We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fructuosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Fructuosa to your Saves list
La Fructuosa
Luis de Arminan 67, 29480 Gaucin, Spain   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Airdrie, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. We were over for our friend's wedding. The hotel is very centrally located, clean and rustic looking. The rooms are very spacious, and the views are breathtaking, looking out to the hills in Gaucin. The owner and staff of the hotel were very helpful and the owner was only a phone call away. We felt as though we had the hotel all to ourselves as the owner and staff were only there for a couple of hours in the morning to clean the rooms. The hotel had a very relaxed feel to it as all vacant hotel rooms had their doors open. The week we were there was very quiet, so we felt as though we were in an apartment all to ourselves. There was a beautiful open terrace where you could sit and relax during the day. I loved the deli across from the hotel. It did amazing food. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    21
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
96
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Myself and my new wife spent a week in La Fructuosa in Jan'13. Jesus , the owner, was incredibly personable helping us with things to do during the day in Gaucin (The umbria walk is fantastic with spectacular views).
The room immediately opposite the entrance to the hotel has exceptional views over the straits of Gibraltar and Morocco (on a clear day). It has a jacuzzi bath. If you open the bathroom shutters around 2-4pm you can take a jacuzzi bath whilst getting a tan. Fantastic.Incredibly clean and with a very reasonably priced minibar.
I cant fault the service or hotel.
Reception isnt staffed but we had access to Jesus' mobile and keys for the main door if there were any issues.
We will be staying again without a doubt! Even looking to maybe buy a place in Gaucin at some point. Loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wished that we had stayed for more than one night. Our room was very large, very comfortable and with amazing views. The owners were very helpful recommending local restaurants. Gaucin is a peaceful little white hill town and would make a great base for a longer stay to explore the area.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, Uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We dined here two years ago, and were looking forward to another excellent meal here - we weren't disappointed. Excellent food and convivial service, a fantastic view - if only this restaurant was open to non-residents more often than Friday and Saturday!
We were sorry to have missed Luis, but his business partner and the staff made us feel as if we were with old friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A delightful small hotel in the centre of the spectacular village of Gaucin.Tasteful restoration has included antique and original features to create an ambience of old-fashioned charm and character. From its 600m vantage point, views towards Gibraltar and Morocco - both clearly visible most days - are breath-taking.

If you like lots of plate glass and stainless steel, or to be endlessly fussed over by staff, this may not be for you. But then you probably won't have thought of coming to Gaucin. Owner Luiz is very friendly and welcoming. He also runs a gift/antique shop nearby (worth a visit too) so is often out of the hotel. But he is always available on the phone, speaks good English and is invariably helpful.

While the mountain location ensures there is often a breeze, there is no air-conditioning, nor did our room have a fan, so sleeping in mid-July was not entirely comfortable - the only negative for us.

La Fructosa is `room only' accommodation, so you need to seek brekfast at one of the nearby cafes or restaurants, which aren't always open before 10am. The hotel does, however, serve dinner at the weekends. The cuisine enjoys a justifiably high reputation locally, so booking is essential. We enjoyed a fantastic meal, easily the best of our holiday - it's a bit more expensive than the typical tapas bar, but in a different class altogether, and still decent value by UK standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

beautiful room and very nice view BUT very warm, no air conditioning at all, even not a fan. The bed was uncomfortable and the service non-existant....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesusgaucin, Propietario at La Fructuosa, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
First, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for expressing your opinion in order to help us improve. In fact, our hotel does not have air conditioning, information that normally it is possible to see in all the web sites where is our hotel. However, there are floor fans available to our clients who request them. Please forgive our error in not informing you of this possibility when you arrived.
As our hotel is very small, with only five rooms, it would make the hotel much more expensive to have someone there each afternoon. However, we always inform our guests that we may be reached at any hour by the mobil phone at the reception desk or at our antique shop, which is very close to the hotel.
We regret very much that we were not sufficiently clear on these details on the day of your arrival. We hope that you will give us a second chance.
One other thing: This is the first time that someone has complained about the comfort of the mattresses. Would it be possible for you to send us an e-mail to our address, lafructuosa@yahoo.es , telling us which room you were in so that we may improve our service.
Again, thank you for having chosen us. We send you greetings from Andalucía.
Jesus and Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have stayed in Gaucin on a number of occasions and eaten on the terrace of this hotel so this trip, we decided to stay the night. The hotel is small and very quirky but utterly brilliant for all that. The proprietors have a really laid back approach to hospitality but it works. The room was a delight with magnificent views to Gibraltar and beyond to North Africa - all visible whilst in the shower! Sadly, the dining room was not open that night but, knowing my wife needed a gluten free diet, Luis had booked is into a nearby restaurant and mad all the dietary arrangements. Simply brilliant but with only five rooms I was tempted not to tell anybody just how good it was in case we couldn't get in next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fructuosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fructuosa

Address: Luis de Arminan 67, 29480 Gaucin, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Gaucin
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaucin, is a beautiful white mountain village, part of the Serrania de Ronda. The Hotel La Fructuosa is in the centre of this lovely village, offering a calm, cozy atmosphere and spectacular views, from each of the five large and comfortable rooms and its terraces, of the Genal Valley and extending to Gibraltar and Morocco. An ancient wine press has been preserved, and is now an original setting for the breakfast room. Breakfast also may be served while enjoying the breathtaking view from the ground floor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Fructuosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fructuosa Gaucin
La Fructuosa Hotel Gaucin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fructuosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.