We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Garden Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tropic Garden Aparthotel to your Saves list
Tropic Garden Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Pare Vicent Costa 10 | Urbanització Ca's Capità, 07840 Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Buckley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

This is a nice hotel. First impressions always count and this was no exception. Reception staff were very helpful and check in was quite painless. Everywhere seemed clean and tidy right from the off. The hotel is sited right on the outskirts of the resort and ideal for walking off some of that "all inclusive" excess. The room we were given was ok. It was a corner room (1002) which meant that it was smaller than the norm. Only a minor issue really as it was right next to the sea (albeit with restricted views through the trees). The food presented no problems either. The choice on offer was comendable and none of us went hungry. Some of it was very good indeed. It is never going to be featured on Masterchef but you have to factor in the cost and the value it presented for the money we paid. The pool area is fine although I suspect a few people would agree that it could do with being heated at this time of year. There was an indoor heated pool and a gym, if you are that way inclined. There is a nice, seated TV room as well to watch some footy or a 'Royal Wedding' perhaps. If your holiday essentials include entertainment and you don't have small children then you'll be out of luck. Dreadful, probably covers it, I suspect! Not a problem for us though, as we tend to go out and about, which is how you find some lovely walks in and around the resort. Try going to the far end of the resort, to the river's mouth and walk up towards the old "Roman" bridge - beautiful. A couple of niggles aside, such as non refundable towel deposits of 7.50 euro each per week and a very grumpy restaurant maitre, you could do a great deal worse than this place. We had a fabulous holiday, due in no small measure to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    331
    125
    46
    19
See reviews for
396
197
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We have just returned from a great week away at the Tropic Garden. We had quite low expectations given that this was probably the cheapest week away I could find at the time, but it suprised us on every level. We had booked half board, but were upgraded to all-inclusive as there had been some kind of overbooking error which meant we were sent to an alternative hotel for the first night. This did put a dampener on things, but they certainly redeemed themselves. We had paid an extra 40 pounds (for both of us) at the time of booking to go half board (as opposed to self catering), we thought that if the restaurant was decent, it should be ok for a couple of nights to save going out. It turned out to be very good, and we ate in there every night. Evidently there is come kind of offer whereby you can upgrade to all-inc for a small fee; for us as half board, would have been 19 euros perperson per day, for s/c would have been 40 euros. However, they run a 3 for 2 deal, so for two of us at half board to upgrade to all inc would have been 76 euros for the three days - excellent value. The restaurant offered a fantastic choice morning noon and night, there was the pool bar offering drinks and snacks all day long, and the hotel bar at night. Itis easy to tire of the constant free drinks - I'd had enough by the second day - but for those with kids, it was invaluable. The staff (without exception) were friendly, smart and efficient, the rooms were very clean and very spacious, well eqipped, and most had sea views. We were expecting a double bedroom with a bathroom (having booked the bare minimum), but the apartment had a decent bathroom, very large bedroom, lounge with kitchen facilities and a spacious balcony - evidently rooms are the same. I appreciate it was quite when we went, but the pool and surrounding area looked plently big enough for everyone, the location was great; only a 5 minute walk from the marina and beach - so much choice for eating and drinking, although many venues weren't opening up until May. We will definately be going again, and will probably book half board and pay the upgrade to all-inc. I will also be taking the kids next time, they'll love it as much as us.

Room Tip: Book half-board and upgrade to all-inc when there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We were some of the very first guests to arrive of the new holiday year (I understand they have opened earlier this year, than in previous years). The hotel filled very quickly in our time there, with us being the first couple of the year to take breakfast, but by day five of our seven the hotel was totally full – making the experience very different. This is a very difficult hotel to review so I am going to concentrate on what I see to be the positive and negative points and leave it to you to make your own minds up on whether it is suitable for you.
Positives:
Well positioned – both in the town and from a driving perspective, if you hire a car.
Generally very clean.
Helpful and friendly staff.
Good room sizes (we had a self catering apartment, although on an AI board)
Lots of food, both in quantity and availability throughout the day.
A good amount of sun loungers for the amount of guests.
A good pool and children’s pool that make it a great option for parents who want to relax whilst keeping a close eye on their prodigy.
Now the downside:
The hotel has no real ‘lounge area’ so the bar is the default evening location. The bar is a very noisy ‘family orientated’ environment (by this I mean kids tearing up and down making as much noise as humanly possible, further excited by truly awful entertainment).
Quality of food – I’ve seen reviews complimenting this, but I have to strongly disagree! There was a bizarre mix of predominantly entry level ‘works canteen’ food (although often presented in a way that made it look a lot more appealing that it actually was). An example of the bizarre is for dinner one night tortilla wraps left over from lunchtime had been filled with whipped cream and were presented as a pudding! I had serious doubts about how long food was left out and a number of the guests were ill during our stay.
No beach – although on the coast (a very attractive coastline) there is a tree lined ‘drop-off’ to the sea that is fenced off from the hotel. This makes it very difficult to find any quiet ‘outside space’ unless you leave the hotel.
In summary this is set up as a family hotel and for the right price may also suit couples who can either tolerate its downsides or use it as a base to explore the pleasant town and beautiful island. For the money we paid for this we were happy enough with the hotel and had a very good holiday, but I would agree with the Benidorm aspect (referred to in a recent review) if you are intolerant/do not see the funny side of this – avoid...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We came here just on a self catering basis. The studio apartment we had was overlooking pool and was very spacious. It had everything we needed apart from the kettle so just used the saucepan! Bought our food from the local Euroski(5 mins away). The supermarket across the road was good but a bit more expensive.

