We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An early season stay at the Tropic Garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Garden Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Tropic Garden Aparthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropic Garden Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Pare Vicent Costa 10 | Urbanització Ca's Capità, 07840 Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Derbyshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An early season stay at the Tropic Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We went to stay at this hotel from 4 April 2013 as we were desperate to get away from the British weather!! The hotel is comfortable with smart communal areas and plenty going on for this early in the season. The walk into Snt Eularia isn't too bad once you work out the most direct routes, and if you turn right from the hotel and follow the road round there is an Eroski supermarket if the one across doesn't have what you need. We went half board and the food was good quality and varied. It could be a bit cool as per another rating I read, but there is a microwave always available. I think the only disappointments were that our room was towards the outer-back of the hotel and we were looking at the volleyball court and houses, and they did not enforce their ruling of children not being allowed in in the indoor pool without an adult (the outdoor pool was really nice but, of course, too cold in April). If you are a family of 4 the living area of the apartments are a tad cramped but the bedrooms are really big. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean. We had a good 'early year' holiday in all!

Room Tip: You need to speak to the hotel to request a sea view or make sure you book one through your intermed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    295
    118
    42
    17
See reviews for
360
181
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Positives: excellent value, location for coastal walks and into town, sunrise views, kitchen facilities fine for self catering break.

Negatives: noise on an evening from entertainment, indoor pool cold and dirty.

Eroski supermarket 10 min walk on main road much cheaper than garden hotel shop opposite.

One coke around the pool equivilent to 1/2 can was 2 euro so beware

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We arrived quite late in the evening to be greeted by very friendly receptionists. The entrance to the aparthotel looked nice and we were pleasantly surprised as we booked an Internet special for 3 nights here for a very reasonable price. We found our room on the third floor, clean and spacious, an apartment which slept four, fully equipped with a large balcony overlooking the sea.

The food was ok, looked nice, but rather bland in taste and the drinks in the dining room were fine too. We went half board plus, which meant free drinks in the evenings with our meal, which was a bonus, as there was always a huge queue at the bar. The was a large choice of food both at breakfast and dinner, can't comment on the lunch selection.

The hotel was an ideal base for families with young children, providing entertainment with a mini club and disco, but the entertainment for adults was poor.

We would recommend the 10 minute walk to the town and marina, many bars restaurants and shops here. We did visit out of season, the outdoor pool was freezing and the indoor pool was very over crowded and appeared dirty.

We feel that the Tropic Gardens is only a 3 star and needs a bit of TLC in places, however it was cheap and we agree with other reviewers you get what you pay for. We would visit this area again, but stay in a different hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We booked a three day "cheap" all inclusive break seen on Travelzoo and promoted by Broadwey Travel and stayed 9 - 12 April 2013. Having stayed at Sol Ibiza last September, we knew that the hotel is in a good location, easy 15-20 minute walk into the town. The hotel was clean and the pool area was good though I never went into the pool as everyone said how cold it was. The one bedroom apartment was good and clean though we only saw the maid once as they have Wednesdays and Sundays off. However the food was just something else. It is the worst food we have ever come across and we have stayed in quite a lot of all inclusive hotels. It was always cold, even the soup! We tried numerous dishes and the outcome was always the same - lukewarm food. the hotel staff were all lovely and helpful. We would consider staying there again but would stay self catering.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We came here in April for 7 days, as a single dad + 2 girls under 10. From the start, I have to say I thoroughly recommend this hotel for couples or families of any age, especially good for single parent holidays.

Let's get one thing straight... This is not a luxury hotel, nor is it advertised as one. I got a deal from lowcostholidays.com including flights for the 3 of us for under £500; if I had paid double that amount I still wouldn't have been disappointed. But if you are expecting 5 star luxury or a beach front hotel, you wont find it here. Nor will you find an 18-30 resort; there is little night life in Santa Eularia, apart from restaurants and cafes. I found this great as a parent.

The best option to get to the hotel from the airport was by taxi; it was 28 Euros from the airport exit to the hotel door, no messing with buses or hire cars, and worked out cheaper than ResortHoppa.

We stayed self catering; the facilities in the room included a basic cooker, microwave, kettle, toaster and fridge, which is more than I've had in self-catering holidays back in the UK. The rooms are clean, not the biggest but more than adequate. They are cleaned every day except Sunday and Weds, and were always left with clean towels, clean sheets, clean floors and empty bins! There is a tv, naturally it's mostly Spanish channels (duh) but there is BBC world service.

We had a ground floor, pool view apartment with a terrace. It was wonderfully positioned, and caught the sun all afternoon until it became dark. The kids enjoyed eating their tea watching other people freezing in the pool!

First impressions when we arrived on our first afternoon were of a clean, smart, efficiently run hotel. The outside pool is large, but absolutely freezing in April! The inside pool is small, but for the small children it was ideal. There was a small gym which was being refurbished, a jacuzzi and a sauna which had to be pre-booked. There is a poolside bar outside, selling burgers, pizzas etc to those of us who were not All Inc for between 4-8 Euros. Food wasn't great, but if you want nice authentic food, head into town. The family entertainment in the evening was very lively and set out well for the kids; if you are on a couples holiday it is best to avoid the bar between 830-930! But, you might enjoy the hokey kokey...

