We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rural S'Olivaret

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rural S'Olivaret to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rural S'Olivaret
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Alaro-Orient, km 3, 07340 Alaro, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Alaro
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Superb hotel in the middle of the Mallorcan mountains. The surroundings are stunning and the view from the swimming pool and the terrace of the restaurant terrific. The hotel itself is beautiful, full of charm and cosy. The rooms, although a bit old-fashion are very comfortable. The restaurant offers excellent food (special mention for the breakfast!!!) for a very reasonable price. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Søllerød, Kobenhavn, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for an extended weekend and truly enjoyed the location. The staff was very helpful and service minded and the hotel is wonderful combined with an excellent restaurant. However, only few rooms have balcony, but in the summer heat, the thick walls are probably preferred. The hotel is situated 2 km from the Alaro village, thus a car is recommended. The terrasse outside where food can be served as a fantastic view towards mountain and the island, while being surrounded by roses.
Only MINUS is the lack of consistent wireless internet and Mobil coverage. Telco coverage is obviously difficult to change, but wireless internet is nowadays a MUST when checking restaurants , surroundings, news etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony/terrasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights here at the beginning of May and realised just how lucky we were to have this hotel as part of our holiday.
The food was excellent the staff friendly and very attentive to our needs. In fact as I have said it was a gem. The location was very special and away from the crowds which was for us just what we wanted as we were taking part in a walking holiday anyway..
Towels provided for use when swimming in both indoor and outdoor pools, sauna available. Bathrobes provided for use in the rooms
Listening to the nightingales singing and the cuckoo as we swam in the infinity pool was truly magical. True you would need a car if you wanted to travel around but the hotel itself has some wonderful grounds and just at the bottom of the garden you can find several very pleasant walks. All in all a place that we would like to think we could go back to one day.

Room Tip: We had room 22 on the second floor overlooking the entrance. The rooms are large some have terraces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Fantastic,- lovely room with good bathroom, excellent restaurant, Beautiful location. You need a car as its about 4km from the village, out in the country. A good base for getting aound. Nice pool with enough loungers and pool towels provided.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loopylune
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had three three nights and four days here, could have stayed a lifetime.
The food was beautifully prepared, presented and cooked,gourmet food at a reasonable price.
The breakfast was so extensive we were spoilt for choice.
Our room (13) not unlucky for us featured a bed that we almost needed a step ladder to climb up to the mattress.
An evening aperitif on the terrace prior to our meal was served by attentive staff, who could not do enough for us.
This quiet peaceful beautiful location midway twixt two mountains suited us perfectly for a chill out location magnificent!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We've just come back from a wonderful week at the S'Olivaret. The location is beautiful, the hotel is comfortable, full of charm and the food is first class but what makes the S'Olivaret truly special is the service provided by all the staff. I have not rated the spa and fitness trail as the weather was hot and I did not use them. It is difficult to rate the location as everyone has different requirements. The setting is beautiful and easily reached from the airport but a car is essential.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel 2 days prior to arriving as the place we were staying previously wasn't particularly restful. We arrived early on in the morning and they had a room available immediately. The room was fine, albeit a bit dark. I had seen reviews saying ask for a room at the front with a view, we eventually heeded these comments and asked if they had a spare room at the front. They didn't but the rejigged things to accommodate our request. The room we ended up with was a huge improvement, massive room, double shower, gigantic bed, lovely antiques and a wonderful view.

The hotel is coated in art and antiques. It feels so homely, I wish my home felt the same. The outer areas are stunning, the mountains stare down dominantly. The views are incredible. The infinity pool looks out over the forest and mountain, you could be in Yosemite or British Columbia (not been to either!!!). Basically it is gorgeous. It would be bliss but for the annoying French and German children that have been let loose.

As for the service, the restaurant staff were amazing. Really knowledgeable and helpful. The food was excellent, albeit a bit left field at times. The set menu is unfathomably large, I am a big eater and I struggled. I am by no means attacking the kitchen, but the courses are too big, I had to cancel my main course as i was too full, not like me. The food was excellent value and I loved the wine. Te waiter picked the wine both times and it was excellent.

A few suggestions for the hotel, 1) on arrival it would have been nice to have a tour or at least a run down of the facilities and where things are. It only takes 5 mins to show someone around. 2) before dinner it is nice to have a drink. Problem is there is no one manning the bar. You have to ask the receptionist to make it or grab someone from the restaurant - not ideal. I saw a few people sit down for a drink and walk off due to no one serving.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rural S'Olivaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural S'Olivaret

Address: Carretera Alaro-Orient, km 3, 07340 Alaro, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Alaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rural S'Olivaret 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Escapio, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Rural S'Olivaret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rural Stil s Olivaret
Hotel Rural S'Olivaret Alaro, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rural S'Olivaret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.