We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good curry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kathmandu

Kathmandu
Carrer St Vicent (Restaurant St), Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
971 339 635
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Really good curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice over the week.
Fab curry, service, , portions and price.
Very busy...huge naan breads!
Still as good as two years ago.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    65
    59
    22
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent curry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We've eaten here during every stay in Santa Eulaia since it opened up 2 or 3 years ago and can honestly say this is the the best Indian restaurant for food we've been to, anywhere!
The main courses are tasty and full of flavour (recommend lamb jalfrezi and chicken karahi in particular). The rice is fluffy and buttery and the naan bread is huge.
The reason I've only given a score of 4 and not 5 is the service we received this time. The restaurant was busy on our two visits (within a week!) and we felt the service was somewhat lacking and we were 'forgotten about' on our second visit and a prompt was needed to even get the menu to look at. The last time we went, the owner recognised us from our previous visits and was much more attentive. As the restaurant has got busier, perhaps its time to employ more staff?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great curry.. Good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We ate as a family of four, pops to start, children had a large portion of chicken tikka masala each, we had rogan josh, dopiaza and a very large naan bread and rice. Cost for all and four drinks which included two large beers was less than fifty euros.
We did find the meals were quite 'similar ' in flavour and mild for a rogan / dopiaza but all in all a very nice meal. Good surroundings and very clean. Service with a smile.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't worry eat curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

By far the best Indian food I have ever tasted why this restaurant is not in the top 3 on trip advisor is beyond me. Beware if you are English and you order starters,mains,side,rice and naan at home you will be in for more of a man vs food challenge than you could believe the naan itself is the size of a small table top. Would shout from the rooftops about this place but I can't climb the stairs as I ate far to much.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“good meal in busy restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Busiest restaurant in the street when we visited on an evening threatening rain. We had not booked but managed to get a table just inside the open door, but soon every table was full. The food was fine but not outstanding, service perfectly OK.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathmandu also viewed

Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza
Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza
 
Ibiza Town, Ibiza
Ibiza Town, Ibiza
 

Been to Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathmandu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.