the harbour right outside the hotel and turn left and come back by road - but you will still have to climb up to the centre - gently. Avoid the bars by the water until you come to a floating restaurant where for 3 Euros more (18) than the others you will get a decent set meal with wine and coffee, whereas the others will charge you on top of your 15 Euros.

Later you can seek out the twice weekly market in Market Square and enjoy all the varied stalls run by several nationalities. Have a coffee at the small Market square cafe nearest the bus station close by: not at the flashier places on the other side of the square. There is another daily covered in market in the town centre : the goods on display will surprise you by their quality, whilst down below is a large supermarket where housewives do not need trolleys: they have baskets on wheels which they trail around like luggage !

Finally the hotel. Its very good but doesnt quite earn five stars mainly because we thought the food wasnt quite of the best. Now thats not to say there wasnt much variety. there certainly was at breakfast and at dinner. But both were buffet style and you are never going to get the best quality that way. Nevertheless we ate well every day, enjoyed the wine and the free breakfast cava, and had the advantage that the week we were there the evening meal, normally 15 Euros, was FREE !! So we saved around £200. I took many photos of the offerings so if anyone is interested please get in touch. We paid extra for our room on the corner front with a balcony that overlooked the harbour, a constant source of interest especially when large liners (up to 55,000 tons) appeared. The room was comfortable - if you like firm mattresses - kept spotlessly clean,and had a sitting area as well as a well designed bathroom, with shower over the bath. For British TV buffs we found BBC Wales (!!!!), BBC London, ITV, Channel 4 and Channel 5. You could also watch CNN and Sky, though the latter will apperently be re routed in October so might not be available. Eurosport showed British rugby - in Italian !! The staff were friendly, some spoke good English, and the table service was top class.

And finally : holiday 'look alikes'. Come on, we all do it. The Hotel has the best. The England soccer manager played the electric violin one night whilst Liverpool fans will flock there if I say that the Head Waiter looked just like Rafael Benitez and had the appropriate Christian name - JESUS..........

Go there at this time of the year and RELAX by the pool, enjoy the lunch snacks and the lager beer and forget about the credit crunch.............

Tony and Hilary Ireland
AstroTravel
Cheltenham
England

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Port Mahon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Port Mahon

Address: Av. Port de Mao, s/n, 07701 Mahon, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Mahon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mahon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Port Mahon 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Port Mahon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Mahon Mahón

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Port Mahon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.