We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected!!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Invisa Hotel Club Cala Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Invisa Hotel Club Cala Verde to your Saves list
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Verde
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa de Es Figueral, 07850 Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not what we expected!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had great expectations of this hotel from the reviews we have read. But we were very disappointed. We stayed at the Calla Verde. Swimming pool very small and no children allowed lilos of any kind. What they do not say is the Pirate island/pool is between the 2 hotels along a road which all public have excess to so if you have small children you have a 5 minute walk to. The pool area was very dirty and never cleaned in the 2 weeks we were there, yes they remove plastic cups left by guests but leave the cigarette ends, food, sand and general rubbish. One good point was there were plenty of sun beds if you got up at a reasonable time.

The kids club was good for the children and kept them busy all day.

The restaurant was the saving grace for this hotel as staff and food were very good. But it ends there.There is only one bar at this hotel so gets very busy and they serve the Spanish and Italians first with no manners.They do have a pool side bar which is only open now and again which you would think in high season it would be open all the time especially when bar staff were complaining about people going into the bar area wet from the pool.

Night time were the WORST!!!!!!!!
If you did not manage to find a seat or table by 9pm them watch the people having a tug of war to find some.There were chairs and tables carried over your head and if you got up to go to the bar your seats and table were gone. With there being no where else to sit people who smoked did not bare in mined people who don't (was like living in a constant ashtray).
We will not be going back or recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    205
    46
    7
    6
See reviews for
382
94
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here at the beginning of the month and even though it was in the most beautiful location and had friendly reception staff there was a major problem for us. Our room was never cleaned by the day staff and we had to ask every day for it to be. We were also very upset when we were basically told we were lying each time. The first day we complained we were told it had been cleaned, it blatantly hadn't. The second day we were told we had been in our room all day, when we had been out on a hotel excursion, and the third the cleaning staff had taken the do not disturb sign out of our room and put it on the door! Both rooms next door had been cleaned, we know this as we saw the maid doing it as we were leaving each morning so we know they saw us leave! Having your room cleaned at 7.30pm when you are trying to get ready to go out isn't the best.

Finally to top it all one evening we were in our room when someone tried to walk in without knocking. They had a key and started to come in, they were not wearing a uniform or a name badge and claimed they had come to fix our broken door that we had reported, our door was not broken nor had we reported it. When we spoke to reception they just said it was nothing to do with them.

When we returned to England I wrote to head office and still have not had a reply after a week. Very poor customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We Went away on the 2nd of September for a week. Me my wife and 2yr old. We stayed at the Cala Blanca Apartments 5219 next to the indoor pool and upstairs from the bar and outdoor pool area. The best place to be as it was near the pirate ship and reception. The room was a bit dated and the beds were hard. The pull out bed had the best mattress very soft. We could see the Pirate ship from our room. The fridge is okay to put some items in as it is not very big. The TV only has one English channel which is Sky News International. We did have a portable DVD player for the plane so we just used that for my son. The pool areas are okay we found plenty of sunbeds to use. Pirate ship does get busy. You can get snacks from the pirate pool which saves you from going to the dinning hall. The food was good and you can find what ever you need the bread was nice and freshly baked. The drinks were of a good standard and the coffee was good and always made fresh from the bar. The entertainment was okay and a lot of people seemed to enjoy it. We were mostly in the kids play park and having walks around the complex. There is a few shops outside the hotel. The top Spar is the best and seems cheaper then the bottom Spar.
The beach is nice and clean but best to take some drinks with your are you will have to keep walking up the bank or steps for a drink. There is two restaurant's on the beach. You have to pay for your sunbeds when on the beach 14 euros a day which is a rip off when you are paying a A/I.
The transfer going to the resort can take some time but going back was okay. You can pay 12 euros for a safe key which you get back. 20 euros for the iron which you get back. They do have a laundry room next door to a small gym which is up the steps from the indoor pool and bar.
The staff were very friendly and helpful the maids were at your room every day unless you put your sign up. There is a good mix of people here and everyone seemed to get on.
We did go into the town one night to break up the holiday as you can not walk anywhere at nights. The Taxi was 16 euros there and 15 back. the town has a small amusement park lots of bars on the beach front and restaurant's. On the whole a good holiday. We went with Jet2 Holidays.

