We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Ses Estaques

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Ses Estaques to your Saves list
Catalonia Ses Estaques
Playa Ses Estaques, 07840 Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
tiverton devon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is in a great position , right by the marina and a short , 10minute stroll along the super promenade to the the town centre . This resort is very quiet and peaceful , and you feel safe wherever you wander in the area , hotel had a couple of VERY minor blips I.E. Bathroom a bit small and could have been laid out better , but adequate enough . Dining room produced some good , we'll cooked food although I have had more choices at some other hotels .but never went away feeling hungry . Also the dining room was a bit congested as the tables were a bit close together and when you were carrying your food back to your table you had to turn and look as others were either entering or leaving the dining area and had to pass right by. Having said that ,I didn't,t hear any collisions . ALL The staff were VERY friendly and efficient .pool was great one that you could stand up in throughout ,and it had steps to walk in too . All in all a great hotel ,and would I go back there again ? Definitely a yes .

Room Tip: Perhaps a higher floor room with a higher last two digits .i.e. 210....310 etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Madam and Sir,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it.

We are enchanted to know through your comments that you are already thinking of returning to visit us again in the future. We shall try the utmost to fulfill your expectations.

Yours Sincerely,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    200
    64
    21
    1
See reviews for
57
602
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our first stay at what is no ordinary package tour type Mediterranean hotel. This is no vast soulless and corporate establishment seemingly solely aimed at taking as much money from you as possible. There is a family ambience led by a manager who realises that core to the success of any business is people. At the end of his weekly drinks party and presentation of key hotel personnel to the assembled guests he said, "We are here to please", words proven by the utter charm, willingness to help and courtesy of EVERY staff member encountered. Rooms are immaculate and despite being a buffet style dining operation the food was more tasty than that recently experienced on a Cunard and Celebrity cruise. He quoted that 41% of guests are repeat visitors, I would have said 75%. There are décor references to the past such as corridors that are temples to medium oak, a dining / lounge room divider of coloured glass panels, and one of the 4 person lifts has been kept in period (? 1970) condition. None of these factors have any impact on the pleasure of staying, and I understand a rolling programme of modernisation is scheduled. No facilities for children, British guests only (average age 70 and many with mobility issues) , a location overlooking a rocky cove, no nearby massive hotels or noisy beach and an easy level stroll to town. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Catalonia Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it. It is as well an honor to read such pleasant and nice comment and therefore, I shall transmit to all my Colleagues. This will only encourage us to improve even more day by day our Customer Service.

We are enchanted to know through your comments that you are already thinking of returning to visit us again in the future. We will try the utmost to fulfill your expectations.

Always at your service,
Giancarlo Dell´Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Just back from another brilliant week at the Ses Estaques ,which never fails to reach our expectations. The staff are amazing and can never do enough for you. The Hotel is always clean and the food is lovely and varied and hot. This is a Thomson Gold Hotel therefore evening entertainment is included and typically is a 2 to 2.5 hour show every night. This is a mix of guest acts and the Thomson entertainment team plus resident duo. The standard is very high. The Hotel is situated near to the Harbour and is surrounded by easy walks on flat terrain. The resort itself has everything you may wish for. The real benefit of this holiday though is the Hotel and the staff from the Chambermaid Dulce, to the Manager, who genuinely try to fulfil every wish and are always smiling. This was our fourth visit to this Hotel, but we are newbies compared to others. In the week we went the percentage of repeat visitors was I believe 55% which I think speaks volumes for this Hotel. We will certainly be returning.So thank you again for a lovely time.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it.
It is our aim to let all our Guests feel at "home away from home" and this is probably the reason why we have over 40% of repeater Customers within our premises.

Starting with myself and all my Colleagues we are delighted to have you back in the "Family" again this year and we are enchanted to know through your comments that you are already thinking of returning to visit us again in the future. We shall try the utmost to fulfill your expectations.

Always at your service,
Giancarlo Dell´Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you are thinking of Ibiza but a bit past clubbing then I would recommend this hotel in Santa Eulalia. I dont know why I am saying this as it would be better to keep this hotel a secret! Most people who go there have been many times before as its charm and the friendly staff are second to none. There is something for everyone - varied sunbathing areas - round the pool, looking out to sea, in the gardens or in the shaded avenue. The Tomson entertainments team do a variety of daytime and evening entertainment. The evening entertainment is usually outside which we love. They have resident singers and special guests artistes. The Thomson professional team put on great shows several times a week.
The hotel is adults only and tends to be a more mature clientelle. The food is to a high standard but much of it is true British fare - but there is always local fish on the grill. A 15 minute walk into town offers a variety of shopping and bars.

Room Tip: depends what you like - some like the morning sun - some the afternoon. Rooms overlooking the pool h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Madam and Sir,

We would like to thank you for writing your opinion about your recent stay at Catalonia Ses Estaques, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

We really appreciate your positive review, it's a pleasure to know that you had a good time here with us and you will keep a good memory of Ibiza and our Hotel.
We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.