We are keen walkers so over the 7 days we did 83 miles as the island has fantastic walking routes. Hence we only used the Hotel as a base which being in Santa Eulalia del Rio made it a very central location for getting to all our start points with the use of a car. We managed to cover all areas of the island which is very beautiful. The car is essential as the bus service was poor due to still being out of peak season.

There were a lots of families in the hotel but being the Easter holidays this is to be expected. However it was reasonably quiet at night.

Good outdoor pool but a bit cold. Indoor pool packed with the kids.

Staff were very friendly. The room is cleaned 5 times a week with fresh towels on each occasion. No complaints at all. Would come again.

Room Tip: bring a tea towel and washing up liquid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Just back from a cheap 4 day late deal, went with the attitude that if the hotel was not up to much it would be a break anyway.
What a surprise, hotel spotless, room had everything we could want and the balcony overlooking the pool was about 4 times the size you normally get.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Food - loads of choice at each meal, you would have to be really fussy not to find something different to eat each day, chef always cooking something fresh in dining room at meal times, and always about 3 choices for kids, pool bar made snacks to order
Easy to get a sun bed whenever you wanted one.
Location ideal, 5 -10 min walk to town around the harbour, not full of english bars and tacky gift shops but nice looking restaurants.
We go away 3-4 times a year so have stayed in lots of hotels and this is one of the nicest we have stayed in, thinking of going back to it.
Only downside is evening entertainment, it was only for an hour and not that great, but there is meant to be professional entertainment for the main season.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Arrived here on the 19th April for a one weeks stay, self catering with my husband and 2 boys who are 6 and 2. Although the hotel was fully booked as it was Easter, it did not seem too busy and we were promptly given the key to our apartment. Check-in was easy and the staff were helpful.

The Apartment was lovely, clean and tidy and spacious with a large balcony that overlooked the pool and had a sea view. There was a bathroom with bath and shower over, a living area with a small kitchenette, chair bed and single sofa bed and patio doors out to the balcony. Then there was the bedroom with two single beds pushed together. In the apartment there was 2 wardrobes. We moved the chair bed into the bedroom and all 4 of us slept in there so that myself and husband could sit in the living area at night. The bedroom still felt rather spacious with the chair bed, 2 single beds and a travel cot in it!

The maid came 5 days out of the 7 and always did a good job, making the beds, tidying, and cleaning. The only grumble was that as we were self catering the facilities were lacking slightly, you only had a microwave, hob and fridge. No toaster or kettle, which to me are basic requirements in a self catering apartment.

The outdoor pool was very cold as it was April so we didnt really sit around it, but there was usually sun loungers available. We used the indoor heated pool a couple of times, it was nice to have the choice especially as the weather was not the best.

We didnt go to the entertainment but from what we can gather there was a kids mini disco around 8:30pm and then entertainment at around 9:30pm, usually a quiz or dance show. Nothing fantastic. We were usually back in the room for 9pm as we'd hired a car so we were out most the day and very tired by night time! The hotel was quiet noisy at night, especially with people coming back to their apartments, they weren't the most considerate but it was not overly annoying.

There was plenty of carparking at the front of the hotel and we never struggled to get a space.

We ate in the hotel 2 nights and found the food to be better one night then the other, but it was the usually all inclusive food, but we thought it might get repetitive after a while.

It was a 15 minute walk to the start of the promenade, through the marina, which is where we ate mostly.

I wouldn't recommend visiting Ibiza in April, the weather is unpredictable, its out of season so a lot of places are closed and as it was the bank holiday weekend, a lot of shops were shut too.

Quick tip, do not use the supermarket outside of the hotel, its prices are really really high! If you head right out of the hotel as far as you can go, then left. You will see a bigger supermarket just to the right that it much cheaper!

All in all the hotel was very good, especially as we got a bargain price through travel republic. I wouldn't hesitate to return, but later on in the season.

Room Tip: You can get 3 for 2 days all inclusive packages
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We have just returned from Ibiza having stayed self-catering in this hotel. Thankfully we did not plan to do a great deal of cooking as the kitchenette was a three ring electric hob and a microwave/combo oven (we think). Other than this the room was actually good value for what we paid although it appears as though the self catering apartments do not have a pool view and run along the outside of the complex.

The location was reasonable, a 5-10min walk through the marina and into the town which is fine by us. The resort of Santa Eularia we found to be very nice indeed, very spanish which is quite refreshing considering what Torremolinos and Benidorm are like nowadays. If you are looking for a resort full of bars selling John Smiths/Tetleys/Carling then I would suggest you consider San Antonio as you will struggle to find it here.

Back to the Tropic Garden, and it's layout and general vibe is exactly what comes across on the "Benidorm" TV show. Lots of brits with armbands on the cheap all inclusive deal sat by the pool bar all day and only lifting themselves to waddle to the dining area for either lunch or evening dinner.

We found that if we walked in or out of the hotel whilst 'feeding time' was in operation the place appeared deserted, but if we mistimed our exit/return then the noise level went through the roof and became unbearable at times. This is very much a families resort too.

It was noticeable that we saw very few of the AI hotel residents walking around the town of Santa Eulalia, maybe in fear that their AI armbands would disintegrate to dust if they were to walk too far outside the complex.

Don't get me wrong, we enjoyed our stay here, and although we deliberately avoided the entertainment in the evening, we got more than our fair share of entertainment watching the antics of the rest of the residents.

If you are looking for an All Inclusive hotel on the cheap and have young kids who eat lots then this is the perfect place for you to stay, if you are looking for a peaceful holiday without screaming kids/babies then try a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropic Garden Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Garden Aparthotel

Address: C/ Pare Vicent Costa 10 | Urbanització Ca's Capità, 07840 Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropic Garden Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tropic Garden Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Garden Aparthotel Hotel
Tropic Garden Aparthotel Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic Garden Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.