Room Tip: The block next to the indoor pool was nice and quiet and you had your own bar just down stairs and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

travelled back from this great hotel on the 5th September 13. the holiday was wonderful the weather was great after a patchy day of heavy rain but even that didnt spoil it for us.
the hotel is lovely very clean and the staff are also extremely helpful. our room had a great sea view, it was cleaned daily by a friendly maid who always acknowledged us.
The food was very good too. There was plenty to choose from every day. The Breakfast had a great choice offering everything from fresh fruit too a full cooked breakfast and pastries. The salad bar had a great variety and always fresh and plentiful. there was also a snack bar available that provided toasties, pizza, fries, hotdogs and burgers if you didn't feel like a big meal from the restaurant.
the entertainment team worked very hard and kept everyone amused. they involved all guests in activities, offering a broad spectrum of events for all ages.
the bar staff where friendly too, nothing was too much for them. the drinks available were all branded and no question about how many or how often you ordered a drink.
the two hotels are spotlessly clean within walking distance of each other and lead down to the beach.
sun beds on the beach where extra and kayaks could be hired for an hour. the cost was reduced if you stayed at either hotel. lovely views from both hotels and a very pleasant walk.
the hotel laid on a free bus service to the local towns and markets. that has to be booked a day in advance to ensure you get a seat. I would advise a trip to the hippy market very interesting with a large variety of goods for sale, many made while you are there.
the local town is not too far and it has a beautiful beach , plenty of bars and restaurant's and shops.
we toughly enjoyed our holiday and meet some great people whilst we where there. I would recommend it to friends and family plenty to see and do or just sit back and watch every one else enjoy there holiday. deserves a higher star rating than it has been awarded. we had a late room that reception sorted for us a few days before departure, but there is a shower room if your room is not available.
excellent hotel, fabulous location, great food and friendly staff. couldn't ask for any more.

the only negative point I can make is the transfer to the airport was ridiculous 2 hours going to nearly every hotel on the island. may hire a car or book a taxi otherwise a fab place. The Hayes & Ford family.

Room Tip: if you don't like stairs ask for a lower floor. also ask for a sea view the sunrise is beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I can only mirror and echo what has already been said. We travelled with friends and my friend Annalee has already put wonderful review on here.
Jet 2 - flight on time - easy flight - swiftly picked up our luggage at Ibiza with no issues. Big coach to transfer to destination and only 4 drop off's to our resort. Rep came onto the coach with a letter advising us of our return journey as you have no rep on any transfers or at the hotel.Jet 2 have a contact number should you need a rep, may not suit everyone but suited me.
On arrival you are dropped off at the Cala Verde and if staying at the Cala Blanca are then transfer'd there on a large golf buggy. We did get told my the animation team all Jet2 guests seem to be placed into the Cala Verde and then other tour operators can be either.
Cala Verde had breathtaking views and we had a Sea View (paid no extra)although not as a nice as our friends we were over reception area which did get very busy with constant drop off's.
Pool area fab - plenty of sunbeds past 11am every day. Small gym with 2 treadmills, 2 cross-trainers and 2 bikes. Need the token magnet from reception to activate the treadmill. Stunning views whilst working out which I did most mornings around 7am it really was beautiful.
I agree with my friend... anyone that moans you can not take an inflatable into a pool need to look at recent holiday tragedies were the likes of a 4 yr old has drowned because they couldn't been seen struggling with the large inflatables surrounding them I was very happy they were not allowed in, our 4 yr old would not have enjoyed the pool as much as he did.The pools in these complexes are not the size of the vast pools in Turkey and when busy would just be impossible to keep your eye on everyone. So do not buy/bring them as they can't be used. The lifeguard is on duty most of the day and monitors activity.
Animation team - Titziana, Christian, Lupo, Emanuale and Caitlin along with Valentina and Anna were truly fabulous ! they gave 110% from morning until the evening. We preferred the animations team entertainment rather that the acts bought in. Some reviews have been harsh on the mini club and entertainment- as an ex travel agent it was really funny and interesting to hear everyone's different opinions, and that is exactly what they are opinions, what we thought was great others may disagree, this an official good 3 star hotel with most British tour companies giving it 4 so you are not going to get 5 star Cruise entertainment in these hotels we were more than happy with the dancing shows irrelevant of the miming. Sian the animation lead choreographer did a fab job and the dancing was perfect on all the shows we saw. Sure we loved Mr Cala Verde cheesey but great fun (which i missed due to a sleepy child) the quiz night was great with a professional projector and buzzers.You will never please everyone and no matter what star you go to Mini Disco is what it is music and dancing my 4 yr old loved it ...
Daytime activities - great variation of events which took place at times in between both hotels so a change of scenery now and again we took part in as much as we could as that what our holiday was about however the animation team were fab in not being pushy.
Food - good variation and something for everyone it does cater for more than just the British palate so don't plenty of seafood along with a meat selection. Great breakfast and the buffet snack bar with pizza,chips,hot dogs and burgers every day. We often went into the main restaurant first for soup and salad dishes etc and carried on down to the snack bar for the pizza etc for my little boy. Drinks on tap. so help yourself to beer/wine/water and soft drinks which avoided the need of waiters. Staff very friendly and cleared tables and the area very swiftly.
Professional Photographer on site took some stunning shots so do use them if they around again never pushy into purchasing anything but we have some fab photo's.
The resort itself as everyone has already mentioned is remote... we located 2 outsides restaurants and a bar near to the beach at Cala Blanca along with 2 spar shops which sell everything from Pringles to Flipflops. If you do want pringles etc don't wait until airport we paid 4.5 euros at the airport and only 2.5euros at the spar so do take with you.
Beach - windy day jelly fish - calm day - no jelly fish !
Sun-loungers - 5 euros each and brolley 4 you can buy a brolley for 7 euros at the spar so if you are beach people - buy one and sit on the sand...
Hotel staff all great ...Varnna (i think that;s her name ) in the bar is really funny always laughing and speaks many languages. All premium brands and yes Jagermeister included. Cocktails very strong and Walls mini milks and ice lollies for the kids included others you could purchase.

