We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Can Sanso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Can Sanso
Save
You added Can Sanso to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Es Cana 55, 07840 Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This will be our 3rd trip to Santa Eulalia and the first time we stayed at the Can Sanso apartments. The apartments were excellent, apartments and grounds were kept spotless and were cleaned 3 times in the one week which we stayed. The staff are friendly and the food is reasonably priced and rather good. It is a good 25 minute walk into the town of Santa Eulalia depending on how fast you walk and the Euro Ski supermarket is just a short walk away. All in all we had a fantastic holiday. If there was one drawback it would be that there is no lift in these apartments and therefore if you have difficulty with stairs it may cause a problem unless you request an apartment on the ground floor. In saying this we would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the pool as the view is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    70
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
138
64
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Impressed by the size of the one bedroom apartment. Really spacious. And the balcony was big too - big enough for a table and four chairs and a sunbed. Towels were changed, bins emptied and beds made 3 times during the week, but nothing else seemed to get cleaned. The floors weren't swept while we were there. We found the beds really comfortable and had a great night's sleep all week. The kitchen would have been much better with a kettle and toaster. Got a bit sick of boiling pans of water to make tea. But there were plenty of pots and pans and a microwave. The safe was 15 euros which was fine. The tv remote is a 10 euro deposit. The air conditioning was 20 euros. It wasn't very powerful but it did cool the place down. Our ceiling fan in the bedroom wasn't working, but there was a portable fan in the living area, which we could have managed with, in actual fact, without the air con. The bar/restaurant is very nice. Good choice of food and drinks and proper ice cream. Food is basic but tasty. I had a nice pizza on our first night, we had a breakfast one morning and omelettes for a lunch on our last day. All in all nice apartments and really nice staff. I can see why families spent the whole day there - the pool is quite big, there is a child's pool, crazy golf and a playground. We didn't see any of the evening entertainment. There is a restaurant very close to the apartments which we ate in twice. The town is probably about 15 minutes walk. Santa Eulalia is a really nice and smart town. Two beaches. Lovely promenade along the beaches and marina and a fountain. A very pretty square with the town hall, fountains and craft stalls. The river walk to the old bridge and mill is very pleasant. A lot of money has been spent on the landscaping. And the views from the pretty church on the hill Puig de Missa are well worth the walk. Our favourite bar was Liquido at the marina. The cocktails were lovely and the staff really nice. We were a bit disappointed with the restaurants we tried, none of the food 'blew us away', but Sa Llesca at the marina (incorporates an old tower) was very good. The food in the Mexican restaurant on 'restaurant street' was good but service was very slow. We hired a quad bike from Turbo Rent A Car in Es Canar and found Santa Eulalia to be a good base for exploring. Ibiza Town, Cala Llonga, Cala Llenya, Cala de Sant Vicent, Portinatx and Port de Sant Miquel were all in easy reach. Enjoyed the hippy market at Punta Arabi but it was very hot and crowded. Glad we chose this resort and these apartments. Good holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Can Sanso are familiar apartments with good instalations like the swimming pool, the golf...
Every night there are different shows that make you stay there because they are very interesting (magic, music, animal show...) For children is very nice place because they have a Little park, mini golf, the swimming pol and they really like to stay there. I will return with all my family like I do every year. Thanks to the waiters for the treatment! We are a big family there!

Room Tip: All romos are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We arrived at these apartments at about 1pm on Saturday 5th July. One of the staff met us off our bus and helped us up a few flights of stairs with our cases which was nice. There is no reception but this was no problem as there was always a member of staff at the bar to help with anything.

The bar area was separate from where the rooms are but we didn't find this to be an issue. The pool area got quite busy so it was better to get there as early as possible in the morning.

The rooms were spacious and clean. Our view at the side of the hotel was not the best (looked on to the back of a hotel/some residents houses) but I think if you choose a studio, you will get a better view (we had a one bedroom apartment).

The staff are friendly and helpful. We actually lost our room key at Space nightclub in Playa d'en Bossa and were worried about telling the night porter but it turned out okay and he just got us a new key!

We didn't eat in the apartments much but when we did, we had cheese toasties, scrambled egg and beans which were nice.

We struggled to find restaurants to eat out at when we first arrived (I am fussy to begin with, my husband isn't!) but nearer the end of the holiday, we found some lovely places. We would recommend Corsario Negro restaurant at the Marina, Es Terral and Kathmandu Indian restaurants at the restaurant strip just up from the square. I would not recommend Mirage down by the Marina as we received poorly cooked chicken and watery fish!!

