We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late September relaxing break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palladium Hotel Don Carlos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palladium Hotel Don Carlos to your Saves list
Palladium Hotel Don Carlos
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C/ Los Rosales 53 Urb. Siesta, 07849 Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain (Formerly Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos)   |  
Hotel amenities
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Late September relaxing break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked a week's AI in a Suite through Thomson, staying at the end of September 2013...wish we'd booked longer!
Arrived about midday to welcome drinks and smiles. Check in was quite quick with passports being returned immediately after scanning. We were offered assistance with cases but declined. The two hotel lifts are only 4 person rated, so the two of us and the luggage filled one up. We were allocated room 333 (on the 3rd floor unsurprisingly) which overlooked the pool and the small local beach to the east.
On entry to the room (past the room key holder switch for the lights and air conditioning) the wardrobe unit had plenty of hanging space, two largish drawers, shelves, iron and ironing board, fridge and free safe. Complementary water in the fridge on arrival which we restocked daily from the bar.
Past the wardrobe area was a small seating area with sofa, table, chair and wall mounted flat screen TV. The sofa backed on to the headboard of the king size double bed with small tables and drawers each side with lights over and also had a flat screen TV on the opposite wall. Past the sofa and to the left of the bed were the two patio doors at each end of the wall that led out onto the double balcony, furnished with two chairs, a table and pull out clothes airer, so no need to hang towels over the balcony rail to dry.
The other side of the bed had the large 2 person whirlpool bath with shower attachment. The wall behind the wardrobes housed two basins with mirrors over, vanity mirror and hair dryer. Tip...make sure you turn off the hair dryer at the switch on the holder or you'll be treated to a disco light that's bound to keep you awake all night! Behind the wall at the back of the bath are the toilet and shower in semi open plan mode (both have frosted glass doors, but are not in a separate room), with a very large floor to ceiling mirror on the wall facing them. Additional shelves were situated adjacent to the basins for towels etc. Bathroom supplies included soap, shampoos, shower gels, shower caps, bath sponges, toothbrush kits, sewing kit and shoe shine pad. Items were restocked as they were used. The room came with complementary dressing gowns and slippers. There was a kettle and tea/coffee facilities plus a radio with iPod dock and stereo 3.5 mm jack input on the back. Never did work out how to set the time!
Pool towel tickets were supplied with the room info envelope. These were exchanged for towels at the lifeguard position near the restaurant end of the pool. In the afternoons, they only exchange tickets for wet towels, so get fresh towels in the mornings.
The pool appeared to be unheated, but with uncharacteristically warm weather for late September (28 - 30C) it was a nice to cool off in when it got too hot. Plenty of sun loungers (some got reserved early-ish, but not many), sunshades, open and Bali beds, all on two levels over looking the local bay and beach. Access to the beach is via one of two gates with key card locks on the outside. The bay below had both hard standings and a good sandy beach. The whole bay is cordoned off as a swimming area. Good snorkelling with a variety of fish and squid to observe (one inked me as I filmed it...must have frightened it). Payable beach loungers and parasols with a small snack bar a the far end of the bay...popular.
There was one bar serving the pool, patio area (evening entertainment) and inside seating areas. Draught beer (lager) in small, medium and pint glasses (plastic beakers for the pool area) plus a large selection of cava, wines and spirits...pretty much all of it included in the AI deal. As the hotel also caters for half board, AI guests need to show wrist band and sign for drinks...bit of a faff, but I can see why. Staff excellent and table service if requested.
Toilets for the pool area are to the left of the outside bar just before the small gym room...no idea what's in there...didn't look. There are also courtesy toilets in the lobby area.
There is one main buffet restaurant for all meals...7.30 - 10, 1 - 3 and 7 - 9.30 IIRC. Good if not massive selection of dishes. Great breakfasts. AI included choice of bottles of wine with meals (not breakfast!). There is also a bookable a la carte below the main buffet restaurant, where you can elect to dine al fresco, provided it's not too windy. Two visits in a week. Possible to book on the day. Again not a massive menu, but the steaks were really nice!
The lobby has a small library to borrow books from and a large bird cage with a toy Phoenix which lays an egg each day into a cotton wool nest, which eventually hatch. Nice joke!
All staff friendly and helpful, language not a problem. Entertainment staff work hard, as do the chamber maids and all with a smile!
Easy walking access to Santa Eularia via the near by foot bridge over the river and the wide paved promenade that skirts the whole. of the bay.
Great relaxing adult only hotel. Mixture of British, French, German and Spanish guests made for a nice multi cultural break. Would we go back? Most definitely!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Recepción at Palladium Hotel Don Carlos, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guest.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are happy that you had a great time at our Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos and that you were satisfied with our services.

For us it’s very important to exceed your expectations and your valuable comments help us to work in the same way.