There is Wi-Fi provided free at the hotel, although it didn't work once the whole week we were there! Not a massive problem for me, but for some people it obviously was.

There is a mini supermarket across the road from the hotel - my best advice is to avoid. There is a Spar in the centre of Santa Eulalia; honestly the 15 minute walk will save you a small fortune. The prices were at leas 40% more than elsewhere; for example a litre of milk was 1.40, whereas exactly the same bottle was 1 Euro at the Spar. They sell mostly English things like Cadburys chocolate and smash, but you can find Spanish food to cook with elsewhere if you venture out. But, if you need that emergency loaf of bread then it's great.

We tried the food in the All Inclusive restaurant on our last night; it was nice to have as a treat for a night, it worked out to be 36 Euros for the 3 of us. Having been AI many times before, I remembered the reason I avoided it this time! The food was fresh, varied and plentiful, stacks of fresh fruit and veg... but I heard it had been the same for several nights! I can imagine it would get very repetitive. We much preferred the option of eating what we wanted when we wanted (and for a much cheaper price). Plus, although my kids were just as guilty as everyone else, the thought of different people picking the food up with their fingers and putting it back again... not for me!

The local town, Santa Eularia, is a charming small town. It is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel to get to the town centre, and the walk takes you along the harbour and marina. There is a play park on this route (which had a pirate ship, if your kids are interested!), and several nice restaurants. If you carry along the sea front route you will arrive at the first of 2 beaches in the town, a beautiful white sandy beach which you can wade out up to your knees for a long way! The water was cold, but warmer than the hotel! In the town itself, there is a KFC, Pizza Hut and a couple of burger bars if you have fussy eaters, but there are many nice local restaurants, the nicest we found was La Rambla, near the beach and market (13 Euros for a set 3 course meal, 6 Euros for a childs).

The whole area seems to be set up for families; the town seems safe and secure, the beach seems safe for the kids to go wading out and swimming in; all of the locals in the cafes speak sound English and are all friendly. We went to Que Tal almost daily; the waitress was the same each day and really took the time out to teach my girls a little Spanish; by the end of the week, they could have a small conversation, which was fantastic! Que Tal also has free Wi-Fi which was a bonus for Skype-ing home.

If you want to venture around with the kids, the Thomas Train looks a good way to explore the surrounding area, although we only saw this operating twice in our week there as it was out of season. It takes in a few of the local 'attractions'. Otherwise rent a car and travel a bit further afield.

This is by far the best family friendly holiday we have yet been on, including those in England! We would come here again.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor, pool view apartment Don't go All Inclusive unless you really hate cooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Having only become a daddy last year, I had never before been to a hotel like this, and it was quite a culture shock. After 24 hours I was ready to walk out, however after spending a week here over April my opinion has mellowed a little.

If you're going on holidays with the primary objective of keeping your 4-14 year-olds occupied then the Tropic Garden will do just that, the events team do a great job, with boundless energy and seem to work 15 hours a day. I do question the 4* rating of this place and can only assume it has got them by virtue of the indoor pool, but it isn't really. The food is ok, perfect for the discerning 10 year old, but nothing to write home (or anywhere else) about. The rooms are ok, somewhat reminiscent of a 70's bedsit (except with a balcony), not entirely sure why we needed a cooker for an all inclusive resort, my bed creaked unbelievably and the concept of "sound proofing" hadn't been discovered by the architect or builders of this building so don't expect to sleep until the entertainment is over at 11.30pm.

I did need to keep reminding myself that this was actually not hugely expensive and that you get what you pay for. That said there is a lot wrong with this place: firstly, the bar staff are the rudest most inefficient, disinterested bunch I have ever met: on the first evening (after 25 minutes waiting to be served and getting a little annoyed with the idea of spending my evening chatting to fellow queuers) I was told that they couldn't possibly keep track of who was next as each guest "didn't have a number on their head" (funny how bar staff the world over manage to keep a mental track of who'd next without such visual aids). They then implemented a single file queuing system, making the large bar a total waste of time and adding a real "cell block" feel to the whole getting a drink experience.

Secondly, the indoor pool was really why we chose this hotel (in April) however I wouldn't get in it, nor would I let my daughter in there in a million years, it looked filthy, a milky grey murk with no visibility, think of a large scale petri dish.

So, if you stay clear of the pool, want to keep the kids entertained, get 4 drinks each at every trip to the bar etc. you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Rooms in block one (right hand side as you enter the hotel) are above the main entertainment area, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Tropic Garden is in a good location with easy access into the main resort, stayed here with family April 2013 on a self catering basis in one bedroom apartment, good view of sunrise, pool and seafront. Only issue hotel claims to have free WI FI access, throughout our stay we (and other guests) were unable to access the internet.

Good clean hotel with plent of activities available.

Room Tip: ask for high floor with sea / pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropic Garden Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Garden Aparthotel

Address: C/ Pare Vicent Costa 10 | Urbanització Ca's Capità, 07840 Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#21 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropic Garden Aparthotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Tropic Garden Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Garden Aparthotel Hotel
Tropic Garden Aparthotel Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic Garden Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.