We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice time was had by all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Port Mahon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Port Mahon to your Saves list
Hotel Port Mahon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Port de Mao, s/n, 07701 Mahon, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mahon
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A nice time was had by all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is a little gem - It is a small hotel in a quiet part of town well within walking distance of the shopping area. The staff were always helpful, a credit to the hotel. The views over the harbour were every thing you would expect.

My only criticism is the COSMOS REP, we never saw him he never even contacted us, speaking to other travel company representatives they did not seem surprised.

Room Tip: Get a sea view, you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    117
    32
    10
    1
See reviews for
31
197
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful week at the hotel and based on previous reviews had booked a room with a harbour view and balcony. We were not disappointed and spent a couple of hours each afternoon watching the boats in the harbour and all the activity. Very relaxed hotel with polite and helpful staff although we were surprised by the number of staff who struggled with English which meant ordering was at times challenging.
As mentioned in previous reviews there is now a lift 100 yards from the Hotel which avoids the 110 stairs down to the Harbour. We were told about this on our 4th day of using the stairs. We missed tea/coffee facilities in the room but read on previous review that you can order this as an addition. We were told that in August 80% of guests will be Spanish so probably this endorses the quality and service provided.
Overall we could not fault the Hotel and if returning to Mahon would stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 112 is a corner harbour facing room which gives panoramic view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Some of the reviews expressed some reservations but we found this hotel to be outstanding. We had booked late with a good deal from Thomas Cook and a balcony wasn't available but we found the room was very good anyway. A balcony would be worth the extra charge but the basic rooms are still of a high standard. Staff were cheerful and very hard working. Every part of the hotel, including its excellent swimming pool, was cleaned very frequently. Service at meals was attentive, quick and efficient. If you take the Don Joan boat trip you'll hear the hotel picked out in the commentary - it's an attractive building in a good location. It's a bit of a walk (it was a hot week) into the old town but a short trip in the lift nearby to the port area, where most of the local restaurants are located. Plenty of fancy boats to look at. This is a quiet hotel in a peaceful area - the road which runs past it is hardly noticeable and provides good parking if you have hired a car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our first visit to the Port Mahon Hotel - I consider this hotel to be one of the best we have stayed in abroad. The hotel was exceptionally clean and the majority of the staff were very friendly and willing to help. Martin the barman did a fantastic job and he is a genuine and lovely guy with a great sense of humour! The view from the hotel is breathtaking - you have the perfect picturesque view of the harbour - there are over 100 steps down to the harbour but there is now (new in June 2013) a lift to come back up!! Fantastic for those who cannot walk too well. We did not have a balcony room (really don't think it is a must as the hotel is set quite high up anyway and you can see all the view from the bar/restaurant/pool area of the hotel itself. The food was of very good quality (a little repetitive) but still nice the majority of the time. On the downside I would just like to say that maybe a little more attention is paid to the glasses in the restaurant area - we noticed most of the time that they had a stale smell to them which was really off putting at times - also need to watch the flies landing on the cakes when the temperature is at its highest (again, can be very off putting). Would definitely go back again but probably request a bigger room - we had one room for two adults and one child and there was not much room to move around each other. We looked at other rooms that became empty and the suites are fantastic, well worth paying the extra for I think. The hotel is situated in a quiet residential part of Mahon but you only have to wonder down to the harbour for bars and restaurants. Hotel itself fairly peaceful - only saw one couple with a little one during our 10 day visit. Can't wait to revisit again in the future.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms at the front of hotel do not get alot of sun and are not worth paying the extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Having read other reviews we were pleased with the hotel, it was clean and smart, the food was good both breakfast and evening meal, we only had 2 negatives with the hotel, 1 the service in the resturant was slow when ordering drinks and we found it easier to both order the same drink to save one of us having to wait or remind staff that we had drinks missing, and 2 the view from 103 left alot to be desired, it was at the back of the hotel and overlooked a tank painted a lovely shade of brown !! so it was abit disappointing. Martin who worked on the bar was friendly and would greet you with a smile and be willing to ask about your day, we looked forward to seeing him on an evening.
The pool was peaceful and clean, however sun beds where not in abundance at the weekends as most residents stayed by the pool, during the week we had no problems.
All the staff were pleasant and the cleaning staff did a fantastic job of keeping the rooms and hallways spotlessly clean they always greeted you with a smile and a good morning, our room was decorated in a contemporary style and for around 15e for the week we had tea facilites added to our room, all said and done we had a great, relaxing time and would return again.

Room Tip: When booking a room if you want a view don`t have rooms 101,102,103 or 104 as your view won`t be mem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our 11th visit to this excellent hotel.

Excellent staff especially the always smiling Richard in reception and Johanna in the restaurant. Martin the bar Manager is always so welcoming as is Sylvia in reception and in general all staff give excellent customer service.
The rooms are very clean and well furnished and the location is superb for dining out and enjoying the lovely harbour boutiques.

This hotel is not noisy and offers excellent value for money. On two occasions I have left items in the room and these have been posted to me promptly.

We really enjoyed the food and social atmosphere at lunchtimes and a superb clientele all round.

Room Tip: All are peaceful with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Having read the reviews previously, we decided to book this hotel on those good recommendations. What a disappointment! The view from the hotel is undoubtedly lovely, however, we have just returned and were very disappointed with the poor service in the restaurant, bearing in mind 4* status, together with the chipped/dirty dinner plates, cutlery, etc.
It can't go without mention of an obvious problem with cockroaches, of which we saw 4 on 4 separate occasions!
The staff could only be classified as 'friendly', 'efficient', etc., if you had visited this hotel previously.
This was not a 'cheap' hotel and having stayed in many 4* hotels previously, both in Europe and the UK, this particular hotel, in our opinion, doesn't match up at all, hence, we won't be visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Port Mahon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Port Mahon

Address: Av. Port de Mao, s/n, 07701 Mahon, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Mahon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mahon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Port Mahon 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Port Mahon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Mahon Mahón

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Port Mahon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.