We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal at La Fructosa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fructuosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Fructuosa to your Saves list
La Fructuosa
Luis de Arminan 67, 29480 Gaucin, Spain   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Meal at La Fructosa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We didn't actually stay at La Fructosa but we were recommended to go and try the food for our evening meals.
We were not disappointed - fantastic!

The food was all brilliant, fresh local produce and great service from Pilar who was really helpful every time we went. she went out of her way to make us feel special. She was so kind we just had to go back again.

Even if you can't get in to the hotel make sure you go and try the food. Inside or out on the terrace you will not be disappointed. Make sure you book - it gets really busy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    19
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
90
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Received and read lots of great reviews on this hotel. So we had to discover for ourselves when we headed towards Gaucin. Was there for 3 nights and fell in love with this beautifully unique hotel that is rich in history.The great thing is the new owners (since 1997) kept its original name and preserved as many parts of the building which used to be a guest house for over 150 years.

The views from our 2nd floor room over the mountaineous terrrains and towards Morocco was amazing. There are in total 3 floors with 2-3 rooms each floor. Top floor which is also adjacent to the roof terrace have an amazing unobstructed view of the landscape, best to hang out in the day with a glass of beer or wine. For 100€ per night with good, quality breakfast we have chosen well. The room had was clean, spacious with a good shower and bath. Luis, the owner and his staff like Pilar are very hospitable, helpful and friendly. They even helped me organised a mini birthday surprise for my partner during dinner, which was really lovely.

La Fructuosa is also a famous restaurant in Gaucin but only open between Thur - Sat and winter Fri & Sat only. Luis also chip in to serve customers alongside his staff. They serve fresh local produce. Its restaurant is located at the ground floor garden terrace overlooking the valley. Reservation is recommended.

If you drive there is no direct carpark unless you manage to find one opposite the hotel along the curb/road. Otherwise the nearest carpark is only less than 5mins away. During the day there won't be any service staff on hand so you have to ring Luis when checking in so having a local mobile is definitely handy.

Room Tip: For better view of the valley 2nd or 3rd (top) floor recommended. No a/c but you don't need it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our second holiday in Gaucin, this beautiful authentic hotel is hard to beat, from the food, to the staff and owners Luis and Jesus, they make you feel so welcome it is just fabulous.
My son is nine and my daughter is eighteen and they just loved everything from the food to the hosts, nothing is a trouble. The menu is suitable for children as you can order small portion's which is sometimes a issue in some restaurants of this standard, the hotel is very family friendly.
We eaten at several Restaurants in Gaucin but this is certainly one of the best. Also you must visit Louis's antique shop El Convento you can't go in without coming home with something.It is just lovely.

Thank -you to you all, see you again next year the Keenan family Co Durham England

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twyford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was our first visit to Gaucin. There are a number of good places to eat both tapas and restaurant food in Gaucin, but this was undoubtedly the bast. I echo what others have said; very good food, tables in the terrace offer a simply stunning view whilst you eat and the staff were lovely. Can't fault it. Open Thursday, Friday & Saturday evenings only. You will need to book, just to be safe. Give it a go! Sort of place for an end of holiday blow out..... but you may just want to give it a couple of visits whilst you are on holiday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had our last meal in Gaucín at the restaurant of La Fructuosa. It was a great decision. The views out towards Gibraltar and the Mediterranean were superb, in a delightful terrace setting. The food was quite delicious and enjoyed by every member of our group of 8. The wines we had were from Gaucín and from Ribero del Duero (both excellent). The service was both utterly charming and efficient. The restaurant is easy to miss because as it is listed in TripAdvisor as only a hotel and it is not marketed strongly locally: notwithstanding, it is worth seeking out. Giles P

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Thought i'd share this stunning chic Hotel.... stayed in a room over looking the valley on a clear night you can see twinkling lights of Tangiers and Gibralter.
The hotel is simply stunning great bedrooms.
The food here is simply outstanding every effort is made to make you feel special very special indeed.... would i return you bet.
Its a 2 hour drive from Malaga the village itself is worth exploring also close to Ronda.
Fantastic!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Book it as your next trip to Spain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This was my favourite meal out during our stay in Gaucin. We had eaten here before during our last visit in 2010 and the experience was even better than before. Firstly the terrace is a real treat looking out to the mountains and it is delightfully decked with vines, plants and pretty lights. They even plus in insect repellents to make your stay more comfortable, none of us were bitten! Host was charming and took us through the menu and they were very accommodating with my younger daughter who only likes simple food, preparing a simple dish of pasta and prawns specially for her. My husband and I had prawns in brandy to start, delicious and very nicely presented, my other daughter had a tasty salad. My main course was sea bream which was cooked to perfection, husband had oxtail which he really liked and daughter had tasty baked lamb leg. We had a nice bottle of white wine and a glass of Cava to start. Girls had soft drinks. We were too full for deserts. Bill came to 117 euros which I thought was a very fair price for a thoroughly enjoyable meal in enchanting surroundings. Great! One word of warning, when we visited the restaurant was only open on Friday and Saturday so be sure to make a booking if you want to eat out on the terrace.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fructuosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fructuosa

Address: Luis de Arminan 67, 29480 Gaucin, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Gaucin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaucin, is a beautiful white mountain village, part of the Serrania de Ronda. The Hotel La Fructuosa is in the centre of this lovely village, offering a calm, cozy atmosphere and spectacular views, from each of the five large and comfortable rooms and its terraces, of the Genal Valley and extending to Gibraltar and Morocco. An ancient wine press has been preserved, and is now an original setting for the breakfast room. Breakfast also may be served while enjoying the breathtaking view from the ground floor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Fructuosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fructuosa Gaucin
La Fructuosa Hotel Gaucin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fructuosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.