We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, terrible beds!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prainha Clube

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Prainha Clube to your Saves list
Prainha Clube
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8500 072, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Alvor
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel, terrible beds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, next to a long beach for morning walks, the end of which leads to walkways over a nature reserve area from which you can walk around the bay and into Alvor. You can get off the beach about half way along at one of the walkways and get into the Alvor bay front area in about 20/25 mins, where there are plenty of coffee shops and restaurants.

The hotel and apartment were spotless and had every amenity you could want. The pool area always had plenty of sun loungers, although some could do with replacing as some are old and tatty.

The supermarket on site was great, although I did use the one in Alvor more often, which was much cheaper and had a bigger selection of food.

My only complaint and the only thing that would stop me from staying at this complex again was the hardness of the beds. They were absolutely awful and the pillows were as flat as pancakes. It's a real shame as other than this, this hotel is great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    85
    32
    9
    3
See reviews for
57
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portarlington, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Husband, wife and 3 kids aged 5, 7 and 10. Huge 2 bed apartment on fifth floor with spectacular sea view. Apartment was clean and spacious. Atlantic pool is just 5 mins walk and it is amazing, lovely views and kids loved jumping in to the deep pool. Little pool bar was nice a bit pricey, friendly waitress. It costs €7 for two sunbeds but I didn't mind as it was so nice and well kept there..
We walked into Alvor along the beach once and by road once, it is about 20 mins walk and it's a gorgeous fishing village with little old fashioned streets. Can go to a variety of bars and restaurants there and some good value.
We hit the bus to the water park which cost €121 for family entrance and bus, it was very good and worth the spend.
Club Prainha does not have any night life, not much atmosphere in lobby you have to go out of it to get night life.
Miss Pasta restaurant on the complex was nice and very family friendly except soft drinks were a big rip off €2 per glass but glasses were the smallest I have ever seen a soft drink served in!!
Canica restaurant is lovely - again quite pricey but it is a beautiful location overlooking the sea so worth the cost as a treat..
Overall we had a lovely holiday used MyTaxi for our airport transfer and they were excellent v. Friendly, reliable and best price.
As other reviewers have said Clube Prainha could do with a little but of a make over (a lick of paint) but it was still really good and the grounds and location near beaches and Alvor perfect..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just back from a holiday in Alvor Portugal.Enjoyed our stay in prainha clube .Apartment was lovely
and bright and great views from balcony. Cleaning staff were excellent and very friendly.
The only complaint I have would be about the sun loungers beside the pool, at least half of them
need to be replaced,when you lie on them they are very uncomfortable, otherwise I could not fault the place and I will go back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hotel is about 1/2 hour walk from Alvor but the coastline near the hotel is so stunning it is worth the walk! The Atlantic pool has stunning views but a shame even residents have to pay for beds! Hotel is spotless and comfy, A bus stop across the road or a €5 taxi ride will take you into Alvor which is absolutely beautiful with numerous bars & beautiful restaurants which come to life at night, many of them barbecuing their days catch outside.... Would definate recommend :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We've just come back from a week at The Prainha Clube Hotel, close to Alvor. Firstly the good points. The hotel was spotlessly clean. We're talking Howard Hughes obsessive, compulsive, clean. Everything was absolutely blinding white. We almost had to wear sunglasses indoors at night to stop the glare! The staff were very friendly, very quick and happy to help. The pool was great, never too busy or crowded. The onsite supermarket had everything you needed at a fairly competitive price. The secluded beach that was attached to the complex was beautiful and well worth the distance to walk there. All in all very good, and not a great deal to complain about.
That said, there are ways that a hotel can improve itself. For one, the hotel "Snack Bar' was extremely overpriced! 2 euros, for a small carton of childs juice which was less than 30 cents in the supermarket almost had to re-mortgage my house for a tostie and chips. Also, the place tended to shut very early, so don't expect to go back to the hotel for an early nightcap as they'd usually shut up shop at around 10pm. Second point, WASPS!! not the early 80's hair metal band, but the annoying little Hymenoptera that completely swarm the entire of the hotel pool, gardens and balconies. At one point i was chased for about an hour by 5 of their most annoying recruits, so-much-so I went back to the room and sulked for half an hour and then came back out in a full bee-keeping suit with a flame thrower. So my advice, take some kind of wasp repellent. Third point, the hotel says the walk to Alvor takes about 25 mins. It probably would if you happened to be an Olympic athlete, on steroids, riding a rocket propelled bike. My wife and I are fit and healthy 35 year olds, granted we were pushing a child in a pram, but the walk takes at least 45-50 mins to the centre of Alvor. And it's all very much uphill. So, prepare for a loooong walk or take a taxi, they're fairly cheap, all things considered. Last small point. The hotel has decided to employ fingerprint recognition within some of the grounds gates and doors. While this sounds all high-tech and exciting, in reality, it took the staff about 20 mins to get the little finger print thing working while checking in, when all you really want to do is get down to the bar, have a beer and start to get annoyed at the wasp infestation. I wouldn't mind, but the gate which used the fingerprint recognition was left open 100% of the day and night. the only time I used it was to get down to the beach in the lift. I used the wrong finger. The lift still came anyway. James Bond's technical advisor "Q" wouldn't have been very happy. All in all, a great little hotel with minor annoyances that could be improved.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sowerby bridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I took my father for a well earned 4 night's holiday and we were both delighted with Prainha Clube. We needed a 2 bedroomed apartment and it was perfectly spacious, very modern and had everything we could possibly need. We were also impressed with the amount of channels on the flatscreen tv to choose from. Perfect for relaxing in the lovely living room.

The grounds were lovely, well maintained, with beautiful trees, paths and gardens which attracted many birds. A short walk across the gardens opened up to the cliff side pool area which is just stunning! What a view!

Our highlight of the hotel was discovering one of the hotel bars which is nestled into a cliff with intimate views of the beach and the sea. What a place to sit and relax! The food and drinks here are excellent and the chilled out music they play just adds that extra touch. In the evenings, the bar is nicely lit, with projections shining on the cliff wall. Another nice touch. :)

We went half board and although the food was really excellent, there was just no atmosphere to the restaurant itself. It was always very brightly lit which was really disappointing when eating our evening meal. The food is not buffet style, but a 3 course meal and you have 2 different options each day for your meal. It obviously saves money going half board, but because of the atmosphere of the restaurant I would definitely not choose this option if I were to return again, which is a shame.

All in all a really nice stay and I would definitely like to return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I booked the prainha village as being a travel advisor and have been selling it for years and my clients always being satisfied. Me and two friends stayed in a two bed apartment. It was superb. Really spacious, two bathrooms which came in handy. Everything you need for a self catering holiday. Ok it needs a paint but so what!!!!!!!! The cliff top pool and the proximity to the beach was the highlight of our trip. Best I've stayed in Europe. It's a taxi ride to the harbour in Alvor and costs about €5! Restaurants are top class, and the over all ambience is peaceful, rustic and charming. Nightlife is there if you seek it out. Ruccula restaurant is amazing and well worth a visit. They are booked out at least 3 weeks in advance , so you have to pre book. Overall great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prainha Clube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prainha Clube

Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8500 072, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Alvor
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#6 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Prainha Clube 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star tourist apartments comprising 61 apartments in one 5-floor building with 2 lifts. All apartments face south and have either a balcony or a terrace. Prainha Club is located by the sea, about 4,5 Km from Portimao and 2,5 Km from Alvor. Distance to the beach is about 300 metres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Prainha Clube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prainha Clube Hotel Alvor
Prainha Hotel Alvor
Prainha Alvor
Prainha Resort Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prainha Clube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.