We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited sept 2012” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Clube Brisamar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Clube Brisamar to your Saves list
Luna Clube Brisamar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio da Dourada Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Alvor
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Visited sept 2012”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just came across this resort and thought I would leave a review.

My fiancé and I went to this resort sept 2012, our very first holiday. Didn't know what to expect as it was a package deal.

The apartment was dated, but spotless clean, and it was always kept in that condition by the cleaners. We had a small balcony over looking the gardens which was lovely. The kitchen was basic but overall we thought the apartment was excellent. The showers were nice and warm for the first 3 days, after that it was either cold or lukewarm. Previous reviews you only got so much hot water, we aren't fussy so it was fine. We asked reception could they sort it out but no one came.

The pool and surrounding facility was very clean and well kept. The atmosphere was great and in the possible future if kids are on the horizon I would definitely return here. Afternoon games, and entertainment.

The bar was basic, we had lunch once, I enjoyed it but it didn't set my world on fire. We had breakfast one morning and it wasn't great, I see a lot of people went all inclusive, I wouldn't reccommend it really. There's no need alvor town is only 10 mins at a push and what a fabulous place it is.

There is an onsite shop, it has the basics bread milk butter cereal sun cream etc. There are tennis courts etc but we didn't use them. The beach is 15 mins away but I guess if your on a family holiday with young children, this resort is fantastic. There's just no need to go all inclusive.

Alvor town itself is the best holiday destination we have ever been to. If your interested in nightclubs and drunk louts this isn't the place for you. Alvor has a little square were everyone sits out from the bars and cafes and there is evening entertainment.
So many restaurants they are too many to review.

Over all I would highly recommend this resort for families or couples, I know this review is from 2012, but it's still our number 1 holiday.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    112
    88
    38
    27
See reviews for
132
125
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Louth, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

We stayed all inclusive for a week. I expected a bit more from this place.


Food:
I'm the least picky eater you will meet and I was mostly fine with the food but if you don't eat fish, you won't have much choice. The meals only had two options: always fish and something else. Food was very basic, the snack bar was less than basic, order a pizza and you can't help but laugh at what is served. Restaurant staff served the buffet 45 minutes before the restaurant doors opened so no surprise that the food was usually cold, however, there was a microwave in the restaurant if you wanted to heat the food up.

Bar:
The bar was poor also, don't order cocktails because they're not cocktails, it tasted like a bad squash drink with a drop of alcohol in it. Beer and mixers (gin and tonic, rum and coke, etc.) were fine. Bar staff were an extreme mix, some were lovely, others were horrible. There was also entertainment at the bar every evening, some nights were better than others but if you don't feel like going to town, it's something to do.

Apartment:
Clean and spacious, cleaners are nice and hardworking. The bed was not extremely comfortable and the pillows were a joke but I slept fine. However, my wife was sore in the mornings because she found the bed very hard.

Location:
Alvor is about a 15 minute walk away. And the town was a lot more fun than I expected. Loads of nice restaurants, bars, the place was buzzing every evening even at the end of September. The beach was great too but we usually drove down to the beach in Portimao as it was nicer (cliffs and caves).


The place could be a lot better if the bar and the food were improved. But overall, I wouldn't recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: Request an apartment as close to the pool as possible, otherwise you could end up having to walk for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Just back from a weeks all inclusive at the Luna club Brisamar. Booked blind and had no idea what to expect. Or room was ok and on the the third floor so nice view. Interior was basic fairly clean and functional .We took our own pillows as the supplied ones are poor (thanks for the warning).First few days seemed ok but by the fourth things went very wrong with the food. Basically the food was being served up cold. We complained and were given the "evil eye" by some of the staff so much so that my other half had a fit and told them where to go.
It really was bad so much so that we then went to the bank got some money and ate out. So much for all inclusive.
There were other problems too some of which we would not have bothered to complain about but will now given the food problem. Watch out Cosmos I want my money back!
This place is a real s*** hole and I would advise anyone who earns a living not to waste their hard earned money on a holiday at Brisamar.
Plus side is Alvor is great ,beach good, people friendly and 90 cents a pint at the café Suisse.
Food plentiful in town and good prices so you will not starve.
We will go back to Portugal and to Alvor but NOT to Brisamar.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days in Sept this year with my boyfriend, we stayed on a self catering basis and ate at the hotel once when we first arrived, the food was.....ermmm basic, cheap but not that great.
The pool area was pleasant enough with activities for the children going on throughout the day.
Our room was in H7 room 202, again they were basic but clean and very spacious. The hotel grounds were very pretty and the hotels location is a 5 minute walk to the Main Street of Alvor so within easy reach of everything that's needed and wanted for a holiday in Portugal.
The staff we encounter were helpful, especially the ones on reception, however the staff at the pool bar did struggle to understand our Yorkshire accent I think...:-/
We were advised that the hotel had wifi however for the time we were there it wasn't working. on a bad note, when we arrived back to our room after a night out, we were greeted by a rat crawling around the stairs to our front door..... Not the nicest thing to come "home" to :-/
overall, the holiday itself was lovely and made for a nice break, personally we wouldn't stay at this hotel again but wouldn't go as far as to tell people to avoid it.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

food hotel location no problem .security non existant .thief stole credit card from room h4-103 locked safe deposit box on 22/09/2014 hotel management response was "it doesnt happen here".reluctant to phone police until pressed.must congratulate GNR for fast response,investigation etc.police proved that locked patio door could be opened from outside.to our dismay on 25/09/2014 whilst preparing for departure we discovered that the thief had returned the stolen credit card which was bent and had a 2inch cut rendering it unusable,just as well we blocked it on 22/09/2014.clearly these thieves must have keys to doors and safe deposit boxs.we felt violated and unsafe.travellers beware of luna club brisamar.from Derry N.Ireland

Room Tip: would advise not to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Just returned from a week all inclusive at this hotel. Location is approx. 10-15min stroll to the lovely town of alvor. Plenty of shops, bars, restaurants. Apartments are spacious but need a good deep clean. New furniture and furnishings but the buildings are dated and need renovating.
Swimming Pool - worn out sunbeds which are so uncomfortable. Snack bar which only has pizza, hotdogs and sandwiches. Ice cream is available all day.
Restaurant- Food is awful and don't know how other people can say its nice. Food is always cold or lukewarm even when just been served. Each lunch and evening meal consists of rice, pasta, chips, one fish dish and one meat dish. One of the worst places I have stayed with the food. Would not recommend anyone going all inclusive.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

The staff here are extremely helpful and friendly. The apartments fantastic - large, spacious and cleaned every day. Everything you need plus washing machine. The food is very good and plentiful. HOWEVER - there is no privacy on the balconies and this is not a place for those with difficulty walking as the apartment blocks are a fair way from the front of the complex. The pool area is horrible. Music booming loud all day long, too many beds which are not in good condition, and too crowded for the size of the complex. Fifteen minute walk downhill into Alvor hard going back but taxis usually about 4 euros. There is a twice a dayfree shuttle bus provided.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Clube Brisamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Clube Brisamar

Address: Sitio da Dourada Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Clube Brisamar 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Luna Clube Brisamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Brisamar Alvor Hotel Alvor
Clube Brisamar Hotel Alvor
Alvor Clube Brisamar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Clube Brisamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.