We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday, thanks.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prainha Clube

Save Saved
You added Prainha Clube to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prainha Clube
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8500 072, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great holiday, thanks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have recently been to the Praihna Club and really enjoyed our stay. Ok, the place is looking a little tired, but the grounds and villa's / apartments are kept immaculately clean, our villa had cleaners in almost every day during our stay.
The Atlantic pool is a gorgeous place to spend the day relaxing, and there is never any trouble finding sunbeds, unlike in some other places I've been to.
Some of the staff may be a little grumpy but if you go with the flow you'll get on fine.
There is great access to the nearest beach, which is absolutely beautiful and really nice for a swim. Safe too.
Our villa could have done with air-con. but after a few days of acclimatizing, all was ok. It would have been essential if there had been a serious heatwave during our stay, we were lucky that the temperatures kept below 31C when we were there.
We'd return in a heartbeat, was sad to have to return home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    73
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
55
61
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here recently as a family of 3. Our apartment (407) was spacious and clean. We were checked in quickly and efficiently by the helpful reception staff. We arrived about 9pm at night and were able to get a meal at Miss Pasta.

The pool closest to the apartments has plenty of free sunbeds/umbrellas and we didn't experience any sunbed bagging. The pool was kept clean and tidy. There is a queue at the shop in the morning because it sells the most amazing freshly baked baguettes, rolls and custard tarts. We found the supermarket to be reasonably priced given its location, yes branded/imported products were more expensive but who goes on holiday to eat Alpin! We did a bigger shop at the Ali Super in town.

The pool bar serves good snacks during the day, but have to agree with others that the hotel lacks atmosphere in the evening, keeping the bar open with some music on would help greatly. We did choose the hotel as it didn't have a kids club but it was a little too quiet in the evenings.

There is good bus service from the Prainha, the number 14 during the week and the 1P at the weekends cheaper than a taxi as young children are free. The timetables are available online and there is a post in the Alvor forum with the links available. The walk into town is about 20 minutes for adults walking on their own, and slightly longer if you have dawdling kids. The taxi home is cheaper if you get out at the roundabout where the Prainha private villas are located, rather than the reception entrance.

We happily spent most of our holiday at the poolside. We hired a car for 3 days and enjoyed trips to Zoomarine and Slide & Splash, you can get discounted tickets booking online in advance or from the leaflets that are handed out at the airport.

Would recommend these apartments if you are after a quiet relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASTLEBLAYNEY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have just returned from 11 nights family holiday with three young children.
When we arrived there was a long queue at reception for checking in and only one staff member on duty. This was repeated during our stay with big delays for weary tourists.
We were charged 2.50 per day for the room safe and the internet was 6 euro per hour.
The apartment was spacious and was well stocked with everything we needed.
The apartment was cleaned to a high standard everyday except Sundays.
The supermarket on site was very good but expensive and there was always a queue in the morning when it opened at 9am.
We had only one meal in the restaurant on site which was fine. There was only one bar at the pool and we would have loved if there was some music or entertainment especially for the children in the evening.
The pool was fine but sometimes crowded with towels being left out in the early morning to reserve the sunbeds.
The beach was a 10 min walk but was fabulous if a little crowded sometimes.
The only significant issue with this village is its location. We were unable to walk to Alvor as it is a 30/40 min walk and there was no footpaths for most of the journey. We ended up using taxis which cost between 5 to 9 euro each way. This added significant extra cost to our holiday.
A shuttle bus from the hotel would be helpful at evening times.
We wouldn't return to this hotel as its location is just too far away from Alvor.

