We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay at this hotel again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Palladium Hotel Don Carlos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palladium Hotel Don Carlos to your Saves list
Palladium Hotel Don Carlos
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C/ Los Rosales 53 Urb. Siesta, 07849 Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain (Formerly Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos)   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay at this hotel again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is OK, but in my view doesn't deserve the 4* rating.

Let me start with the positives:
- Good location (near Cala Llonga, about 2km from the centre of Santa Eulalia)
- Modern decor
- Friendly staff

Now the negatives:
- Sound insulation is really, really poor. You can hear the person snoring in the room next to you and if you fancy staying in bed for longer, well, you cannot. The cleaners start shift around 8.30 and they *will* wake you up.
- Poor cleaning. Both rooms and communal areas are not very clean. This shows by the attitude of the cleaning staff. We had a couple of used coffee mugs in our room - the cleaners would not pick them up after days. Also surfaces in the bathroom had dust on them and ground floor toilets were dirty,
- Food is below average. They will charge you EUR 3 for a freshly squeezed juice in breakfast. Breakfast selection is limited, but, granted, you will find most things like eggs, bacon, beans, etc.
- Room wifi is extortionate. I think it's 20 EUR per day. How can they get away with charging these prices for internet in this day and age??? There is free wifi in the lobby but speed is poor.
- Clientele is on the old side (50+). Any time of the day there are plenty of older people having a nap in the pool area and they get angry if you make even the slightest noise.
- Beach is nothing special, you'll have to drive away to find some nice swimming beaches.
- Our sea view room, was really side-sea view - we had no direct view to the beach but was told "it was a sea view room". After coming from a holiday in Formentera where we stayed in proper sea view room, the view from this hotel room was disappointing to say the least.

Overall, I'd never stay at this hotel again, primarily due to really poor sleep quality and the state of cleanliness.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Recepción at Palladium Hotel Don Carlos, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Michalis
.
We thank you for taking some of your valuable time to write to us, advising us of your feelings and opinions.

We appreciate a lot, your evaluation of our service and installations .It is for us very important as the information we collect helps us to know your opinion so that we can improve our service day by Day.

According to the cleaning of the hotel we are sorry you had this impression during your holiday because for us it´s a very important aspect of the hotel.

We also are very pleased to know the staffs was helpful during your holidays .

It is our main objective to exceed your expectations and it is a great motivation for us when we receive comments like yours.

Your comments are really helpful in order to give efficient solutions.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos .

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    189
    66
    20
    6
See reviews for
81
433
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks holiday at the Don Carlos. We had a really good holiday. Very nice location. Lovely dining room, Great to eat on the terrace overlooking the sea. Dining staff were very friendly and helpful. Good selection of food. Whole place is kept really clean. Well done to the staff. Cecile and Alvis were brilliant, so friendly to everyone, we had some excellent evenings in the hotel, a real lot of fun with great entertainment. Elisa was always cheerful behind the bar. Will go back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked this holiday through Thompson for our honeymoon.

On arrival the reception were quick and efficient and we were handed a glass of champagne each. We then went to our suite and oh......my.......goodness!!

We couldn't believe our eyes and luck....we were waiting for the knock on the door to tell us we were in the wrong room! It was wonderful. It had a lounge area with a large flat screen tv, a massive bed with another flat screen tv. It had a double bath, his and hers sinks, shower room and so much storage space.

But the best bit.....the balcony had the most amazing view of the beautifully lit pool at night and the beach and sea during the day. Then there were steps leading down to two private sun loungers and a hot tub! Oh my goodness the luxury!! It was awesome, amazing, wonderful!!

The suite had air con so we could sleep comfortably, the bed by the way was so comfy, we considered bringing it home with us! One day we returned to our room and they had put towel swans with real flowers scattered over the bed...beautiful :-)

The pool was lovely, we only used it once.....well we did have our own hot tub!! It had lovely chairs with water jets for relaxing.

The hotel itself was very clean, tidy and comfortable. Really well decorated and stylish. There is an area with free wifi which was brilliant.

Food.....oh yes!! We were all inclusive so had all three meals and it was lovely. They had lots of variety and even had theme nights. I never had one bad meal, I'm quite picky but there was always food to get my taste buds going! We were allowed to eat in the al a carte restaurant but we didn't fancy it.

All the staff were so friendly and always happy. The entertainment staff were brilliant and funny. There were lots of activities planned for during the day and evening, not all to our tastes but on the whole very good.