We really had a wonderful holiday and would not hesitate to return to this resort.

Room Tip: High floor to gain a sea view room.Main block near reception had 2 lifts with little steps so better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked a family holiday through Jet2, which was about £800 cheaper than First Choice.

We arrived on 27th Aug for 10 nights and stayed in the Cala Verde hotel in a standard room on the third floor in the main hotel. The view from our room was of the beach and great considering we didn't pay for a sea view upgrade. The rooms are cleaned daily and the hotel was spotless.

There are lots of Italians and Germans but also a fair few British holidaymakers and we made friends with lots of them. There are 2 pools in the Cala Verde, which although small are more than adequate and we thought it was good that lilos weren't allowed as we were with 2 four year olds who were in the pool all day and there wouldn't be much room for people and inflatables. Pirate Island is a 3 minute walk between the two hotels, along with the kids play area (this is where the Mini Club is too). You can also get snacks such as pizza and toasties and soft drinks and beer. We didn't have any issues of reserving sun beds, there were always lots stacked up, even at 11am.

The entertainment crew are fantastic and they worked tirelessly from 10am-1pm and 4pm-11pm. Titziana, Christian, Lupo, Emanuale and Caitlin made our holiday but as the work for an outside company, they said they won't be back next year which is a shame. They offer activitis such as archery, shooting, darts, Zumba, aqua gym, football and give out diplomas in the evening which is a lovely touch. They also run paella and sangria demonstrations in a fun way. The evening shows are great, especially the ones run by the entertainment crew. They done Grease, Dancing Queen, Around the World in 80 Days and Blues Brothers while we were there. They also get professional dancers in.

We put the boys into the Mini Club on a couple of the days which runs daily from 10am-1pm and 4pm-6pm. They do all sorts with the kids. They also run a maxi club for older children and teenagers.

The food is outstanding, there is a lot of choice and you could have a different meal each day if you wanted. They do offer lots of fish which we loved as its usually so expensive in the UK. We booked to eat in the Cala Blanca hotel which is the same as the Verde but with a bit more choice. We ate when in was Mexican night which was great. We also booked to eat in the Marina restaurant which again is a buffet but we had sushi on that night and the views are amazing. It's also less manic!

The bar is open from 10am-1am (although they stop serving AI at 12am) and there are lots of drinks available AI and the measures are good. We loved the cocktails and were partial to a Disarano and coke. There are very few drinks which aren't on the all inclusive. kids could get ice creams and ice lollies all day long. There is a disco at the Cala Blanca which is open until 3am but we didn't go.

