We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Apartment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Clube Brisamar

Save Saved
You added Luna Clube Brisamar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luna Clube Brisamar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio da Dourada Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Hull
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Large Apartment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The apartments are large and have everything you could need, including a washing machine, and individually controlled air conditioning. There is a safe in the room that you can hire for 15 euros a day and 15 euros deposit that you get back at the end of your holiday. The location is good about 5 mins from large supermarket, and 3 nice restaurants. Its about a 15 minute walk into alvor centre which is lovely but the restaurants are more expensive.
The pool area was very busy but you couldn't put towels down until 9am which we found good as didn't have to get up too early, we did find that a lot of locals came to the pool late afternoon and it got packed and they did play quite loud pumpy music which was a shame. The worst thing about this place is the food, its dreadful! We have been all over the world on all inclusive and this was by far the worst we have ever had, breakfast was ok, with bacon, beans, scrambled egg, meats and breads but lunch and dinner were dreadful, it was always cold or luke warm and very little choice, we ended up eating out every night as was that bad. The drinks were ok, Estrelle on tap, local spirits and red and white wine............was disappointed no Portugese Rose as that is after all what it is famous for! The only downside was the mixers, diet coke etc were completely flat which kind of ruined a good Bacardi and Coke! To sum it up, it was ok for a cheap family holiday, for a week, but would only go back on self catering and if was cheap deal.
Free wifi in reception only.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    110
    85
    34
    25
See reviews for
129
120
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for our summer holiday in August. My wife and I visited with our two children who were 9 and 7.
The facilities (apartments, pool, reception and restaurant) were all ok but the 3 main issues were the food in the restaurant was poor quality and very poorly cooked. My daughter went to get a chicken escalope and when she cut into it, it was pink. My wife notified the manager and he just shrugged and took the plate off her. The food was that bad we looked forward to nights out rather than using our all inclusive option. The majority of the staff were moody and a smile would have been welcomed. Then we move onto the pillows......wow they were awful, we asked for new ones but they were just as bad. 10 nights of poor sleep.
The Luna company advertise the hotel has a kids club but it is only open 4 hours a day and is just a room with colouring books. We won't be going back.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 11 nights all inclusive in August 2014 with our 2 daughters aged 11 and 14. The apartments were bit dated but clean and staff were friendly and very helpful. Pillows are lumpy but the back cushions on the sofa make great pillows if needed.
Its only a 10 minute walk into town and the hotel also run a free shuttle bus 3 times a day into town and the beach.
There are games and things going on from 11am for the whole family which include, water polo, aquafit/dance, football and lots more.
Sometimes the food could be lukewarm but there was enough choice of meals which included soups, salads and hot meals and at breakfast there was continental and English breakfast as well as fresh fruit and yogurts.
Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room near reception or you could end up with a walk up steps and small hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We booked last minute and we're very pleasantly surprised by these apartments. Ideal family location. The complex is quiet and peaceful. The pool is great for kids. It certainly is not 5 star but all you need for a comfortable stay. The town of Alvor is a bit of a walk but the free shuttle bus is great.would definatly recommend these apartments, great value. We had a fantastic time and would hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Whilst staying with family in the UK, we decided to take a last minute trip and chose Luna Club, Brisamar. Arrived at checkout and handed a map of where our appartment was - quite a hike and no help to get there! Apt. was fairly clean, however the bath did have black mold (?) on the tiles hearest the floor. The couanter around the sink was not cleaaned the five days we were there.

The beds were ckean and comfortable, however the pillows were awful! Seems tey had been washed frequently and feelt like one was sleeping on mediom hard to hard golf balls! Asked for replacements the next day - seemed to be a little difficult to get pillows replaced, however we did get two, which were more like soft to medium golf balls! Our bedroom closed was stuck open and immovable, the advertised safe had no lock, and the front door was extremely difficult to open.

The food was below average, thin slices of overcooked meat, pasta, and cold french fries! The fruit ion the desert table was watermelon (every day) with jello and soe sort of cake! ( asked for a ham sandwich during “afternoon tea” and got two slices of white bread with one peice of processed cooked ham - nothing else! Hot dogs were free;u available!!!!

If it wasn’t for the weather, the pool and the staff there wasn’t too much good to say about this place which was a long bus ride from anywhere!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel just as it was going out of season, and the staff where still buzzing with enthusiasm. The apartment was basic but serviceable, clean and cool with the air con being a real boon.

There was no entertainment during our stay but it was still a perfect base to travel, explore and discover this beautiful region

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa del Sol, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed at the Luna Clube in July for 4 nights bed and breakfast with my wife and two girls 9 and 14..
We didn't know what to expect after reading the reviews but we were pleasantly surprised.
We had a 1 bedroom apartment above reception which was comfortable, large, clean and well equipped.
The breakfast was very good with many choices of hot and cold food and not packed and chaotic like other places we've stayed at.
Yes the complex is a bit dated and tired but we didn't expect 5 star luxury because we didn't pay 5 star money.
I would have given it 5/5 but for one thing...the pillows, they really are as bad as other people have mentioned but that's the only thing we could find to complain about.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Clube Brisamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Clube Brisamar

Address: Sitio da Dourada Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Clube Brisamar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Luna Clube Brisamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Brisamar Alvor Hotel Alvor
Clube Brisamar Hotel Alvor
Alvor Clube Brisamar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Clube Brisamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.