We had such an amazing time at Don Carlos, and would recommend it in a heartbeat. We've only been home one day and we want to be back already!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Well would we .... I'm not too sure. Staff very friendly, hotel very clean, food was delicious although a little repetitive. So why am I hesitating? Was it because the reception area was lacking something and the lounge area was so minimalist that making conversation with other couples without shouting was impossible? Was it because we couldn't understand why you were provided with a kettle and cups but not tea and coffee? Was it because some days we had water replaced in the fridge but the majority of the time it wasn't? Was it because the pillow (singular) provided was rock hard and each morning we woke with a stiff neck or was it that if we wanted a different pillow we had to pay 7 euro each per day? Was it because if you wanted fresh orange juice you had to pay 3 euro for it even though oranges are grown there aren't they? Was it because there wasn't a beach but if you wanted to lie on the public beach you had to pay for the sun loungers? Was it because if you wanted the WiFi free you had to huddle together in the reception area but if you paid 10 euro you could have it in your room. I know I'm sounded very negative which I really don't mean to be as we had a very quiet relaxing holiday but if we do All Inclusive we do not expect to pay for things like these. So will we go again ..... to Ibiza ..... yes .... to the hotel ..... I don't think so.

Room Tip: Go for higher rooms, at a guess 425 would give you a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Recepción at Palladium Hotel Don Carlos, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about the hotel and for your really valuable comments. Any opportunity for improvement through this kind of sincere and constructive feedback is gladly welcome.

We are very sorry to listen that some things from the hotel did not fully satisfy your expectations. Please accept our most sincere apologies, we will definitely learn from your comments and we are working very hard to improve and satisfy all our guests’ requests.

It is our main objective to exceed your expectations and it is a great motivation for us when we receive comments like yours. Your comments are really helpful in order to give efficient solutions.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos .

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We used to regularly stay at the Don Carlos 20 - 30 years ago when it was a good 3 star family hotel. We went for 2 weeks in June and had booked a sea view suite and all inclusive. We have stayed at other Fiesta adults only hotels in the past. The food was adequate but not as good as the Fiesta Cala Llonga, apart from the A la Carte, which was excellent. All the staff were very friendly, the entertainment team, Aivis and Cecile worked very hard. They spoke to everyone every day and knew all our names. The evening entertainment was about the best we have experienced, a brilliant comedian/singer, Harry James, fantastic flamenco show modern style accompanied by three girls playing violin, viola and cello, Explosive. Also a hilarious Spaniard called Jesus and guitar and keyboard artist, David Vincent. Our final night was a hippy night disco ran by Fernando Arte. The best I have ever heard at any hotel.

Only one slight complaint. There was an intermittent nasty smell from the shower. After complaining to Irene in reception we were eventually moved to an upgraded garden suite. We found Irene very friendly and caring and she could not do enough to help us. I had read a review on this site from a person who described Irene as Hitler, which I thought was very rude. On the second day of our holiday this person booked in with his wife and never stopped complaining and bragging about his previous review. He was waiting for his room to be ready at the pool bar and ripped off his all inclusive badge saying it was too tight. Even his wife accused him of acting like a child. If he complains so much why has he returned for the past 25 years ? We later saw him waving his finger at the reception staff. Very, very rude.

All in all a fantastic holiday. All age groups stay there from couples in their 20s to couples in their 70s. Not at all a blue rinse brigade hotel as some have suggested.