The hotel is in a remote location, which we knew about but if you like a walk to nearby bars or restaurants this isn't the hotel for you. There is a daily free bus to the nearby resort of Santa Eularlia where you can do a bit of shopping. We also got on the Mini Train which runs every Wednesday and stops off at nearby beaches and the Hippy Market at Es Canar - definitely worth a visit.

You can hire towels for a refundale deposit 20 euros each and you can have a late room for an extra 20 euros which we needed as the bus didn't pick us up until 5pm. There is a launderette on site, a small shop and a number of other facilities at Cala Blanca such as a cinema.

We had a great holiday and would recommend this to families but also adults as there is an adults only area. You'll have a great holiday if you come here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Returned on 25th August 2013 after 9 days/8nights with Jet2 (much cheaper than First Choice I must add!).

There are so many excellent reviews for this hotel that I thought I'd start with the cons. Some of it I'm being a bit picky and this is a very good hotel, but it's worth being aware of the following: -

CONS: -

- LOCATION - Although it is very picturesque, it is in the middle of nowhere (have to get a bus or taxi to visit shops etc). To be fair, I knew this when I booked and this may be a plus for some people.

- BEACH OK (but not brilliant - nowhere near as nice as the beach further up the island in Portinatx). It was full of sea-weed and there were lots of jelly fish, so I didn't bother going on the beach at all. I think sunbeds and parasols were quite pricey too.

- POOL FUN - The pools were lovely and clean BUT they will not allow any inflatables in the pool (lilos etc) apart from football sized balls. This was a real drawback for me and spoiled the kids' fun a bit!

- FOOD OPTIONS - Again food was lovely, BUT there was very very limited choice if you are vegetarian! Some nights, there were no main dishes for me to choose from apart from plain spaghetti and tomoto sauce. My meat loving boyfriend said the meat that was on offer was lovely though! There was also lots of sea food on offer (again which I don't eat) - lots of it still had it's eyes staring at you from the buffet (I know this is the norm abroad but not for me!)

- We went mid to late August and the hotel was full of Italians and very few British. I have nothing against Italians, but there weren't many other guests to chat with and meet due to the language barrier.

- JACUZZI - Yes there is a jacuzzi, but you have to pay 2 Euros to make it work! Hence it was always empty!


Now for the PROs which are echoed in all the other reviews: -

- SCENERY/VIEWS - Amazing views from the hotel over the bay, takes your breath away! I have to say, we were lucky enough to get a newly renovated room with full sea, pool views and the view from our balcony was amazing! We only paid for a standard room (no sea view) so I was over the moon with this! Thanks Invisa :-))

- FOOD QUALITY - Quality of all food on offer was excellent (note the comment above though!)

- CLEAN - Everywhere immaculately clean - daily maid service!

- ENTERTAINMENT TEAM - Worked tirelessly morning to night - can't fault them!

- PIRATE PARK - Great for the little ones although at 10 years old, I think my son would have preferred bigger adult slides. My 7 year old daughter loved it, especially the huge bucket that tips water everywhere!

All in all, a great holiday although I wouldn't return, mainly due to the remote location. But Ibiza is a beautiful island and will definately be returning to another hotel.

Room Tip: E-mail the hotel with your room preferances - e.g. sea view. It worked for us!! Also, plan ahead an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Invisa Hotel Club Cala Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invisa Hotel Club Cala Verde

Address: Playa de Es Figueral, 07850 Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Invisa Hotel Club Cala Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Verde located in Es Figueral Beach is well known for its magnificient panoramic bay views. It is awarded with the "Q" of tourist quality and Environment ISO 14001. The hotel has 257 rooms: Double, Premium and Suites equipped with full bathroom, air conditioning, TV satellite, safe, telephone, mini fridge, Wi-Fi and tea & coffee facilities. The ideal Tourist complex Invisa Hotel Club Cala Verde has everything thought to detail to make your holidays unforgettable:Two restaurants with international buffet and themed dinners, air conditioning in the main public rooms and ample lounges with TV/ SAT and Internet point, bar, Swimming pool and Solarium. CHildren's playground, 5.000 M2. For Miniclub, Pirate Island and Adventure Zone. Shows and entertainment every night. Games and competitions for children and adults. Free sports and gym. Regular bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Invisa Hotel Club Cala Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invisa Hotel Cala Verde
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Verde Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Invisa Hotel Club Cala Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.