We hope to see you again at the Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    189
    66
    20
    6
See reviews for
81
433
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Having just returned from my holidays in Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos I cannot emphasize how amazing this hotel is! From the surroundings to the rooms, the restaurants, beach and most importantly the staff. The staff in this hotel treat you more like family rather than a paying guest, and in particular I would like to especially mention reception and management for their hospitality. The staff seems well trained and if like me you like more natural, soft but yet luxury looking places, you will like the impression of authenticity and tranquility at Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and would love to return next time I visit Ibiza. B-

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Recepción at Palladium Hotel Don Carlos, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and the travel community.

We are very pleased that you had a great time at our Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos and that you were satisfied with our services, rooms and food. We hope to see you again at the Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Really nice hotel! My girlfriend and I really enjoyed to spend a week in there. The service, the accommodation and location is amazing. We are planning to come back next summer again. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Recepción at Palladium Hotel Don Carlos, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

On my behalf and the Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holidays in our Hotel.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about the hotel and for your really valuable comments. Any opportunity for improvement through this kind of sincere and constructive feedback is gladly welcome.

We are so glad to hear that everything went so well while you were here with us, it is our main objective to exceed your expectations and it is a great motivation for us when we receive comments like yours, make us keep in the same path and improve day by day.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos .

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here for a week 21st - 28th Sept. Hotel lovely and very clean. Food could of been a bit more plentiful, more fruit would of been good. All inclusive option that we had was good as all branded drinks. Swimming pool was freezing so could of done with it being heated this time of year. Staff were all very helpful, polite and friendly. Brilliant restaurant just by the hotel that does amazing steaks. Shops and restaurants only a 10 minute walk away. Holiday overall was really chilled, would like to go back again when its a little busier.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Recepción at Palladium Hotel Don Carlos, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your comments and advices. Due to your help we can always improve our services.
We are happy that you had a great time at our Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos and that you were satisfied with our services, rooms and food.

Although I would like to inform you that we will take in consideration all your comments and we hope to see you again at one of our Fiesta Hotel Group resorts/hotels in the future.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My Wife and I spent a week in the Don Carlos 23-30 Sept 13,this was our 1st visit to Ibiza.The hotel was a brilliant place to stay,the staff very friendly and helpful.The main areas of the hotel were spotless with a large well appointed restaurant with views over the bay,all meals buffet style,we were spoilt for choice with a large array of continental and UK style dishes,waiter service provided drinks as requested.There is a large pool with lots of sun-loungers , chairs and parasols available.Also close by the well stocked bar,providing all types of drinks + coffee and snacks,waiter service if required.There is a small stage nearby offering nightly entertainment ( music ) Our room (301) was situated on the 3rd floor (2 lift's available) 1st impression fantastic,recently refurbished,walk-in shower in the all mod-con's bathroom.Main bedroom twin beds,coffee making kettle and cups (provide your own makings) mini fridge,safe & a large flat screen TV on the wall.We had a balcony (sea view + quiet) sadly this did not come up to our expectations,the view was obscured by tree's in the small local park below,and there was a workshop nearby sawing wood and hammering a good part of the day.Pity, but as there were no other rooms available (hotel full) we stayed but did not use the balcony much.The hotel is situated about 1.5 km from the local town,Santa Eulalia,a very pleasant walk along the promenade lined with palm trees and sandy beeches,plenty of cafe's along the way.The town has a selection of shops and restaurants also a bus station & ferry terminal,both useful for traveling around the island.We would recommend this hotel for those wishing a quieter holiday,but stay clear of room 301 which spoilt an otherwise brilliant holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here in sept all inc. great value for money. Food always good with good options, couldn't fault it and we are fussy eaters! Al la carte food nice, beautiful setting and nice wine. We planned evening meals out but didn't end up doing these because the food was always good.
Staff were exceptional! Restaurant manager was lovely :-)
Great people! We had a fab holiday! We are 26 and 28 and I'd say we were the youngest but that really didn't matter here.
Pool view of the sea everyday was magical!
We would recommend this hotel to anyone, for the price you really cannot complain (I would guess that the moaners writing on here have nothing better to do).
Thanks to all the staff for a great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

group of four of us for 11 nights all inclusive sept 2013. fantastic holiday and hotel. very clean rooms and friendly staff. food very good and we also had the chance to change to the al a carte for 3 nights included in the price. would recommend to anyone. entertainment was very good standard and even had organist at breakfast.

Room Tip: if you are opting for the suite then ask for one not overlooking the pool as the entertainment was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Recepción at Palladium Hotel Don Carlos, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We are happy that you had a great time at our Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos and that you were satisfied with our services, rooms and food.

Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your feedback do to your help we can always improve our service.

We hope to see you again at the Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos and we are sure you will enjoy our entertainment.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palladium Hotel Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palladium Hotel Don Carlos

Address: C/ Los Rosales 53 Urb. Siesta, 07849 Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain (Formerly Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palladium Hotel Don Carlos 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palladium Hotel Don Carlos is an adults only, exclusive hotel situaded an ideal place for a couple to spend a relaxed and romantic holiday. For a peaceful holiday for couples, friends or families, as its located right on the beachfront in a beautiful and quiet area surrounded by pine trees. It has been completely refurbished with a modern and chic touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palladium Hotel Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Hotel Ibiza
Palladium Hotel Don Carlos Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palladium Hotel Don Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.