We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Arade

Save Saved
You added Rio Arade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rio Arade
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rua D. Joao II, 33 | Mexilhoeira da Carregacao, Estombar 8400-092, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Estombar B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

When you step through the door of the Rio Arade it's like entering an oasis of cool tranquillity. John did everything within his power to make our trip a memorable one, thank you so much. I could quite happily have stayed relaxing in the beautiful garden, but my daughter wanted to see beaches and beaches we did! For my part, I like architecture and cafe culture of which there was plenty. All in all a great time was had by all and I can't wait to return and do some more exploring from this wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    24
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
13
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We planned to stay just 2 nights, but from the moment we entered Rio Arade and met John and Carlos we knew we wanted to spend the rest of our holiday here. Our room was beautifully decorated and clean with a stunning balcony and view. The whole house was charming as were the staff, but more than that we felt relaxed and free. Tom and Zita

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant as a tourist base. Welcoming friendly house, just like home. John is superb host and cannot do enough. Starting booking for next year already.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My wife and I have just spent a very enjoyable week at Rio Arade. It was here first time but I've been coming here with some golfing friends for 6 years now - 7th trip coming up next month.

As always, John and his team were very welcoming and helpful.

The hotel itself is located in a small village so no other tourists but is close to the sea and the major resort of Portimao, About 2 miles away is Ferragudo which is a lovely fishing village with lots of great seafood restaurants. Probably what Albufeira was like 30 years ago!

Go to Rio Arade if you want a relaxing and peaceful time, it's a great place to unwind.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Just returned from an 11 night stay at the Rio Arade, great find in true Algarve village. Beautiful property with great hosts John & Carlos, who are both very helpful with any info needed. Good Restaurants within easy walking distance, and easy access to Algarve towns, beaches, golf courses and all other attractions. Loved our stay here and will certainly return. Would fully recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms offer something different
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcote, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Having just spent 3 nights at Rio Arade all you can say is it is a place of Peace!!! Had a room onto pool area because we travel with our dog! who was made to feel at home by everybody!!Nice places to eat within walking and it was a good place to take dog for morning walk alongside river.John makes you feel at home and Carlos always a smile!!A good centre to visit along coast and easy to travel into countryside .Just a good allround place to stay!!

Room Tip: pool room if you travel with dog!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

My son and I have returned from a four night stay at Rio Arade and highly recommend it.If you want to discover the true heart of Portugal and enjoy local recommendations for restaurants and tourist attractions this is the place for you.In a central location not far from Faro just off the N125 it makes day trips to beaches or the hill country feasible. The house itself is tastefully decorated throughout with a stunning patio and private pool area .The rooms are very spacious and spotlessly clean, some with balconies from which to enjoy a rooftop view.Breakfasts are delicious and there is also self service bar available.Our outstanding memory however will be the kindness and hospitality of owner John and manager Carlos who were always on hand to assist with any queries we had.It made our stay so pleasurable we hope to return some day soon again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rio Arade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Arade

Also Known As:
Rio Arade Algarve/Estombar, Portugal
Address: Rua D. Joao II, 33 | Mexilhoeira da Carregacao, Estombar 8400-092, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Estombar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Estombar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rio Arade 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Arade Accommodation is an 18th-century Algarvian Manor House, lovingly restored and transformed into a charming guest house providing modern comforts and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Rio Arade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Arade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.