Room Tip: Room 501 is the largest with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just returned from a 1 week half board stay at this hotel. The hotel looks nice with lovely views over the cliffs, perhaps a little too much white in the decor and furniture. The service however leaves a lot to be desired, the restaurant service is very poor, the half board gave us an option of only 2 meals each day with a request to order the day before!!!!! The meals were at best average with an uninspiring selection.
The location unfortunately meant trips to Alvor required a taxi, perhaps we should have researched the hotel better as we expected it to be much closer to Alvor and also expected Alvor described as a fishing village to be just that not a town full of restaurants, bars and gift shops surrounded high rise buildings, it was most definitely a disappointment.
The reception staff were unhelpful when asking how to get out to the local area and obviously expected guests to stay within the resort.
As I suspect is the case with many resorts of this kind it was necessary to go out early and claim sun beds despite signs suggesting this was not allowed.
I guess it depends what you are looking for but for me this resort was a huge disappointment, it has however taught me to be much more thorough researching a resort before booking!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks holidays at Prainha Village, our second time there. The apartment was a one bed apt but was very spacious, with an excellent cleaning service provided. The best thing about this complex is its location about 3 kms outside Alvor. The Atlantic pool is stunning at the top of the cliffs with a lift through Canico Restaurant down to the most beautiful beach which we walked every evening to get to Alvor (about 30 minute walk). It is a very quite complex, mostly families and very little noise at night. There is a little supermarket on the complex which do fresh bread/croissants every morning which sold out quickly. There is also a little Italian restaurant which also did takeaway pizzas etc. There are three swimming pools on the complex but the Atlantic Pool is by far the best, but charge €7 for two sunloungers which is a bit expensive. There are tennis courts, children's playground, small football area and volleyball. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel was constructed in the 70’s I’m told by one of the staff and has been modernised last about 2-3 years ago(think it could do with a bit more modernising and kitchen utensils still). It has approximately 60 apartments over 5 floors. The tables in the living rooms are rectangular and hence they may not be suitable for toddlers. Make sure to get a room on the first floor as the balconies are at least 4 times bigger. They charge for the safe in the room. The staff are friendly and will help with issues. We had to move due to noisy neighbours. They helped us without any issue. The bar was a bit of a let-down. It’s outside and really is only a hatch on the side of the hotel. They do cocktails as my wife will verify. It closes at 10:30pm but by 9:30 the bar is really quiet as most people have kids. The also serve snacks and evening meals here. Eating or having a drink here under the parasols is quite relaxing. Cleaning staff come every 2-3 days and give general clean.My wife used the spa and found it to be excellent.

They charge for the sun loungers by the Atlantic pool(free by the hotel). Nice location though.

I have to stress you are not in the town of Alvor. It is 25-30 minutes’ walk into it and almost most ways in to the town mean uphill. Not great if it’s hot outside. Cabs have a central pick-up point in the town near the centre so it’s easy to get one. They will charge you about €5 from the town to the hotel and about €8-9 to Portimao. The shop on the Prainha village is expensive. In Alvor on the other side of the town is a decent supermarket called Pingo Doca (look for the signs in the town) and the prices reflect or even a little cheaper than the prices in Ireland for most basics foods.
Restaurants on site: Miss Pasta, Canico, Buzio. Miss Pasta I did a separate review for. Canico(the on by the lift to the beach) avoid unless you like being looked at with a toddler! Buzio was closed down when we were there.
Alvor is a nice small fishing town that has a little tourist feel to it. It has narrow streets with restaurants that leads down towards the boardwalk beach area. Definitely bring some walking shoes.
Portimao has a beautiful waterfront area with a few cafes and shops. Head up the narrow streets to the Aqua shopping centre. You can’t miss it as it has a high tower like structure on it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stopped in without a reservation and were immediately accommodated. The rooms were large and spacious, and the view was beautiful! Several great pools, and situated on a gorgeous stretch of beach. One of our favorite places in the Algarve we stayed. We had one little problem with the woman who ran the breakfast buffet - my husband brought only 3 Euros down to grab coffee for us but the coffee was 1.70 each, which was ridiculous. When this lady gave him the price, he told her he'd be right back with the rest - and left me there as 'hostage'. When he came back down, she got right in his face and shouted 'YOU PAY!!' Honestly, lady, no one wanted to steal your overpriced coffee! Besides her, the rest of the staff was very sweet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prainha Clube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prainha Clube

Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8500 072, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Alvor
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#6 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Prainha Clube 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star tourist apartments comprising 61 apartments in one 5-floor building with 2 lifts. All apartments face south and have either a balcony or a terrace. Prainha Club is located by the sea, about 4,5 Km from Portimao and 2,5 Km from Alvor. Distance to the beach is about 300 metres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Prainha Clube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prainha Clube Hotel Alvor
Prainha Hotel Alvor
Prainha Alvor
Prainha Resort Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prainha Clube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.