Room Tip: Choose a suite. They have so much more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Recepción at Palladium Hotel Don Carlos, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear tedking123,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are happy that you had a great time at our Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos and that you were satisfied with our services.
For us it’s very important to exceed your expectations and your valuable comments help us to work in the same way.
We hope to see you again at the Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have just got home from a 10 day stay at the Don Carlos and we are already planning our return for next year.
Hotel - The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and very modern, there is free wifi in the lobby area and although a little sparse on the seating is a comfy place to sit for a little while to catch up with your emails etc. All of the reception staff are very friendly and can’t do enough for you – they booked us taxi’s, made us restaurant reservations and were always there with a smile to answer any questions we had. Location wise it’s only a short walk into the town where you can find a large number of bars and restaurants as well as many shops.
Rooms - The standard rooms are more than adequate, with a safe, a big TV, balcony and a fabulous shower. Our only gripe was the beds are two singles (small) pushed together, and they have wheels, so they have a tendency to slide around a lot as you turn over, and they seemed really small and not particularly comfy, so for this reason we are going to book way in advance for next year and pay for a suite which comes with a king size bed. Our view was over the side of the hotel and although you could see the sea it was by no means a ‘sea view’, but the bonus to this was that it was far enough away from the pool area to be very quiet, and we didn’t spend much time in our room anyway so was not really an issue. The fridge was a little awkward to get into as the cupboard it’s housed in opens to the right and the fridge inside opens to the left, but these are extremely minor niggles as overall we were pleasantly surprised at the overall standard of the room.
Bar - The bar is stocked with most known brands of alcohol and provides local beer in tap as well as a variety of soft drinks. The all inclusive packages can be paid for on arrival and one is all inclusive drinks, and the other also includes food (lunch & snacks). We opted for the drink only as we intended to go out during the day so wouldn’t be around to take advantage of the lunch provided, but to be honest there’s not much in the price and if you intend on hanging around the hotel a lot them the food & drink option is good value, if like us you plan on going out sight- seeing most days then the drinks band is still worth it as you can stock up on bottles water from the bar and put it in your fridge as well as not have to worry about those evening cocktails adding up. We had a couple of jugs of sangria most evenings just to get the evening under way so it can soon add up.
Food – The main restaurant was very good. The food was always hot and fresh and had a good selection most evenings. You could have various items freshly cooked while you waited at both breakfast and dinner and although some people have moaned about it in their reviews I have to say I’ve stayed at higher rating hotels and had far worse food. We only ate in the Bella Vista a la carte restaurant once during our stay; simply because we were happy with the main restaurant so were in no hurry to book it and by the time we did we were nearly at the end of our stay. It was great and we had a lovely evening on the terrace overlooking the sea eating and drinking.
Pool/entertainment – the pool area is wonderful, they are plenty of sun beds and the pool itself has a seated bit that has jets to massage you. There could be a few more umbrellas however, and my only proper issue with the whole holiday was the fact that people would get up at 7am and put all their towels/books on the Bali Beds (huge bed like sun loungers) and then go out for the day and not come back until late afternoon. Its one thing to put your towel on a lounger and go for breakfast for half an hour, quite another to ‘reserve’ a place and then go on a day excursion. I think the hotel should bring in an hour long policy when it comes to this, and if you haven’t returned in an hour then a pool attendant should just remove the towels/bags and put them away for safe keeping.
We stayed in a few nights whilst there and saw the Flamenco Dancing show and took part in a movie quiz as well one night, and we had a really good laugh. During the day there are various activities to do but at no point are you bullied into doing anything and a ‘no thanks’ is always met with a smile and a swift retreat.
A special mention has to go to Aivis of the hotels ‘animation team’ though; he is by far the best hotel entertainment rep we’ve ever met. Not only is he funny (hilarious in fact) but he’s friendly, happy, and always up for a laugh, you can see he genuinely enjoys his job and his enthusiasm rubs off on you. He certainly made the holiday for us and we very much hope he is still there next year when we return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have just returned from a week in the Don Carlos and wished I could bring the weather with me ! I have never written a review before, however I always read other peoples reviews and can often be swayed by what they say. Thankfully I ignored any adverse comments, of which there were few anyway, and had one of the best weeks holidays ever. Like others I was a bit scared of the adults only tag, all it meant that there was a variety of ages minus kids. The hotel itself was spotless, the rooms excellent and the staff amazing. The entertainment team however should be on the television, they actually made the holiday even better. Never have I laughed so much and never have I seen 2 people work so hard, they made time for everyone but never pestered. Avis in particular was frankly hysterical and entertained us better than the acts brought in for the evening entertainment. The staff throughout the hotel were a credit to the management and I will definately be going back, like so many others do, next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Recepción at Palladium Hotel Don Carlos, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Lesley H,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are happy that you had a great time at our Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos and that you were satisfied with our services.
We hope to see you again at the Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos and we are sure you will enjoy again our entertainment.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palladium Hotel Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palladium Hotel Don Carlos

Address: C/ Los Rosales 53 Urb. Siesta, 07849 Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain (Formerly Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palladium Hotel Don Carlos 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palladium Hotel Don Carlos is an adults only, exclusive hotel situaded an ideal place for a couple to spend a relaxed and romantic holiday. For a peaceful holiday for couples, friends or families, as its located right on the beachfront in a beautiful and quiet area surrounded by pine trees. It has been completely refurbished with a modern and chic touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palladium Hotel Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Hotel Ibiza
Palladium Hotel Don Carlos Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palladium Hotel Don Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.