The resort of Santa Eulalia was a little too quiet for us so I don't think we would come back here. We walked into Es Cana one day which took about 40 minutes (got the bus back!) and went to Jacaranda beach club for lunch and drinks and also went to the hippy market (which is on a Wednesday) and visited Charlie's pub a few nights for tribute nights (we went to a George Michael one which was really good). It cost about 8 euros for a taxi down to Es Cana. We were a bit worried whether we
would still be able to get a taxi back at 2am (as all the other pubs had started closing a lot earlier than this one!) but there was still taxis at the taxi rank! We would maybe come back to Es Cana in the future as it is a bit livelier than Santa Eulalia.

If you are looking to come to Ibiza for a lively holiday, you should stick to San Antonio/San Antonio Bay as it costs 30 euros in a taxi to get to them (not sure what the bus costs) and is about 20 minutes away. We are in our 30's and were looking for something inbetween but found we should have stuck to what we knew! All in all, we still had an enjoyable holiday though

Natalie and Paul

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We came here as a couple, had a huge Appartment on the top floor overlooking the pool and hills which were really pretty.
Everything in the Appartment was clean and ready to use.lots of pots and pans for sc needs.a huge eroski supermarket to the left of the hotel for everything!
Food basic but fine if you cant be bothered to go out.
Friendly professional staff.
Pool nice but got busier obviously as the season is progressing meaning a little more noise and early bed reserves!
Bus stops outside and the disco bus for late nights etc from the old town and san Antonio. 2 euros from santa eulalia to the old town.3 on the disco bus.26 taxi...

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

- Lots of awards displayed proudly around the bar area and it doesn't take long to work out why they've won these almost every year since the 90s!
- Fantastic value for money
- Friendly staff who almost make the atmosphere themselves!
- 5-10 minute walk from the town but has a lovely bar and restaurant on site so this was never an issue
- Good range of ages there, something suitable for kids, adults and elders

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just returned from Ibiza staying at the Can Sanso for 1 week with my partner and my kids (14 & 11).

This is an excellent self catering complex. The staff are hard working, friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and have everything you need, including balconies with table/chairs and a sun lounger, air con is payable locally (€20 per week). The pool is a decent size and we never had any issues getting loungers at any time of the day. The pool bar offers a great choice of food and drink at good prices, and the food is good standard. My only slight negative would be the location, but only if you're allocated a room which looks onto the main road which leads into Santa Eulalia centre and to Es Cana, as we did. The traffic noise from 5-6am can be annoying if you're a light sleeper. Other than that, its a 10-15 min walk along to the marina/esplanade, and unlike some other reviews, the walk is along a safe enough on a proper footpath. Its only less than 5 mins walk down to Babylon Beach, but this is a rocky area, no sand until you're along at the main esplanade. Santa Eulalia itself is a beautiful resort, loads of bars and restaurants to chose from. "Restaurant Street" has some fine dining places, as well as reasonably priced indian and far east restaurants that offer set price meals. On the sea front and marina area the restaurants along here are less "fancy" but still offer great food. We hired a jeep for the day (€95) and went around the island, up to Cala San Vincente and Portinax and down to San Antonio and then Ibiza Town. We returned to Ibiza Town one night on the bus (€2 each one way) for shopping and dinner and id highly recommend this, its a stunning place! We had a fantastic meal down near the marina in the old part of the town and the shops will equal anywhere, return taxi was €30.

This was our first time in Ibiza and I'm glad we chose it, so much more to it than San Antonio and the club scene, its a stunning island, unfortunately didn't have the time to visit Formentera so we'll hopefully go back sometime. Would def stay at the Can Sanso again, its great value for money and I've stayed at worse 4* hotels. Also, as they don't offer a late check-out, we used the courtesy room, which is great, 4 private shower/toilet rooms and a seating area and you can have access all day (you're given your own key). Its no wonder this place gets such good reviews on Trip Advisor, its well deserved, and we are quite picky!

Room Tip: Try and avoid a room that overlooks the main road to/from Santa Eulalia and Es Cana due to the traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Eulalia del Rio hotels
4.9 mi away
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Verde
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Verde
#5 of 44 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropic Garden Aparthotel
Tropic Garden Aparthotel
#18 of 44 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 stars 909 reviews
0.6 mi away
Invisa Hotel La Cala
Invisa Hotel La Cala
#9 of 44 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#19 of 44 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 stars 976 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Club Augusta
Hotel Club Augusta
#21 of 44 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Casa Luis
Apartamentos Casa Luis
#12 of 44 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can Sanso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can Sanso

Address: Carretera Es Cana 55, 07840 Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#23 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Hotel Class:3 star — Can Sanso 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Can Sanso Hotel
Can Sanso Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Can Sanso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.