We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Glorious Farmhouse in the Andalucian Hills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Almuna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gaucin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Almuna
Apto 20, 29480 Gaucin, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Glorious Farmhouse in the Andalucian Hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Diana runs this wonderful haven on a remote estate with sweeping views from the bedrooms and terrace to Gibraltar and Africa. It feels like a 'home from home' and she does everything possible to make your stay as comfortable and relaxed as possible.

It was the first holiday abroad since my wife and I got married and we will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

What a beautiful place and incredibly hospitable. Comfortable, relaxed and stunning scenery and wonderful food! What more can I say but treat yourself!! Although I should really keep it a secret...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddleworth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Stayed here last year, and returned again this year as part of a horse riding holiday with Ride Andalucia. It's a hidden gem!

On arrival you are greeted by Diana, the most amiable & generous host, followed by a flurry of dogs, the wonderful smell of blossom from the many fruit trees and flowers which surround the farmhouse, and the delicious aroma's from Diana's kitchen. The food is fantastic (maybe not on your waistline!) and much of what diana cooks is sourced from her veggie patch and from her home grown herbs. Her warm welcome usually involves a large Gin & Tonic and directions to the lovely swimming pool in the grounds. The atmosphere here is totally relaxed, with people who randomly drop by for a chat, a basket of lemons from her tree, or for dinner!!

Along with my sister, I was fortunate to be staying with here on on the last night of our riding tour when the volcano errupted in Iceland. Our flight was delayed for 4 days .We had dinner by the roaring fire on a chilly night, picked our own grapefruits for breakfast, and had the best time ever, we really didn't want to go home.

In summary, a very special place to stay with a very special lady... Thanks x

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

What a magical spell La Almuña casts! An utterly charming farmhouse, magnificent views, huge sunny terrace and gardens, delicious food, funny friendly dogs, horses all around – and Diana’s warm and welcoming hospitality makes you feel completely at home. We’ll definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

La Almuna is a truly a “home from home”. On arrival we were greeted by Diana, our warm and convivial host, together with her 3 very friendly dogs, all of whom made us feel very welcome from the start. The house is beautifully located in a quiet spot a few km outside of Gaucin, and boasts absolutely magnificent views over the Andalucian countryside. The food and accommodation are both excellent. This is an ideal place for nature-lovers - the walks in the surrounding area are very good and the countryside is rich with bird-life and other animals- and also for those just wanting to relax and do nothing. We arrived absolutely exhausted from our stressful jobs in London, and very quickly felt ourselves unwind, comforted by the informal and inviting atmosphere and Diana’s fantastic hospitality.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2006

Dian Paget runs this wonderful 'hotel' near Gaucin more like a house party than a hotel or formal guest house. If you enjoy meeting loads of hugely entertaining people and drinking wine by the gallon on Diana's beautiful terrace this is the place for you. The countrside is stunning, Diana's cooking is wonderful, and La Almuna has a charm seldom found elsewhere. After five minutes you have a glass of wine in your hand and feel like part of the family. If you're happy helping yourself to drinks from the fridge, raiding the larder and sitting on the kitchen units whil;e chatting to all and sundry you'll love this place. If you find the idea of swallows swooping through the house to feed their young nesting in the eves of the sitting room a little distressing, then don't come. This place is not smart......at all!! But it is oh so relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Almuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Almuna

Address: Apto 20, 29480 Gaucin, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Gaucin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty lodging in Gaucin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Almuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Almuna to your Saves list