We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Port Mahon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Port Mahon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Port Mahon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Port de Mao, s/n, 07701 Mahon, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Mahon
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I originally looked at this hotel, and read some of the reviews.On holiday in Menorca went along to look at this hotel and decided to book and went for two weeks. The hotel and staff were very pleasant and nothing was a bother to the staff. The room was kept clean to a high standard with a side view of the port, balcony. Went half board, food was very good including breakfast a wide choice, and also a good choice for evening meal both buffet service. Martin's bar service was excellent a credit to this hotel worth his weight in gold, this is the same for all the staff. Also the lunch service and food was good choice.

The hotel pool was a good size did not have any problem obtaining sun loungers, no need to bring towels as for a small charge the hotel can provide them. Although the pool furniture could have been cleaner, and also the furniture were lunch is served.

I will be returning to the Port Mahon Hotel this coming year. My holiday was taken in June this year and September 2013

Room Tip: Booked a sea view room, pay extra well worth if
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    103
    28
    9
    1
See reviews for
27
167
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

During the October half term school break, we visited Minorca. The hotel was only about 15 minutes by taxi transfer. There was a lovely, warm welcome awaiting us. As the resort was very quiet (apparently nearly all shut the weekend we arrived for the winter), we were upgraded to a suite. It was on the ground floor & had it's own balcony with a beautiful view.
The breakfast was a buffet service & there was everything hot or cold you could wish for.
The evening meal in the hotel was £17.50, but if you bought 3 nights in advance they reduced it to £15.50. It was an extensive buffet service, until the 1st of November which is a bank holiday. From then on it was a set dinner menu & some of the choices left a lot to be desired.
The restaurants that were open within a 5 minute radius were first class & we couldn't fault any.
Just wish we hadn't had the lightning & cooler weather.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed here in October with my partner and our best friend. We were celebrating my 65th Birthday so to ensure we had good rooms I paid the €420 supplement for two rooms overlooking the harbour. I thought it was a tad overpriced considering one doesn't spend one's entire holiday on the balcony gazing out to sea but it was much nicer than the rooms we often get at some places where you look out over the bins in the back yard.
Reception was excellent and most helpful. We had booked Bed and Breakfast but after eating dinner the first night we decided to have another three nights food which comes at a small discount. The rooms were quite small but very clean and comfortable. Having read some of the reviews before going I was rather apprehensive but judging by the rooms we had I should say they had recently been refurbished because there was nothing tired or worn about them at all.

I suspect maybe the food will have more variety and choice during the busier season but it was still perfectly acceptable mid-October.

The weather was wonderfully warm for our stay and we enjoyed the entertainment at the front of the hotel and the bar which served drinks onto the patio area where there were comfortable loungers and tables where one could have breakfast or dinner.

The swimming pool was very clean and well maintained as were the gardens. It was the first time any of us had been to Minorca and most certainly won't be the last.

I unreservedly recommend this hotel to anyone although for families with young children or teenagers Mahon doesn't have a beach. Minorca is a little quiet and doesn't have a lot of attractions beyond the lovely beaches which are only a short drive away. It's possible to get around the island easily by bus too but the service is very limited in October so we hired a car for just 4 days which was enough to enable us to see everything we planned.

Mahon is quite hilly with some steep roads to the town centre. There is a recently installed free passenger lift which operates 24 hours a day which takes you down to the harbour side. It's less than 5 minutes walk to the left of the elaborate stairway down which is situated right outside the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you really must wake up looking out to the harbour which is admittedly quite picturesque then you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful holiday at the Port Mahon Hotel in Menorca, excellent food, friendly & attentive staff. Perfect base for exploring the island. Hotel is a comfortable period building in a great position looking out over the grand harbour offering great views of the ships & boats entering or leaving the harbour.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The people in this hotel make it what it is. This is a superbly friendly and charming hotel.
The staff are just so good that it 's hard not to over-enthuse.
The hotel, itself, is rather quaint but photogenic. The view from the 2nd floor balcony was stunningly beautiful.
Just a short walk and an elevator ride away is the harbour sea-front with lots of good restaurants and pleasant strolls.
Lots of people we met in the hotel are regular guests - we can understand why.

Room Tip: The sea views from the 2nd floor balconies are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Super location overlooking the harbour, friendly helpful staff, hotel very clean, bedrooms, inside public areas and outside (top marks to cleaning staff). Decor good, food fabulous, well cooked and wide selection of different choices daily. Very good music entertainment two nights a week. Would recommend this hotel. If the steps down to the harbour present a problem there is a lift 2 minutes from the hotel that can be used. It was worth paying a supplement for a harbour view with balcony. It was fantastic laying in bed watching the cruise ships sail in on a morning and the sun rising over the headland. Previous comments re walking groups seem a little over the top. We were with one of two walking groups in the hotel and we never had time to use the pool!

Room Tip: Top floor, harbour view with balcony. Worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alloa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel was idea for our holiday. A relaxed atmosphere but very professional. The food was varied and interesting (not typical for vegetarians) so I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were superb and looked after us well. Would definitely consider going back to Menorca and this hotel in particular.

Room Tip: Side room also had view of port. We could watch the cruise liners come and go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Port Mahon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Port Mahon

Address: Av. Port de Mao, s/n, 07701 Mahon, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Mahon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Mahon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Port Mahon 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Port Mahon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Mahon Mahón

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Port Mahon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.