We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Clube Brisamar

Save Saved
You added Luna Clube Brisamar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Luna Clube Brisamar
Sitio da Dourada Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Bideford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks stay here....we loved it....our apartment was the biggest we have ever stayed in {and we have stayed in loads } nicely furnished..yes pillows are lumpy but surprisingly didnt stop us from sleeping! our balcony was in the sun all day,so lovely to sit out when you have returned from the beach or trips out. We found it very quiet..no problem with noisy neighbours,but that was probably because we didnt have any next door to us. Our biggest disapointment were the cleaners....only had floors washed 3 times in 14 days...think the main reason for them coming in was to empty the bins which they did every day...towels changed twice a week and bed once a week.....certainly didnt spoil our holiday. We didnt use the pool or snack bar or restaurant so cannot comment on them......we prefer to use the restaurants in town,of which there are many excellent ones for every taste.....the 2 nearest ones to Brisimar are the Restaurant D.Joao and Al Capone...the latter being the best place we went to by far..ate there 5 times..every time a winner....do give it a try. We would certainly return there again but only if we could have the same apartment...best position ,best views.

Room Tip: Best apartment in our opinion block H9 room 105...on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    101
    75
    29
    24
See reviews for
113
113
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here many times before but it has really gone down hill, Arrived 15th oct, asked for 75 euro's deposit which have never had to do before, read the blurb on the internet said it had been modernised and there were hairdryers on the bathroom wall in the pictures. Got to the room no hairdryer you had to hire it, also no toaster when there used to be you had to hire that too but there is a washing machine !!!!!!!! (toaster & hairdryer more important in self catering accomodation). In town on the sat night the barman came into our bar & said it had been closed down. No-one was told anything of this, thought there may have been a note pushed through the door. We were given the option to stay but with no maid service and had not had any fresh towels or bedding in 9 days we opted to leave. Luckily on the sunday we were transferred to a 4 star hotel which we could not fault. Apparently it had stopped accepting people on Friday the 19th October. It was just absolutely disgusting the way were not informed at all and were actually worrying we may have had our holiday cut short & flown home. Extremely disappointed.

Room Tip: Lunar Alvor Bay or the AlvorMar which is very central
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Good Value & good location but
Very very basic accomadation
Double rooms two single beds pushed together with single sheets.
Pillows really lumpy bring your own
Only two towel changes in week so def bring your own if family or group
Tiny box tv, with 3 portugal channels, no english specking channels
Pool area was the best thing about this hotel, as we got lovely weather so spent most of out time there

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

we arrived 15th oct, were asked for a 75euro deposit in case of damages which we were not expecting. Police and 'suits' coming and going over a few days, then sat night as we were waiting for karaoke to start, security arrived, all staff were told to leave - some people were mid-meal but kitchen staff just had to go! Turns out the owners hadn't been paying their staff and have basically gone awol. People who still had a good while left of their holiday were relocated to a 4star hotel from the same group nearer the beach. Since we only had 2 days left they said we could stay, however cos there was no staff the pool and bar was out of bounds so we had to wander into town to find things to do. Strange holiday! Even if the bailiffs hadn't turned up i don't think i'd go back. It worked out £6.50pp per day and we got what we paid for, but next time i think i'll pay a bit more.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

excellent hotel, staff friendly and helpful, apartment spacious and clean, close to shops and beach, lovely food and clean pool. entertainment good, have visited alvor 3 times and this is by far the best apartment we have stayed, cant wait to go back next year. quiet location, 10min walk to town and 20 min walk to beach. happy hour is good and has tv room, kids were happy they could watch dr who. towels changed every other day and apartment cleaned everyday, cleaners were friendly and always happy. do not believe the bad reviews you read, we have stayed in cheap places and although this was cheap it certainly gave you alot and was good value, a few cats strolling around but they arent stray cats and are friendly. please try out the club brisimar as it really is a lovely place to stay. kids loved it here and it really is a family place, plenty of sun loungers for everyone, lovely little shops on site,

Room Tip: all rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Overall, I would rate this place as very good for the price paid but because it was very basic accommodation overall, I marked it 3 out of 4 or average.
As long as people don't expect the 5 star Ritz for the price they pay, have done their research on what is and is not offered here and temper their expectations, then I would recommend it.
It is great value. My second choice turned out to be next door and I was so glad in the end as there was no point paying three times the price for the same location and better pillows.
As others have said, the apartments are very spacious. We had a 1 bed for 2 of us and these are ideal for a small family. The kitchen facilities were great.
We were given the location we requested which was a first floor apartment, it turned out to be quite near to reception also. We arrived in the middle of the afternoon so had no problems checking in or finding it. Many seem to report problems as they arrive late at night after reception has closed. We found reception to be busy and sometimes there was a wait as only one staff member, but they were always helpful and courteous. The rooms were cleaned daily.
We only stayed round the pool once as we were on a short stay. It was fine and yes they do play loud music. I had no issues with the location. It is walkable into the very centre of town in 15 or 20 minutes depending on your pace and taxis are readily available if you dont like to walk. The large supermarket is only at the end of the road about 5 minutes away. Alvor itself is wonderful. It is just the right size, small enough to be quaint, but big enough that there is plenty going on, lots of lovely restaurants and bars so it is lively. It is really ideal for couples and those with young families, or a group of "older" people who don't need nightclubs. The beach(es) is/are class, long and sandy, quiet, lots of sunbeds, good facilities. If i was looking for a good value holiday in a nice town with a fantastic beach and weather again, you could have a very cheap and enjoyable holiday in Club Brisemar and so would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just back a few days and having stayed before we enjoyed it.Staff Christi,Patric,recepion,cleaners,security were helpful,friendly and courtious.As CarlaDublin said "I'd love to see these peoples houses" that was in response to some of the very negative comments,She is totally right.It is not 5 star but if you want that go pay for it.It has and does everything we asked or needed.One thing is due to the affore mentioned payment difficulties it seems staff are unsure of the future.This may have lead to some seeming distracted,etc.Iwould definitly stay again but would have to be sure the place is in operation when I get there

Room Tip: Stay H4 or H6 close to all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luna Clube Brisamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Clube Brisamar

Also Known As:
Clube Brisamar Alvor Hotel
Clube Brisamar Alvor Hotel Alvor
Clube Brisamar Hotel Alvor
Clube Brisamar
Alvor Clube Brisamar Hotel
Address: Sitio da Dourada Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Fastbooking so you can book your Luna Clube Brisamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Clube Brisamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.