We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice apartments in a peacefuul location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos do Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamentos do Lago to your Saves list
Apartamentos do Lago
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Aldeamento das Varandas do Lago | Lago Azul, Ferreira do Zezere 2240-332, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very nice apartments in a peacefuul location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights here. The apartments are very large, clean, and nicely furnished. The kitchen was big and well equipped - refrigerator, oven, and stove, but no dishwasher. The AC kept the room very comfortable. You have a big table to eat at and even some plastic chairs and a little table if you want to enjoy the view and eat outside. The beds were comfortable. Our unit had two bathrooms - one with just a shower and one with a full bath.

The employees speak a little English and tried to be helpful. The front desk is not manned between midnight and 8 am. They literally lock the door to the hotel so you cannot leave or even get something out of your car in the early morning since you are locked in. If you need an early departure, make sure you make prior arrangements. There is no wifi in the apartment although you can get a weak signal in the lobby and TV room.

The apartment is far away from almost anything else. You have to drive and drive on a little twisty road to get to it and it is not particularly scenic until the very end. Make sure you stock up on groceries ahead of time because there is nowhere to get supplies nearby and the onsite cafe is not very useful. There is a restaurant you can drive to in a few miles.

We used this as a base for Tomar and some other locations even though it is a bit out of the way. The first night we there was a Friday night in mid-July and there seemed to be only 2-3 other guests at the hotel. However, the parking lot filled up for Saturday night. The ambiance was definitely different as one night was very quiet while the second one was like any other hotel.

The facility does not have a laundry room or laundry service available even though the room guide said it was. Supposedly some rooms have a washing machine, but ours did not.

Free yoga and meditation classes are available at 8 am on Sat and Sun. The big advantage is the large amount of space. The price we paid was very reasonable although it seemed quite a bit below what was advertised so we may have gotten a special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Apartment Hotel lies in a peaceful area with a very relaxing view onto the lake. The Apartments have exceeded my expectations, very well equipped for a small family, and a wide terrace. The staff is very friendly, and always creating a relaxed environment in every way.
Whether you just want to stay in, for complete relaxed moments, or you want to visit near-by historical sites (like Convent of Christ in Tomar)… the location is perfect!
The only item needing improvement is the possibility for a relaxed massage – right now they only have invigorating massage.

Room Tip: All apartments have view onto the lake. The higher the floor, the better the view. Also: Once there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our family enjoyed spending time at this incredible resort. The views were breathtaking and it is such a serene and calm place. The staff here is outstanding and truly the best we have ever encountered. A big thank you to Ricardo who went above and beyond for our family. My husband did a yoga and meditation class and said was amazing. We recommend this place to anyone who wants to be surrounded by beauty and peace.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Outstanding extra large apartments with big balconies overlooking the Lake and the stunningly beautiful, peaceful surroundings! Just Divine! It will be very hard to top this place! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We just came from vacation in Portugal and were staying in Apartamentos do Lago in April 2012. To our ropinion, it is difficult to find place more beautiful and so enjoable. Located on the lake shore, it allows you to spend days in exceptional natural beauty, in very comfortable modern apartments, all of which have a lake view. Swim, walk, chose another activities and listen to a full quietness at night time.
Apartamentos building is very nice, located short drive (appr. 8 km from the Ferreira do Zezere centre). Apartments have kitchen with stove, fridge, utensils etc. But the view from apartments is simple unforgetable.
Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful.
We with my wife enjoed staying there and consider these several days the best of all our vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apartamentos do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos do Lago

Address: Aldeamento das Varandas do Lago | Lago Azul, Ferreira do Zezere 2240-332, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Ferreira do Zezere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ferreira do Zezere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartamentos do Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Blue Lake at the Albufeira Castelo de Bode, this area offers a unique opportunity to enjoy tranquility, being the perfect place for aquatic sports and Nature. Each apartment is approximately 110 square meters, all of them featuring big terraces facing the lake and the mountains, fully equipped kitchen, TV, 2 bathrooms, impressive wood styled decoration designed to make you feel at home with Nature, making each apartment special and inviting. The apartments are located in a beautiful relaxing area surrounded by the lake and the mountains, perfect for travelers that are looking for a place where they can be in Peace, Tranquility while enjoying the Beauty of Nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Apartamentos do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos do Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.