Best regards,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

we have just returned from 10 days at the Ses Estaques our third visit to this hotel and we was not disappointed , the staff was first class under the leadership seniora Isabela who set the standard for the rest of the staff. For us the meals were great and the A La Carte was to die for, the service was first class well done all . The Thomson staff of Harley and Paul led us in games and did wonderful job having to put up with me heckling them and pushing Paul in the pool . They were a good team just bounced off each other ( keep up the good work you two ).The weather was not too bad some rain but plenty of sun. every one of the staff could not be faulted they gave you first class service with a smile . All i can say it is worth a visit

Room Tip: all rooms have part sea view and on the one side you are overlooking the pool . All the rooms are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Madam and Sir,

We would like to thank you for writing your opinion about your recent stay at Catalonia Ses Estaques, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
We really appreciate your positive review, it's a pleasure to know that you had a good time here with us and you will keep a good memory of Ibiza and our Hotel.

Starting with myself and all my Colleagues we are delighted to have you back in our premises again this year for your 3rd visit and we hope to see you in the close future, being at your service and try once more to exceed your highest expectations.

Kind regards,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Once again I have enjoyed a wonderful two week holiday in this well run and most welcoming hotel. The restaurant staff were extremely efficient at all times, and Carmen in particular was a perfect example on how to treat guests. The food quality was very slightly down on previous visits (cant please all of the people all of the time Paco). This did not any way spoil our holiday. Must agree with Christine L that the meal in the a la carte restaurant Ses Savines was not enjoyable and I did not take up the invitation to eat there during my second week.
The entertainment this year was exceptional, namely the Gold Production Team. I don't know who pays these young singers but whoever it was it was not enough. They were in my view too good for the hotel stage. They would grace any west end stage with their vocal talent which ranged from opera to pop. Cant praise them enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it.
We particularly appreciate your words about the Staff. This makes us feeling proud of the pleasant effort we put every day in our job. I agree with you with the professionalism of the Production Team and I am very pleased you shared this opinion on the web.

Starting with myself and all my Colleagues we are delighted to have you back in the "Family" again this year and we hope to see you in the close future, being at your service and try once more to exceed your highest expectations.

Yours Faithfully,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had booked a superior room with a balcony. Upon arrival we were shown to room 200 which looked nice until we opened the curtains and found no balcony. We reported this to reception and were told we could have another room but it would be a twin. Not a problem. The next room had a balcony but was so small you could just walk round the bed. We decided to forfeit the balcony answer had booked a superior room for the extra space as I was recovering from a serious illness and needed lots of rest. The Thomsons rep had the attitude of take it or leave it as the hotel had a large number of returnees. Not much to give a welcome to first timers. There are notices in reception saying that is you are returnee you can e-mail ahead to get a good room. On our last day the rep (Bronwyn) suddenly developed a interest in our room and told us that we couldn't be in room 200 Asti is not a Thomson room and that they often put extras into a standard room and call it a superior although they are much smaller. No offer of any refund when we did not get what we booked.What a con. We have never been in a hotel where so many people asked to change rooms. I can only assume all the returnees get the best rooms. Many of the rooms are noisy as they overlook the pool and entertainment which often goes on until midnight.. On a positive note, the location is perfect with an easy walk to shops and a sandy beach as there is no access to the sea at the hotel except via a ladder.The hotel staff were some of the best we have ever had and nothing was too much for them. We have been to see our advisor in store and have been advised to contact Thomson direct as what we were offered was not what our booking form stated in either room. Although we lovedSanta Eulalia we would not return to this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Madam and Sir,

We would like to thank you for taking some of your time and writing down your thoughts and experiences about us and sharing them on the tripadvisor, as your review is very much appreciated for us.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you as our Guests in the Hotel and your kind words only encourages us to try to improve day by day; however, we are very sorry not to have covered your expectations regarding the incident related with the room.
Please be aware that I have taken notice of it and I shall try to amend the above; as for us, our most important achievement is to fulfill your expectations.
Still I would like to underline that we have the same consideration for all Guests, new and repeaters; and that everyone, is free to contact us for a specific request and not only the repeaters which of course are aware of it because have been here before........... As you could see our Hotel is fully booked along the whole season so, sometimes we cannot accomplish with this requirement which is not an obligation but a way to demonstrate our attachment to the job and to our dear Customers.

Forgive us once more, for not making your holiday as enjoyable as expected and we hope that this does not stop you from coming over to see us again in the future.

Best regards,
Giancarlo Dell´Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Ses Estaques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Ses Estaques

Address: Playa Ses Estaques, 07840 Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel located on the seafront near Santa Eularia des Riu , one of the largest, most beautiful towns of Ibiza, just 16 kilometres from the capital. In Santa Eularia des Riu you will find excellent restaurants and beaches, renowned for their beauty and tranquility. Catalonia Ses Estaques is situated in a luxuriant pine forest and enjoys fantastic views over the marina and the town centre. Guests can enjoy a wealth of facilities including a superb terrace with garden, swimming-pool, bar, solarium and two Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Catalonia Ses Estaques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Ses Estaques Hotel
Hotel Ses Estaques
Catalonia Ses Estaques Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Ses Estaques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.